Announcements

Harvard Library research guides:

Houghton will be closing for renovations on Friday, August 9, 2019 to reopen September 2020.  During that time Houghton collections will be serviced in the Widener Periodicals Reading Room.  Researchers can access collections there beginning Monday, August 26th.

After July 28, request current periodicals through HOLLIS for use in the Phillips Reading Room.

The Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room will also be in use by Houghton staff and will close on June 28.  Microfilms can be requested via the Request Pick UP button in HOLLIS.  Ask at the Circulation Desk to be directed to a microfilm reader.

More information at Houghton Library Renovation and at FAQs about the Houghton Library Renovation.

Biography in Context database

Some time ago we were regretting the loss of the Biography in Context database.  I find that the State Library of Massachusetts has it free for Massachusetts residents.  Go to https://www.mass.gov/orgs/state-library-of-massachusetts, open Search the State Library’s Databases, then scroll down a bit to Additional Resources, and there it is.

New News Resources

American Underworld: The Flash Press --  About --  Crime, scandal, and blackmail papers of the nineteenth century.

American Indian newspapers, 1828-2016 (bulk 1970-2016).

US Hispanic Newsstream offers Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago). English and Spanish 

Irish Historical Newspapers

Cambridge Public Library's Historic Cambridge Newspaper Collection offers online access to: Cambridge Chronicle (1846-2015), Cambridge Press (1887-1889), Cambridge Sentinel (1903-1947), Cambridge Tribune (1887-1941), together with 40,634 subject cards and 13,099 obituary cards indexing Cambridge newspapers 1950-2008.

Persons with a Cambridge Public Library card can access The Boston Metropolitan Collection which contains many local weekly community newspapers, such as the Somerville Journal, Cape Cod Times, Brookline TAB, and the Cambridge Chronicle back to 2005 

The following databases are extracted from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947-1996. The Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a US government agency which translates daily radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, etc. from non-English sources worldwide. Reports with translations are issued for eight world regions daily and cover such topics as military affairs, politics, the environment, societal issues, economics, and science and technology.

 

New E-Resources

General

Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques : (DHGE) 

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive (1952-1995) provides detailed coverage of political, economic and commercial information worldwide.

International historical statistics, 1750-2010 is the online version of the 3-volume print resource.

Oxford handbooks online. Archaeology -- Business and Management -- Classical Studies -- Criminology and Criminal Justice -- Economics and Finance -- History -- Law -- Linguistics -- Literature -- Music -- Neuroscience -- Philosophy -- Physical Sciences -- Political Science -- Psychology -- Religion -- Sociology

Oxford historical treaties is an augmented online version of the print resource Consolidated treaty series.

United States

American Indian correspondence : Presbyterian Historical Society collection of missionaries' letters, 1833-1893

Film scripts online contains 1,500 film scripts and offers a bibliographic and biographical database of directors and writers, along with the full text of the earliest silent films through to the present.

Gender: identity and social change offers sources on women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men's movement, employment, education, the body, the family. Includes digitized archival documents, image gallery, and video content. Covers the 19th-21st centuries, focusing on the US, Great Britain, Canada, and Australia.

New Republic Archive (1914- )

ProQuest history vault. Margaret Sanger papers (Smith College) 

Territorial Papers of the United States (1764-1953) offers archival material on US territories from The National Archives

Europe

Actes royaux français, 1256-1794

Central and Eastern European Online Library C.E.E.O.L. is an online archive which provides access to full text PDF articles from 441 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.

Conditions & politics in occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 consists of documents from the British National Archives on the German-occupied countries.

The Cyprus crisis in 1967 (1963-1967) offers US State Dept. documents.

The First World War: Two sections: Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment.  Largely British.  Some material from the Hoover Institution Library.

Gender: identity and social change offers sources on women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men's movement, employment, education, the body, the family. Includes digitized archival documents, image gallery, and video content. Covers the 19th-21st centuries, focusing on the US, Great Britain, Canada, and Australia.

