HOLLIS

ThHOLLIS Everything database searches the HOLLIS Library Catalog plus a very large collection of online resources.  Numerous collections of e-journals are searched, but are searched independently of the subject-based periodical indexes.  HOLLIS is not a substitute for searching the periodical indexes, which offer special searching features and coverage of paper format articles.  The HOLLIS Everything search is excellent for interdisciplinary searching and finding material in unexpected places.

HathiTrust

In HathiTrust Advanced Full Text Search, you can put your search terms (article text or title words) in one search box as a full text search and place the title of a journal of interest in the other. Or in the second box you can put a Library of Congress Subject Term, adjusting the search box menu to Subject rather than Title, and limiting to Format: Journal.

General and Popular Indexes

More general periodical indexes are listed in Finding Articles in General and Popular Periodicals (North America and Western Europe).

Academic Search Premier (largely 1980s- ) is the usual index of first resort for general periodical searches. It indexes over 3000 journals in most fields plus many general interest periodicals. Full text is available for many of the periodicals. Includes Time full text back to 1923. Book reviews are included. A few periodicals have indexing back to the 1970s.

Alternative press index (1969- ) is available online as Alt-Press Watch (1995- ) indexes the alternative/radical periodical literature. Includes book reviews. Alternative Press Center's Online Directory lists periodicals in the Alternative Press Index. For earlier coverage:
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.A4 Consult Braun Room.
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Per PN4888.U5 A27 (1969-1971)
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.8 Latest 10 years WID-LC HN90.R3 A48x Earlier

American Periodicals Series Online (1740-1900) offers full text of about 1100 American periodicals. Includes several scientific and medical journals including the American Journal of Science and the Medical Repository. In cases where a periodical started before 1900, coverage is included until 1940.

British Periodicals (1681-1920) offers full text for several hundred British periodicals. List of included periodicals.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1959- ) is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Harper's Magazine Online offers the full text of Harper's Magazine (1850-1899).

HarpWeek (1857-1912) offers full text of Harper's Weekly.

MasterFILE Premier (1980- ), designed for school and public library use, indexes more popular magazines than Academic Search Premier. A few magazines indexed back to circa. 1900.  Includes full-text Saturday Evening Post back to 1931.

Nation Archives (1865- ) includes full text of complete run of The Nation. Annual update lags behind 1 year.

Nineteenth Century in Print: The Making of America in Books and Periodicals: Periodicals offers over 30 Nineteenth Century American periodicals digitized and full-text searchable. Some of the titles currently have only short runs available.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile includes several Nineteenth Century periodical indexes together with many separate indexes to individual periodicals. The most important index included is Poole's index to periodical literature (1802-1906) which indexes 479 American and English periodicals. In the print version, articles are indexed by subject, not author. Fiction, poetry, plays are listed by title. Book reviews are listed under subject; reviews of fiction, poetry, plays are listed under the author of the work. Online version offers numerous links to full text in HathiTrust. Print version of Poole's index:
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 5 Library has: 6 v. in 7

Author indexing is provided by Cumulative Author Index for Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906.
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM AI3.P73x 1971
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 5.1

Opinion Archives offers a full text, as well as author/title, search of full runs of the following opinion periodicals:
American Spectator (1972- ) - Commentary – (1945- ) Commonweal (1924) - Dissent (1954- ) - Harpers Magazine (1850- ) - Moment (1975- )- NACLA (1966- ) - Nation (1965- ) - National Review (1955- ) - New Leader (1924- ) - New Republic (1914- ) - New York Review (1963- ) - New Yorker (1925- ) - Orion Magazine (1982- ) - Progressive (1909- )- Washington Monthly (1969- ) - Weekly Standard (1995- )

Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of over 6000 journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. About 750 of these are full text. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal.

  • Basic Search searches the full text of those journals with full text, together with the citations of the non-full text journals.
  • In Advanced search, adjust the menu to Anywhere except full text to search citations only.

Reader's Guide Retrospective (WilsonWeb) (1890-1982), online version of the Readers' guide to periodical literature, indexes many American popular periodicals. Print version: 
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Ref Index AI3.R48 (1925-90)
LOCATION: Kennedy Sch of Gov: Ref Index (1982-93)
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM AI 3.R48 (1900-2004)
LOCATION: Law School: Lang Ref Index AI 3.R48 Library has: Latest 10 years.

RSAP Resources for Research: Periodicals (Research Society for American Periodicals) provides links to collections of 18th, 19th, and 20th century full-text periodicals.

Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. Covers: science, 1900- ; social science, 1900- ; arts/humanities, 1975- . More information.

