Pamphlets are useful primary sources in that they are often responses to a particular event or situation.
Collections and series of pamphlets often have the word Pamphlets in the title. Narrow with additional keywords, e.g., “Middle East”
Individual pamphlets often, by no means always, have the term Pamphlets in the Form/genre or Subject fields in Hollis and WorldCat - both searched together in the Advanced Search Subject search.
Sometimes series-level groups in archival collections are composed of pamphlets. In Hollis for Archival Discovery searching Pamphlets isolates these series. This search can be focused with topic keywords or by repository.
Find bibliographies of pamphlets in HOLLIS Library Catalog Advanced Search: Subject contains: pamphlets bibliography
A catalogue of pamphlets on economic subjects published between 1750 and 1900 and now housed in Irish libraries, by R. D. Collison Black. Belfast, Queen's University Belfast, 1969, 632 p.
The Loeb Design Library (scroll down) has a huge collection of pamphlets and similar material on cities, landscape architecture and related topics. Search within them in HOLLIS Library Catalog Advanced Search using: Code: Library + Collection.
A few examples of pamphlet collections:
- American Pamphlets, Series 1, 1820-1922 offers pamphlets held at the New York Historical Society.
- British Pamphlets (JSTOR) 1603-1900 over 26,000 pamphlets
- China: culture and society (c1750-1929), offers pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia, together with secondary sources.
- Flugschriften des 17. Jahrhunderts in der Staats- und Stadtbibliothek Augsburg. 683 microfiches
HOLLIS Record with online guide
- French Pamphlet Project
- Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection (Harvard collection) (1820-1920)
More than 5,000 pamphlets documenting the emergence of the Latin American colonies as independent states, and illuminating many aspects of their populations' social and cultural life.
- Latin American pamphlets from the Yale University Library (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm. Covers social, political, economic conditions in Latin America in 17th-19th centuries (focus on Mexico & Peru). Guide.
- Latin American twentieth century pamphlets. (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm. Online guide
- Mexican and Central American political and social ephemera, 1980-1991 On microfilm.
A collection of 3112 pamphlets, broadsides, and posters documenting the political and social climate.
- Pamphlets from the Harvard College Library. Harvard consistently collected pamphlets published during the 19th and the first half of the 20th centuries.
- Political pamphlets from the Indian subcontinent (1916-1990, bulk is 1946–1980). 5 pts. on 1606 microfiche.
- Princeton University Latin American pamphlet collection (On microfilm)
- Simon Bolivar: a collection of pamphlets (1827-1947) (Find It @ Harvard) On microfilm.
- Society, culture & politics in Canada : Canadiana pamphlets from McMaster University, 1818-1929
- State labor pamphlets (pre-1950). 33 boxes; 65 linear ft. HOLLIS Record
- World communism : pamphlets from McMaster University