Events

Zotero Advanced Workshop
Thursday, January 21, 3:00-4:30 PM
Lamont B30
Space limited; register: Anna Esty (aesty@fas.harvard.edu)
Already familiar with Zotero but want to make sure you are getting the most out of it? Come ready to talk about using Zotero for research organization and to learn about advanced features in Zotero such as:

  • How Zotero translators work with websites
  • Handling unusual citations in Zotero
  • Using tags, saved searches, and keyboard shortcuts
  • Storage options
  • And more, depending on your interests!

HOLLIS+

An effective method of isolating certain types of primary sources from a large results set is to add the following Subject terms:

Lutheran* AND (diaries OR interviews OR archives OR sources OR correspondence OR "personal narratives").

  • Change from Limit to: Anywhere to Subject.
  • Use HOLLIS+ because, unlike HOLLIS Classic, HOLLIS+ will restrict a Subject keyword search to the Subject terms only.
  • You need capital letters for the AND and OR.

New News Sources

Search all ProQuest news sources using: Proquest News & Newspapers and ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  Search across all newspapers, or select a custom group of titles to search across, rather than searching just one title.

Austin American Statesman (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) 1871-1975

St. Louis Post-Dispatch (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) 1879-1922

New E-Resources

General

Boston College Jesuit Bibliography covers books, book chapters, journal articles and book reviews. Covers over 1,600 periodicals.

BrowZine is a reader app for desktops, tablets, and smart phones that allows easy browsing and reading of journals.

Encyclopedia of Sciences and Religions

First World War: Visual Perspectives and Narratives offers images and personal narratives from several libraries

Ideas Roadshow offers conversations with scientists, researchers and authors across the arts and sciences. Video and MP3 audio files available. Includes transcripts and additional information on topics discussed.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (Second Edition)

Kanopy is a new video-streaming service, with over 26,000 titles. It contains largely academic documentary content, but also some more popular films and TV series, on the subjects of anthropology, architecture, art, gender, race, environment & sustainability, health, law, media, politics, psychology, and sociology. The films can be viewed in class or linked to or embedded within Canvas. We also have public performance rights, so students are able to watch in groups without restrictions.

Oxford Bibliographies. Cinema and Media Studies

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics

PBS Video Collection: (Second Edition)

Sage Research Methods Online is a vast compendium on social science research methods. User guide

United States

Colonial America: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries (1606-1822) offers the National Archives CO 5 series which includes correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies.

Women's Magazine Archive (1883-2005) includes: Better Homes and Gardens (1922-2005); Chatelaine (1928-2005); Good Housekeeping (1885-2005); Ladies' Home Journal (1883-2005); Parents (1926-2005), Redbook (1903-2005).

Great Britain

Queen Victoria's Journals

Latin America

Latin America in Video offers about 400 Spanish, Portuguese and other language documentaries.

Oxford Bibliographies. Latin American Studies

Middle East

Oxford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Science, and Technology in Islam

Non-Harvard E-Resources

American Revolutionary War Era Maps (1750-1800) (Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library) contains nearly 2000 maps.

ritish Film Institute National Archives has many films viewable on its website and its Youtube channel. Colonial Film: Moving Images of the British Empire has information on over 6000 films and 150 viewable films.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) announces its first group of Primary Source Sets about topics in US history, literature, and culture. Aimed at grades 6-12 and higher education. Each set includes an overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to additional resources, and a teaching guide

Discovering American Women's History Online now includes over 700 records that describe and link to online primary sources. The site also includes a new primary source mapping feature.

MEAD: The Magazine of Early American Datasets is an online repository of datasets on early North America. Datasts are in original format and as comma-separated-value files (.csv). Each dataset accompanied by codebook.

Union Civil War Physicians offers brief information (rank, regiment, place of birth/death, date of birth/death, residence, schools attended) ON Civil War Union surgeons. When complete will include regimental, US army surgeons, contract or additional assistant surgeons, nurses and surgeons employed by the United States Sanitary Commission and United States Christian Committee.

Elsewhere in the Boston Area

Marketing Archives of Filene’s Department Store, 1851-present, are available at the Boston Public Library

Samuel P. Hayes Research Library & Archives at the Perkins School of the Blind contains collections of documents, photographs, newspaper clippings, artifacts and other material related to the history of Perkins and the education of the blind and deafblind. 