Specialized Indexes

Additional sources may be found in research guides on a wide variety of subjects and regions, many of which list sources for periodical articles.

Listed here is a selection of the major indexes

General Humanities and Social Sciences Literature

Allgemeine Bibliographie der Staats- und Rechtswissenschaften (1868-1914) is a serial bibliography of law, political science, and economics, divided by nationality with detailed subject index.
Law School  |  K38 .A45
HathiTrust version

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences(1951- ) includes:

  • International bibliography of anthropology
  • International bibliography of economics
  • International bibliography of political science
  • International bibliography of social and cultural anthropology
  • International bibliography of sociology

Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal. Includes book reviews.

JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 1900 journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many historical journals. Included journals are listed under discipline on the Advanced Search page. Harvard does not have access to the JSTOR full text books.

Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. Covers: science, 1900- ; social science, 1900- ; arts/humanities, 1975- . More information.

Art/Architecture

See History of Art & Architecture guide

Business and Trade

ABI Inform (1971-) indexes academic management, marketing, and general business journals

Business Source Complete (early 20th century- )

Industrial arts index (1913-57) indexes English-language applied science, technical, trade, and management literature: the literature of practice.
HOLLIS Record
HathiTrust version (Full text 1913-1922)

Economic Literature

EconLit (1969- ) indexes articles from over 525 journals. Since 1987 includes books and dissertations. Earlier years available in print in Index to Economic Journals (1886- ) and Index of economic articles in collective volumes (1960- )

International bibliography of economics (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.

Economist Historical Archive (1843-2004).

Education

Education Abstracts (1983- ) indexes articles of at least one column length from more than 535 English-language journals and yearbooks worldwide. Records of books (1995- ) are included. Includes book reviews.

Continues: Education Index Retrospective (1929-1983)

ERIC (1966- ) includes published and unpublished reports and other sources from RIE (Resources in Education) and periodical articles from CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). No book reviews.

Bibliography of education. In: Educational review, 1899-1906. LOCATION: Gutman Education: Per L11.S35

Bibliography of education and its successors are available full text in HathiTrust. Advanced Full Text search with Bibliography of education as this exact phrase in lower box

Continued by: Bibliography of education, 1907-1912 (United States Bureau of Education Bulletin). LOCATION: Gutman Education: Z5811.B86

Continued by: Record of current educational publications, 1912-Jan/Mar 1932. (U. S. Office of Education). LOCATION: Gutman Education: L111.A62 LOCATION: Gutman Education: L111.A6 no.15

British education index, 1954- . LOCATION: Gutman Education: Ref Index Z5813.B7 (1954-83, 1985-94)

JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of numerous education journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many educational journals. List of included journals.

Primary Search (1984- ) offers indexing and full text (1989- ) for nearly 100 elementary school level children's magazines.

Environment

Library Research Guide for the History of Science

Gender Studies

Contemporary Women's Issues (1992- ) includes full text of English-language journal articles, newsletters, research reports, pamphlets, newspapers, directories, guides, and fact sheets from scholarly and government/non-profit agency/international organization publications concerned with women's issues in 190 countries.

GenderWatch (1974- ) provides full text of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (1995-)

LGBT Life with Full Text indexes magazines, academic journals, news sources, gray literature, and books that deal with gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender concerns.

Inventory of marriage and family literature, 1973-1994
Widener | Soc 5205.5

Continues:
International bibliography of research in marriage and the family. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press. 2 v.
CONTENTS: v. 1, 1900-1964; v. 2, 1965-1972.
Widener | Soc 5205.4 F (F means it is oversize and at the end of the Soc’s)

Women's Studies International (1972- ) accesses a variey of women's studies databases.

Labor Articles

Digitized labor journals/directories/proceedings in Labor History Links

These specialized print indexes are largely in the Harvard Depository. The link leads to the HOLLIS record. Scroll down for Depository request links. In some cases we do not have the full run.

University of Michigan index to labor union periodicals (1961-1965) and Michigan index to labor union periodicals (1966-1968).

Trade union publications: the official journals, convention proceedings, and constitutions of international unions and federations, 1850-1941
--Vol 1. Lists unions by industry with information on history and publications.
--Vols. 2-3. Subject index of labor periodicals.

Index to labor articles, 1927-1953 (Labor Research Department, Rand School of Social Science).
Continues:
Index to labor periodicals, 1926-1927.

Work related abstracts, 1973-1992.
Continues:
Employment relations abstracts, 1959-1972
which continues:
Labor-personnel index, 1950-1958. Looseleaf format. Articles grouped my major topics, subject index pages in front of volume.

Law

See Library Research Guide for History 97g: "What is Legal History?"