Klapp-online: Bibliographie der französischen literaturwissenschaft, 1991-

World War II, occupation, and the Civil War in Greece, 1940-1949: records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files 

Africa

Arabic literature of Africa online, edited by J.O.Hunwick, R.S. O'Fahey. Leiden, The Netherlands; Boston, MA : Brill

Asia

Foreign Office files for Japan, 1919-1952 includes Japan-specific files from the FO 371 and FO 262 series and the Western and American Department papers in FO 371. Section I: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945 -- Section II: Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952 -- Section III: Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930.

Propaganda and the Chinese Press : global perspectives, 1946-1996 Contains articles from Xinhua, the official news agency of the People's Republic of China, covering foreign and domestic affairs from 1946-1996, translated into English. 

Featured E-Resource: Oxford Research Encyclopedias: American History

The Oxford Research Encyclopedias: American History offers numerous articles reviewing specialized topics.  Each article has sections on Discussion of the Literature and on Primary Sources, together with a Further Reading bibliography and footnotes.

Featured E-Resource: Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975

Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975
HOLLIS Record
Descriptions of included collections

Includes much material that does not directly concern the Vietnam War:

  • Associated Press, Saigon Bureau Records, Series 1: News Reports, 1953, 1960-71 and Series 2: Message Wires, 1963-1972
  • CIA Records on the Cold War: The CAESAR, ESAU, and POLO Papers on China and the Soviet Union, 1953-1973
  • The CAESAR, POLO, And ESAU Papers
  • CIA Research Reports, Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1976 and Supplement
  • Confidential U.S. State Department Special Files, Vietnam Working Group, 1963-1966
  • Crises in Panama and the Dominican Republic: National Security Files and NSC Histories
  • Documents of the National Security Council, 1947-1977, Basic Set
  • Documents of the National Security Council, 1st -9th Supplements
  • Environmental Protection Agency: Records of the U.S./USSR Joint Commission on Environmental Programs, 1972-1976
  • Gerald R. Ford National Security Files, 1974-1977: The Middle East and South Asia, Presidential Country Files
  • Henry A. Kissinger Telephone Conversations on World Affairs, 1969-1974
  • John F. Kennedy National Security Files, 1961-1963
  • Johnson Administration and Pacification in Vietnam, The Robert Komer-William Leonhart Files, 1966-1968
  • Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files, 1963-1969
  • Memos of the Special Assistant for National Security Affairs: McGeorge Bundy to President Johnson, 1963-1966
  • Minutes of Meetings of the National Security Council with Special Advisory Reports, and 1st - 4th Supplements
  • Papers from the John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection at the National Archives, Part 1: Kennedy Administration Policy toward Cuba
  • Peers Inquiry of the Massacre at My Lai
  • Public Statements by the Secretaries of Defense, 1961-1969, The Kennedy and Johnson Administrations
  • Public Statements by the Secretaries of Defense, 1969-1977, The Nixon and Ford Administrations
  • Public Statements by the Secretaries of Defense, 1977-1981, The Carter Administration
  • Records of the Military Assistance and Advisory Group, Vietnam 1950-1964, Part 1: Adjutant General Division--Security Classified Files
  • Records of the Military Assistance Command Vietnam, Part 1. The War in Vietnam, 1954-1973, MACV Historical Office Documentary Collection
  • Records of the Military Assistance Command Vietnam, Part 2. Classified Studies from the Combined Intelligence Center Vietnam, 1965-1973
  • Records of the Military Assistance Command Vietnam, Part 3. Progress Reports on Pacification in South Vietnam, 1965-1973
  • Records of the U.S. Information Agency, Cold War Era Research Reports, Series A: 1960-1963
  • Records of the U.S. Information Agency, Cold War Era Research Reports, Series B: 1964-1982
  • Records of the U.S. Information Agency, Cold War Era Special Reports, 1964-1982
  • Records of the U.S. Marine Corps in the Vietnam War, Part 1. Fleet Marine Force, Pacific Command Histories, 1964-1973
  • Records of the U.S. Marine Corps in the Vietnam War, Part 2: III Marine Amphibious Force Command Histories, 1964-1971
  • Records of the U.S. Marine Corps in the Vietnam War, Part 3: Divisional Command Histories, 1965-1971
  • Richard M. Nixon National Security Files, 1969-1974
  • Transcripts and Files of the Paris Peace Talks on Vietnam, 1968-1973
  • U.S. Armed Forces in Vietnam, 1954-1975, Part 1: Indochina Studies
  • U.S. Armed Forces in Vietnam, Part 2. Vietnam: Lessons Learned
  • U.S. Armed Forces in Vietnam, Part 3. Vietnam: Reports of U.S. Army Operations
  • U.S. Armed Forces in Vietnam, Part 4: Vietnam: U.S. Army Senior Officer Debriefing Reports
  • U.S. Army Build-up and Activities in South Vietnam, 1965-1972
  • U.S. State Department Office of the Executive Secretariat, Crisis Files, Part 1: The Berlin Crisis, 1957-1963
  • U.S. State Department Office of the Executive Secretariat, Crisis Files, Part 2: The Middle East Crisis, 1967
  • U.S. State Department Office of the Executive Secretariat, Official Exchanges of the President and Secretary of State with Foreign Leaders, 1961-1966
  • Vietnam Documents and Research Notes Series, Translation and Analysis of Significant Viet Cong/North Vietnamese Documents
  • Vietnam War: A Documentary Collection, Records of the Westmoreland vs. CBS Case
  • Vietnam, The Media, and Public Support For The War
  • War in Vietnam: Classified Histories by the National Security Council
  • War in Vietnam: Papers of William C. Westmoreland

