Periodical Articles
General
Articles concerning American Indians published in periodicals from various disciplines and professions (e.g., art, education, medicine) can be found in periodical indexes devoted to those fields. List of specialized periodical indexes.
A bibliographical guide to the history of Indian-white relations in the United States, by Francis Paul Prucha. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1977, 454 p.
HOLLIS Record
Indian-white relations in the United States : a bibliography of works published 1975-1980, by Francis Paul Prucha. Lincoln, Neb. : University of Nebraska Press, 1982, 179 p
HOLLIS Record
Includes education, health and other matters as well as governmental
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (16th century- )
Alternative press index (1969- ) is available online as Alt-Press Watch (1995- ) indexes the alternative/radical periodical literature. Includes book reviews. Alternative Press Center's Online Directory lists periodicals in the Alternative Press Index. For earlier coverage:
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.A4 Consult Braun Room.
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Per PN4888.U5 A27 (1969-1971)
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.8 Latest 10 years WID-LC HN90.R3 A48x Earlier
American Periodicals Series Online (1740-1900) offers full text of about 1100 American periodicals. Includes several scientific and medical journals including the American Journal of Science and the Medical Repository. In cases where a periodical started before 1900, coverage is included until 1940.
Google Magazines has full text of many 20th century magazines, including all of Life. List of Magazines included.
Harper's Magazine Online offers the full text of Harper's Magazine (1850-1899).
HarpWeek (1857-1912) offers full text of Harper's Weekly.
Nation Archives (1865- ) includes full text of complete run of The Nation. Annual update lags behind 1 year.
Nineteenth Century in Print: The Making of America in Books and Periodicals: Periodicals offers over 30 Nineteenth Century American periodicals digitized and full-text searchable. Some of the titles currently have only short runs available.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile includes several Nineteenth Century periodical indexes together with many separate indexes to individual periodicals. The most important index included is Poole's index to periodical literature (1802-1906) which indexes 479 American and English periodicals. In the print version, articles are indexed by subject, not author. Fiction, poetry, plays are listed by title. Book reviews are listed under subject; reviews of fiction, poetry, plays are listed under the author of the work. Online version offers numerous links to full text in HathiTrust. Print version of Poole's index:
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 5 Library has: 6 v. in 7
Author indexing is provided by Cumulative Author Index for Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906.
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM AI3.P73x 1971
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 5.1
Opinion Archives offers a full text, as well as author/title, search of full runs of the following opinion periodicals:
American Spectator (1972- ) - Commentary – (1945- ) Commonweal (1924) - Dissent (1954- ) - Harpers Magazine (1850- ) - Moment (1975- )- NACLA (1966- ) - Nation (1965- ) - National Review (1955- ) - New Leader (1924- ) - New Republic (1914- ) - New York Review (1963- ) - New Yorker (1925- ) - Orion Magazine (1982- ) - Progressive (1909- )- Washington Monthly (1969- ) - Weekly Standard (1995- )
Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal.
Reader's Guide Retrospective (WilsonWeb) (1890-1982), online version of the Readers' guide to periodical literature, indexes many American popular periodicals. Print version:
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Ref Index AI3.R48 (1925-90)
LOCATION: Kennedy Sch of Gov: Ref Index (1982-93)
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM AI 3.R48 (1900-2004)
LOCATION: Law School: Lang Ref Index AI 3.R48 Library has: Latest 10 years.
RSAP Resources for Research: Periodicals (Research Society for American Periodicals) provides links to collections of 18th, 19th, and 20th century full-text periodicals.
Indian Periodicals
Ethnic NewsWatch (1959- ) is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Check Native Peoples at Ethnic Group (toward bottom of page)
Periodicals by and about American Indians. Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, 2009? 82 microfilm reels
Microforms (Lamont) Film A 1435
Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film A 1435 = guide
Online guide
--Ephemeral periodicals (mimeographed news-sheets, offset tabloids, and, occasionally newspapers) often from short-lived presses and circulated hand to hand. Most originate with Indian groups, some are missionary society or federal publications, U.S. and Canadian.
--Reels 1-47 contain files through 1972 or 1973; reels 48-82 contain updates for 1973-1981 issues grouped by year and numbered on container labels as reels 73-1, 73-2, 73-3, 74-1, 74-2, etc.
American Indian periodicals in the Princeton University Library. NY: Clearwater Pub. Co., 1981-1983. 2690 microfiches.
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 5299
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Microfiche W 5299 = shelflist
Microforms (Lamont) | Harvard Depository | Film W 23793
Online guide
American Indian periodicals from the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1884-1981. 13 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 938
Online guide
Guides:
Native American periodicals and newspapers, 1828-1982: bibliography, publishing record, and holdings, ed. by James P. Danky; compiled by Maureen E. Hady and Ann Bowles. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1984, 532 p.
Tozzer | REF | E 77.Z99 D3 1984
Widener | WID-LC | E77.Z99 D36 x, 1984
--Indexes by subject, editor, publisher, geography, catchword/subtitle, chronology (by decade).
American Indian and Alaska native newspapers and periodicals, by Daniel F. Littlefield, Jr., and James W. Parins. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1984-1986. 3 v.
--v. 1: 1826-1924; v. 2: 1925-1970; v. 3: 1971-1985.
Widener | RR4781.31.5
--Has chronology by date of inception.