Literature

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature: ABELL (1920- ) includes book reviews of literary works as well as literary criticism.

MLA International Bibliography (1926- )

Medicine

Library Research Guide for the History of Science

Military

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals [title varies] (1949- ) indexes 75 international English language military and aeronautical periodicals. Online version covers 1990- .
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): D 301.26/2: /CD (1990-95)
LOCATION: Widener: RR 5531.15 Latest 10 years
LOCATION: WID-LC: UG630.Z99 A57x Earlier

Index to contemporary military articles of the World War II era, 1939-1949, by Benjamin R. Beede. Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2005, 455 p.
HOLLIS Record

Philosophy/Ethics

Philosopher's Index provides bibliographic information and abstracts for articles and books on philosophy published since 1940.

Political Science/Public Policy

Alternative press index (1969- ) is available online as Alt-Press Watch (1995- ) indexes the alternative/radical periodical literature. Includes book reviews. Alternative Press Center's Online Directory lists periodicals in the Alternative Press Index. For earlier coverage:
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.A4 Consult Braun Room.
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Per PN4888.U5 A27 (1969-1971)
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.8 Latest 10 years WID-LC HN90.R3 A48x Earlier

Bibliographie courante d'articles de périodiques postérieurs 1944 sur les problèmes politiques, économiques et sociaux. 1968. 17 v.
LOCATION:Widener: WID-LC AI7.F59x 1968 F
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI7.F6F (Supplément, 1969-1981)
--Articles grouped by country, then subject.

Bulletin analytique de documentation politique, economique et sociale contemporaine, 1946-
LOCATION: Law School: 4 66 (missing 1985, 1987, 1988, 1994)
LOCATION: Widener: B 425.56 (1949-1998)
--Worldwide coverage, abstracts in French. Subject classed list with author index.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) (1991- ) includes articles, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc.

C.R.I.S.: the combined retrospective index set to journals in political science, 1886-1974
LOCATION: Law School: ILS RR JA1.A1 Z992x 1977 Library has: v.1-8
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA1.A1 Z992 1977x Library has: 8 v.
--Over 115,000 articles from over 200 English-language journals arranged by subject. Journal code numbers in the entries are explained on the end-papers.

Military and Government Collection (largely 1980s- ).covers periodicals, many with full text, on military, foreign affairs, national security, intelligence, etc. Considerable earlier indexing (Congressional Digest back to 1922).

ProQuest Government Periodicals Index (1988- ).

Index to periodical articles ... in the Library of the Royal Institute of International Affairs, 1950-1989.

1950-1964. LOCATION: Widener: H 9.64.5 Library has: 2 v.
1965-1972. LOCATION: Widener: H 9.64.6
1973-1978. LOCATION: Widener: H 9. 64.7 F
1979-1989. LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Microfiche W 4007 Microfiche Library has: 50 microfiche. INDEX Microfiche W 4007 = Guide
--Unannotated references grouped by subject classification (guide in front), subject and geographical indexes.

Indexes to independent Socialist periodicals.
LOCATION: Widener: Soc 708.11 no.4

Indexes: Anvil, 1949-60; Labor Action, 1949-58; The New International, 1934-58; Student Partisan, 1947-50.

International bibliography of political science (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.

International Political Science Abstracts (1989- )  Print version (1951-  ): HOLLIS Record

JSTOR includes the full text of 119 political science journals from their date of inception to about 5 years ago. List of titles

Left Index Online (1982- , a few earlier) Promptly indexes Marxist, radical, and leftist articles. No newsletters or newspapers.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) (1915- ) indexes international public and social policy literature. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, government documents, etc. Journals indexed in PAIS http://www.csa.com/factsheets/pais-set-c.php

PARLIT Database (1992- ) includes citations for books and articles on parliamentary law and practice.

Theories of political processes: a bibliographic guide to the journal literature, 1965-1995, by G. G. Brunk.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA71.Z99 B78 1997x
--Arranged by subject, with author and subject indexes.

United States political science documents, 1975-91.
LOCATION: Littauer: RR Z 7165.U5.U5x
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA66.Z99 U54x
--Abstracts about 150 U.S. political and public policy journals.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975- )

Continues: Political science, government & public policy series. Annual supplement. 1967 -79.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA66.Z99 U64x Suppl

which continues:
Political science, government, and public policy: an annotated and intensively indexed compilation of significant books, pamphlets, and articles, selected and processed by the Universal Reference System.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA71.Z99 U54x 1967 Vol. 1 = 2d ed. Library has: 10 v.
--Indexed bibliography of selected older works, with a preponderance of 20th century and current publications.
v.1 International affairs --  v.2 Legislative process, representation, and decision-making  --  v.3 Bibliography of bibliographies in political science, government and public policy --  v.4 Administrative management  --  v.5 Current events and problems of modern society  --  v.6 Public opinion, mass behavior, and political psychology  --  v.7 Law, jurisprudence, and judicial process  --  v.8 Economic regulation  --  v.9 Public policy and the management of science  --  v.10 Comparative government and cultures.