Microfilm

Immigration and Refugee Services of America records, 1918-1985: from The Immigration History Research Center, University of Minnesota. 4 pts. on 354 microfilm reels + guides (5  v.)
HOLLIS Record
Online guide

Boston-Area Collections: Boston University African Studies Library

The Boston University African Studies Library is located on the 6th floor of the Mugar Library (Green Line, B train, BU Central stop). Mugar is open to the public. The African Studies Library is open M-F 9-5 but can be open at other hours for appointments if contacted ahead of time.

The African Studies Library started in 1953 along with BU’s African Studies program. Holdings are largely Sub-Saharan but more North African material has been added since 2010. Particular strengths are in South African (especially around apartheid) and Nigerian materials.

Besides the general collection, which contains many African-published books and periodicals, there are:

Newspapers: Many hard copy newspapers held, especially 1950s-1980s. Many short runs and single issues. Newspapers are listed in the African Newspapers guide 

Government Documents: The government documents collection is in two components: Older government documents collection (J class). Late 19th century-1983; Bulk 1950s-1983 (pre-1950 material largely (South African). Accessed via card catalog. More recently acquired (1983- ) government documents (largely 1983- ) included in BU online catalog (LC system)

Ephemera: A substantial collection of ephemera (1910s-recent; bulk 1960s-1980s), including pamphlets and other material, is arranged in bulletin boxes by country. Not cataloged.

Maps: A collection of around 1600 maps. Included in in BU online catalog plus an African Studies Map Collection research guide.

Special collections include

  • African Poster Collection. Posters are not in BU online catalog. Found via African Poster Collection research guide 
  • Field notes and other materials donated by Africanists
  • Archive of the Republic of Niger which includes digitized material, newspapers, photographs, maps and other material

Related Collections

The BU African Studies Center's Outreach Program Teaching Africa Library is an extensive collection of materials useful for teaching about Africa for all grade levels. "Our collection contains adult and children’s books, both fiction and nonfiction, as well as movies, curriculum guides, clothing, and travel kits."

AFRITERRA Foundation is a non-profit Cartographic Library and Archive for rare maps of Africa.