Massachusetts Archives anti-slavery and anti-segregation petitions are now available online

Harvard Library Collections

Harvard Film Archive Non-Film Materials
The Harvard Film Archive holds collections of ephemera, posters, stills, personal papers, etc. Major collections are listed on their site. It is difficult in HOLLIS to exclude the films and retain non-film material.  .You can search a topic keyword in HOLLIS+ Advanced Search, limiting to Harvard Film Archive and, in the left column, open Resource Type More Options and exclude Video/Film. These keywords are useful: clippings - correspondence - ephemera - lectures - manuscripts - periodicals - personal papers - posters - pressbooks - programs - stills.

Thomas C. Owen collection on Russian social, economic, and business history since 1800. (1972-2005)

Labor Collections at Harvard
This guide brings together many of the major labor union-related collections at Harvard (and elsewhere), including the Slichter Industrial Relations collection.

A Web Guide to Photograph Collections. Baker Library Historical Collections

Microfilm

The First World War, a documentary record. Series one, European War, 1914-1919, the War Reserve Collection (WRA-WRE) from Cambridge University Library. 114 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont)  |  Film A 1189
Microforms (Lamont)  |  INDEX Film A 1189 = guide
Online Guide
HOLLIS Record

Historical Country Information/Current Events Summaries

A variety of serial publications offer overviews of political and social conditions (politics, economics, organizations, press, etc.) and current events for countries worldwide. Some are reference works, others are monthly or annual news summaries.  A few of the major examples are listed below.  Several others, including French, German and Italian publications, are in Widener at call number H 1087-H 1088   Browse them online:

In HOLLIS+, choose Browse HOLLIS by, and adjust to Other call number.  Keep the space between H and 1087.

Current Events/News Summaries

Annuaire historique universel, 1819-1839. Paris: Fantin,
HOLLIS Record 1758-1837

Annual register.  [title varies], 1758- . London
HOLLIS Record 1758-1837
HOLLIS Record  1838-1862
HOLLIS Record  1863-1953
HathiTrust (-1922 only)
HathiTrust (-1922 only)

Current history, 1914- .
Online Version
HOLLIS Record  1941- .
HOLLIS Record  1916-1940
HOLLIS Record  Feb. 1915)-Feb. 1916
HOLLIS Record  Dec. 1914-Jan. 1915.

The International year book, 1898-1902.
HathiTrust version
Google Books version
HOLLIS Record

Continued by:
New international yearbook; a compendium of the world's progress. 1904-1965
Google Books version
HOLLIS Record

Alphabetical articles on countries, US states, and topics (e.g., Iron and Steel).

Keesing’s record of world events  [formerly titled: Keesing’s contemporary archives],
HOLLIS Record 1931-1986)
HOLLIS Record 1987-1998

Quarterly register of current history (title varies)
HOLLIS Record  Feb. 1891- Mar. 1893
HOLLIS Record Mar. 1893 - Dec. 1901
HOLLIS Record   Mar. 1902-Feb. 1903

Statistical, Political, Directory and other Country Information

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) offers Country Reports and Country Profiles with online political and economic information going back to around 1996.

Issues for 1986-1995 in paper: Search in HOLLIS: "country report" and name of country

Europa world year book [before 1989 titled Europa year book], 1959- . London: Europa Publications
Current Online Version
HOLLIS Record 1989-
HOLLIS Record 1959-1988
--Includes list of major newspapers.
--Since 1963 has a Recent History section for each country summarizing events for the last few years.
--There are Europa yearbooks on particular parts of the world. Find them by searching in HOLLIS: Europa Publications Limited.

Example:
Africa South of the Sahara. London, Europa Publications Ltd. 1971-
Widener | RR 4370.30 = Latest
Widener | Afr 1.118 = Earlier

International year book and statesmen’s who’s who, 1953-
HOLLIS Record

Political handbook of the world, 1927-1970, 1975- (Annual, title varies)
Online version (2005- )
Widener Harvard Depository JF37 .P6 (1984-2002)
Widener WID-LC JF37 .P6 (1975-2009)
Widener H 1089.27 (1927-1970)
-- Political handbook of Europe (1927)
-- Country by country overviews of parliaments (breakdown by party), party leaderships.
-- Lists of newspapers with political affiliation and editors.

Statesman’s year-book, 1864- . London: Palgrave.
Current Online Version (1864- ):  Open Archive in orange bar at top
Google Books
HOLLIS Record

Whitaker's almanack. [before 1992 titled Almanack for the year of our Lord…) London: J. Whitaker, 1869- .
Widener | Harvard Depository | Br 3700.101 (2002-2011)
Widener Br 3700.101 (1869-1992)
Widener | RR 4262.2 Latest
Google Books