Psychology

Library Research Guide for the History of Science

Religion

ATLA Religion index (1949- ) indexes articles, covering over 500 journals, essays in books, and book reviews (1949- ), with Protestant emphasis but some coverage of Catholic, Jewish, and other religious literature. Includes archeological literature of religious significance. Incorporates the print publications: Religion index 1: periodicals (1977- ), Religion index 2: multi-author works (1976- ), Index to book reviews in religion (1986- ), Index to religious periodical literature (1949-76), and Methodist reviews index (1818-1885).

Catholic periodical and literature index (1930- ; online version: 1981- ) indexes about 200 periodicals and lists books. Includes book reviews and Papal documents. Covers, mainly, British, Canadian, Irish, and U.S. publications. Print version:
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.C32
LOCATION: WID-LC AI3.C32

Continues:
Guide to Catholic literature, 1888-1967.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. Z7837.G9
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC BX1751.2.Z99 G85x

Christian periodical index (1956- ; online version 1976- , limited earlier coverage) indexes over 120, largely U.S. evangelical and fundamentalist periodicals. Includes book and media reviews. There are author, subject, book review, and book title indexes. Print version (1956- ):
Location : Andover-Harv. Theol Ref. Z7753 .C5 (1956-1975)

Index Islamicus (1906- ) indexes articles, essays in books, and books (beginning in 1976) in Western languages on the Muslim world. Covers both Islamic countries and Muslim minorities. Includes pre-Islamic Arabian history and non-Muslim Turkic peoples, past and present. Inclusion of book reviews begins in 1993. Newspapers (and other periodicals published more than once monthly), gray literature, and government publications are not included. Print version:
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. DS44.I37
LOCATION: Fine Arts: Reading Room RFA 31.60.7
LOCATION: Law School: Islamic Reference DS 44.Z99 Q34
LOCATION: Widener: RR 4881.11

Index to Jewish periodicals (1963- ; online version: 1988- ) indexes over 100 English-language general and scholarly periodicals. Includes book reviews. List of periodicals indexed. Print version:
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. Z6367.I5
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DS112.Z99 I54x Earlier
LOCATION: Widener: RR 4875.15 (Latest 10 years)

Science

Library Research Guide for the History of Science (General)  --  By Discipline

Sociology/Social Welfare

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts: ASSIA (largely 1987- )

C.R.I.S.: the combined retrospective index set to journals in sociology, 1895-1974.
Widener  |  RR4702.12 (Loker Reading Room)

Social Services Abstracts (1980- (Social Service Review back to 1927))

Abstracts for social workers (1965-1977).
HOLLIS Record

Continued by:
Social work research & abstracts (1977-1993).
HOLLIS Record

Continued by:
Social work abstracts (1994- )
Online Version (1998- March, 2011)-
HOLLIS Record

Sociological Abstracts (1952-)

Urban Studies Abstracts (1973 - )

Sports

LA84 Foundation Library Digital Archive Periodicals and Series (depending on the periodical, 1883-2009) Also Official Olympic Reports and other books

Technology

Library Research Guide for the History of Science

Information on Periodicals

Unbound Widener current journals are kept in the Widener Periodicals Reading Room (1st floor, West side). Selected journals are kept alphabetically by title in the Periodicals Reading Room. Remaining journals (the majority) are kept in the Periodicals Reading Room Stacks alphabetically by title.

For journals not at Harvard, holdings in the Boston area can be identified using WorldCat in Harvard Libraries. You may need to consult the holding library's online catalog (accessible in Massachusetts Library and Information Network to ascertain specific holdings. Harvard's periodicals are all represented in HOLLIS Catalog.

Where an Find It @ Harvard icon appears next to a citation in a periodical index, you can click Find It @ Harvard and be taken to a menu screen offering a link to full text, if available, and to an automatic HOLLIS search for the periodical in print form. Occasionally Find It @ Harvard is unaware of the existence of an electronic journal, in which case the electronic form may show on the HOLLIS record under Networked Resource. Sometimes the Find It @ Harvard occurs on the results list (e.g., Academic Search Premier), sometimes only on the full record (e.g., Web of Science).

Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek (EZB) is a very comprehensive searchable list of free and subscription online journals arranged by discipline and by title

A guide to Periodical Directories with Subject Access and/or Circulation Statistics is available.