Non-Harvard E-Resources

There is now an Advanced Full Text search feature available in HathiTrust that allows a full text search of specified books or periodicals similar to that available in Google Books Advanced search. Described at: Advanced Search for HathiTrust full-text search.

HathiTrust has much material not in Google Books including many early European books from the Biblioteca de la Universidad Complutense de Madrid.

HathiTrust Resources and Guides brings together overviews, instructional materials, and guides created by HathiTrust partner libraries and others.

New Research Guides

Finding Full Text Books Online

A new guide to RefWorks is available: Introduction to RefWorks

Resources for Asian History

Harvard in the 17th and 18th Centuries is a research guide to diaries, commonplace books, correspondence, legal documents, University records, drawings, maps, student notebooks, scientific observations, and lecture notes. Material is grouped by Subject (e.g., food) and by Genre (e.g., student letters).

Selected New Harvard Library E-Resources

General

Access World News (1985- ; bulk 2005- ) includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.

DAPHNE: Data in Archaeology, Prehistory and History on the Net is a CNRS portal for free subject-oriented bibliographic databases.

Europe (general and continental)

Early Modern

An Analytic Bibliography of On-line Neo-Latin Texts

CAMENA: Latin Texts of Early Modern Europe is a digital library of the humanistic Respublica LitterarumArchive of European Integration (1951-present) is a repository for European Community/European Union documents and independently-produced material on European integration and unification

Deutsche Biographische Enzyklopädie (DBE) online offers brief biographies with references to other sources including the Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB) / Neue Deutsche Biographie. (NDB) Full citations for abbreviations of other sources given under Further Information. Updating of the printed versionThere is also an English translation in print.

Deutsches Textarchiv (1650-1900) includes texts from numerous subject areas. Description.

First World War: Personal Experiences includes diaries, letters, scrapbooks, photographs and 360° views of personal items and objects. Interactive maps displaying narrative of the war.

Manumed is a collection of digitized manuscripts from Mediterranean cultures

Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape contains manuscripts, correspondence, paintings and drawings of literary, artistic, and political figures

Universal Short Title Catalogue (USTC) is a collective catalog of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century. Includes a portion of the records in the English Short Title Catalogue. Many of the titles included are available full text in EEBO, Early European Books, HathiTrust and Europeana.. Includes database (EVRECA) that contains words and names (with additional morphological and lexical data) linked to dictionaries/encyclopedias.

Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum includes catalogue of all online Latin texts from beginnings to 18th century Neo-Latinists.

Traditio Classicorum contains a bibliography of secondary literature concerning classical authors to the year 1650.

Great Britain

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, Section II (1947-1980) contains the DO 133, DO 134, FO 371 and FCO 37 files from The National Archives, Kew.

Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest (1950-1975) contains primary sources on popular culture in the US and Great Britain. Topics include: Youth Culture; Student Protests; May ‘68; TV; Music; Movies; Civil Rights; Women’s Liberation; Minority Groups; The Space Race; Consumerism; Credit Cards; Computers; Vietnam War; and Nuclear Disarmament.

Netherlands

Biografisch woordenboek van Nederland. Print edition.

Digitale Bibliografie Nederlandse Geschiedenis (largely 1940s- ) includes citations of books and book chapters as well as periodical articles

Early Dutch Books Online (1781-1800) contains 10,000 books from the Dutch-speaking region.

Historici.nl (-2000) contains full text of numerous secondary and primary books and periodicals in Dutch history

United States

Adams Papers Digital Edition (1755-1840) contains diaries, selected legal papers, and family correspondence and state papers. Includes all 30 print volumes of The Adams Papers.

Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution digitization of the print edition with its microform supplement.

First World War: Personal Experiences includes diaries, letters, scrapbooks, photographs and 360° views of personal items and objects. Interactive maps displaying narrative of the war.

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1994 is a government agency which translates foreign language books, newspapers, journals, unclassified foreign documents and research reports, but largely serials. Emphasis is on communist and third world countries. Over 130,000 reports issued 1957-1994. Early emphasis on scientific and technical material from communist countries has broadened to include more non-scientific materials.  Post-1994 access to JPRS is through World News Connection which combines the Daily Reports from the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service with JPRS reports.

Presidential papers. Digitized versions of the published papers of:

Presidential Recordings of Lyndon B. Johnson Digital Edition (1964-1968) contains all presidential recordings of Johnson, with audio file, transcription, and annotations.

ProQuest History Vault: Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 includes Collections includes records of: Associated Press, Saigon Bureau; Military Assistance Command Vietnam (MACV); U.S. Armed Forces in Vietnam; Vietnam Documents and Research Notes Series: Translation and Analysis of Viet Cong/North Vietnamese Documents; Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon and Ford National Security Files.

ProQuest history vault. Black freedom struggle in the 20th century. Consists of two sections:

Federal Government Records
Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1

Note: Link opens to Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 but there are links to the Black freedom struggle collections

Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest (1950-1975) contains primary sources on popular culture in the US and Great Britain. Topics include: Youth Culture; Student Protests; May ‘68; TV; Music; Movies; Civil Rights; Women’s Liberation; Minority Groups; The Space Race; Consumerism; Credit Cards; Computers; Vietnam War; and Nuclear Disarmament.

Ancient/Medieval

Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts

Geschichtsquellen des deutschen Mittelalters is a repertory of narrative sources from 750 to 1500 with information on manuscript tradition, editions, translations, and research literature. Expanded from the print "Repertorium fontium historiae Medii Aevi".

Asia/Middle East/Africa

Early Photography of Japan

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, Section II (1947-1980) contains the DO 133, DO 134, FO 371 and FCO 37 files from The National Archives, Kew.

Manumed is a collection of digitized manuscripts from Mediterranean cultures

Studying Africa: a guide to the sources primarily covers the social sciences and mainly 2004-2011. For older references, see the previous edition of Studying Africa (ed. by Kristina Rylander 2005)

New Microfilm

Autobiographies from men of all ranks: sources from the British Library, London. Marlborough: Adam Matthew, 2006- .
Location : Microforms (Lamont) Film A 1362
--pt. 1. Autobiographies, c.1760-1820 (reels 1-20)
Digital reel guide

China inland mission, 1865-1951: from the School of Oriental and African Studies, London. Marlborough: Adam Matthew, 2006.
Location : Microforms (Lamont) Film A 1357
Online guide
--Incomplete contents : pt. 1. James Hudson Taylor papers: correspondence and journals (reels 1-25) -- pt. 2. James Hudson Taylor papers: subject files (reels 26-39).

English clandestine satire, 1660-1704: popular culture, entertainment and information in the early modern period. Marlborough: Adam Matthew, 2006. 24 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1363
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1363 = guide
Listing and guide to the microfilm collection at the beginning of each reel
Digital reel guide

Civil rights and social activism in the South: filmed from the holdings of University of South Alabama Archives.
HOLLIS record
Online guide
ser. 1. The John L. LeFlore Papers, 1926-1976 (15 reels) -- ser. 2. Records of the Non-Partisan Voters League, 1956-1987 (29 reels). Microforms Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1367
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1367 = guide

The civil rights movement and the federal government: records of the Department of Justice's Civil Rights Division, 1958-1973.
Online guide
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1387
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1387 = guide