HOLLIS+
The electronic versions of the Oxford Handbooks series are to be found in HOLLIS+ Everything; only the print shows up in HOLLIS+ HOLLIS.
HOLLIS+ does not offer a limitation to Microform. Some older microform collections are not tagged as microform, but the microform format limitation is still useful. Use HOLLIS Classic for this.
New News Sources
Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles of the independent alternative press of the 60s-80s. Many papers are still only available at Harard via the microfilm collections.
New E-Resources
Early Western Korans Online: Koran Printing in the West, 1537-1857
Encyclopedia of Christianity Online
Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology
Handbook of Cliometrics is about “application of economic theory, econometric techniques, and other formal or mathematical methods to the study of history”
IMF e-Library Data coverage goes back to foundation of IMF
Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary
Oxford Handbooks Online. History -- List of volumes.
Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933
LGBT Studies in Video includes documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and feature films on LGBT topics.
LGBTQ History & Culture Since 1940 contains present archival material, texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.
ProQuest History Vault: Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930
ProQuest History Vault: Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from The Schlesinger Library offers three series of collections: suffrage and voting rights, women in national politics, and reproductive rights. Coverage: 1850-1970 (bulk).
U.S. Political Stats (1982- ) is a data download and visualization tool for finding and understanding data on the U.S. Government
International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (1966- )
Sound Toll Registers (1497-1857) record the toll levied on ships through the strait between Denmark and Sweden. Includes for each passage, the name of the shipmaster, his town of residence, his port of departure and--from the mid-1660s--his port of destination, the composition of the cargo and the toll per commodity.
Classiques Garnier Numérique offers the Bibliographie de la littérature française, together with collections of French language primary texts and reference works, including French and francophone literature (Europe, Africa, Indian Ocean, Americas, Asia) and dictionaries and grammars from the 9th to the 20th century.
Codices Vossiani Latini Online offers the 363 codices which form the Latin part of Isaac Vossius’ manuscript collection held at Leiden University Library.
Dictionary of Renaissance Latin from Prose Sources
Hungarian Reformation Online (1540s-1650s) offers the writings of the Hungarian reformers.
U.S. Intelligence on Europe, 1945-1955
Women in the National Archives (British) offer pdfs of documents covering the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962. Also a finding aid that serves as an index.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents -
U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009
African Online Digital Library (AODL) includes an archive of African journals, Ajami language manuscripts from the Senegambia, Apartheid era films, video interviews with eminent African scholars, religious leaders, and activists, and much else
Frobenius-Institut Frankfurt am Main. Online catalog of ethnographic images depicting cultures and history of non-European world, especially Africa.
Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory offers multi-media memory resources documenting the life and times of Nelson Mandela.
The Societies of Southern Africa in the 19th and 20th centuries offers School of Advanced Study, University of London seminar papers.
Statistics South Africa includes censuses back to 1996 and a digital atlas.
Non-Harvard E-Resources
British Printed Images to 1700 is a searchable database of prints and book illustration.
Database of Scientific Illustrators 1450-1950 offers biographical data on over 11,300 illustrators in natural history, medicine, technology and the sciences. Worldwide coverage. Includes over 100 from British India.
Densho Digital Repository for Japanese American resources
Massachusetts Cultural Resource Information System (MACRIS) allows you to search the Massachusetts Historical Commission database for information on historic properties and areas in the Commonwealth.
Tropical Disease Motion Pictures (U.S. National Library of Medicine) (1927?-2007) Includes 46 films designed for soldiers deployed on peacekeeping or other missions and for other purposes
Harvard Library Collections
New, newly accessible, or easily overlooked resources
The Castañé Collection in the Houghton Library gathers together documents, photographs, and books that tell the story of the pivotal political and military events of the twentieth century. Formed over a period of 25 years by José María Castañé, a Spanish businessman and patron of the arts, its topical foci are the Russian Revolution; the Russian Civil War; World War I; the development of Fascism and Nazism; the development of the Soviet Union; the Spanish Civil War; World War II, particularly the German invasion of the Soviet Union, and major battles in the European theatre of war; the Nuremberg Trials; and the Cold War. In size, the collection consists of some 3,000 individual items and small collections, numbering perhaps 15,000 pieces in all.
Colonial North American Project at Harvard University
Theodore Roosevelt Collection: political cartoons. Political cartoons depicting TDR in Houghton. About 4,000 items.
Theodore Roosevelt Collection: Political cartoons: Original cartoon drawings, 1896-1942: Guide.
HOLLIS Record
Microfilm
Women and medicine: remedy books, 1533-1865: from the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine, London. 35 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1316
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1316 = guide
HOLLIS Record
Ancestry: Resources for History
Although genealogical in intent, Ancestry offers numerous resources for history.
Ancestry Library Edition. To browse the available collections, open the menu under Search (upper left) and choose Card Catalog. Then open the major categories under Filter by Collection. You can refine by geography and/or date, and search by source title.
There are many city directories: choose Schools, Directories & Church Histories, then City & Area Directories. Then refine by geography and/or date. There are UK as well as American directories. For more on city directories see the Special Topics page.
A few examples of collections of interest for history:
- Historic Catalogs of Sears, Roebuck and Co., 1896-1993
- London, England, Poor Law and Board of Guardian Records, 1430-1930
- Slave Registers of former British Colonial Dependencies, 1813-1834
- UK Medical Registers, 1859-1959
- UK, Civil Engineer Photographs, 1829-1923
- UK, Prison Hulk Registers and Letter Books, 1802-1849
- U.S., School Catalogs, 1765-1935 (bulk mid-late 19th century). This database contains a variety of publications listing names of students, faculty, alumni, and others associated with U.S. educational institutions and associations. These include colleges and universities, seminaries and theological institutes, normal schools, medical schools, academies, military schools.