Announcement

Gregory Eow had accepted the position of Charles Warren Bibliographer for American History. He will begin work here on April 1, 2013.

Gregory Eow is currently the Kaplanoff Librarian for American, British, and Commonwealth History at the Yale University Library, a position he has held since 2007. In this capacity, he builds collections to support the teaching and research needs of the Yale Department of History, and provides specialized reference services to Yale faculty and students. Since April 2012, Greg has additionally served as the Associate Director of Collection Development, a position charged with creating a centralized procurement model for the purchase of digital resources for the Yale Library system. Greg completed his Ph.D. in 20th century U.S. intellectual history at Rice University in 2007, and earned his M.L.I.S., with a concentration in archives, from the University of Pittsburgh in 1998.

Non-Harvard Library E-Resources

Digital Archive of the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive.

e-corpus is a collective digital library containing manuscripts, archives, books, journals, prints, audio recordings, video, etc., on cultural diversity worldwide and specifically in the Euro-Mediterranean region.

FedFlix contains over 8700 government films back to the 1940s.

Middle Eastern Film Posters Digitization Initiative includes over 160 posters and 768 lobby cards. Acquired in Lebanon in 2008, they advertise films released 1935-2007.

Nineteenth Century Periodicals Pathfinder lists digitized periodicals by time period, country and subject from a variety of sources including JSTOR and HathiTrust.

Réseau francophone numérique contains digitized historical material from French-speaking countries worldwide.

United Nations History Project

Selected New Harvard Library E-Resources

Translated Texts for Historians E-Library provides online access to the Liverpool University Press series

Europe (general and continental)

Bayle Corpus: Œuvres complètes

Digital Scriptorium is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts from many American institutions

TEMPO: Early Modern Pamphlets Online (1486-1853) currently includes about 47,000 pamphlets largely in Dutch, German and Latin.

Canada

Canadian Official Publications is a Harvard College Library research guide.

Canadiana Discovery Portal searches digital collections of Canadian libraries, archives and museums

United States

Joseph Story Digital Suite. Story (1779-1845) was a Supreme Court Justice and Harvard Law School professor.

Asia/Middle East/Africa

Africa and the African Diaspora: Music Research Guide

Byzantinische Bibliographie is the online version of the bibliography that appears in the Byzantinische Zeitschrift.

China: culture and society (c1750-1929), offers pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia, together with secondary sources.

Confidential print. Middle East, 1839-1969. Marlborough, UK : Adam Matthew Digital. Confidential prints were informational documents printed by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices and distributed privately to their officials. Includes Egypt

Dictionary of African biography (Ed. by Emmanuel K. Akyeampong and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2012. 6 v. (Widener | RR 3970.35.15)) is available online in Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection and the African American Studies Center.

Latin America

Classic Mexican Cinema (1902-19650) offers full text of popular movie periodicals.

Gale World Scholar Latin America & the Caribbean Archive includes primary source documents, academic journals and news feeds, reference sources, maps, statistics, audio and video

Microfilm

Country Information (US Sources)

The Microfilm Collection, Lamont, level B, has numerous large collections that are easily overlooked. Among collections of microfilmed U.S. government documents, the following contain information on foreign countries:

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records, 1925-1945 (coverage varies by country)
Online Guides (scroll down) 
HOLLIS Records.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files, 1940-1969 (coverage varies by country)
HOLLIS Records
Online Guides (Scroll down)

CIA Research Reports, 1946-1976
HOLLIS Records
Online Guides (Scroll down)

Despatches from United States ministers to [country name], 1790-1906 (coverage varies by country)
HOLLIS Search  Hit Modify Search and limit by the name of your country
For full list see NARA site. Select Microfilm icon, then search Ministers in search box.

Despatches from United States consuls in [city name],  1790-1906 (coverage varies by country)
HOLLIS Records
For full list see NARA site. Select Microfilm icon, then search Consuls in search box.
For items at CRL or not at Harvard or CRL, obtain via Interlibrary Loan

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of [Country name], 1910-1963 (coverage varies by country. mostly 1940s-1950s)
HOLLIS Records
Online guides

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to political relations between the United States and [Country name], 1930-1959 (coverage varies by country)
HOLLIS Records
Online guide available only for Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to political relations between the United States and Latin America and the Caribbean states, 1930-1944. Department of State decimal files 711.12-711.39, 69 microfilm reels
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 524.8 (1930/44) Level B

Records of the United States Consulate
-- at Callao-Lima, 1825-1912. HOLLIS Record
-- in Bangkok, 1856-1912. HOLLIS Record
-- in Jerusalem, Palestine: confidential correspondence, 1920-35 (record group 84). HOLLIS Record

U.S. military intelligence reports 1918-1944 (coverage varies by country)
Online Guides (scroll down) 
HOLLIS Records.

O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports. 14 pts. on 124 microfilm reels
Location : Microforms (Lamont) Film A 215 [Level B]
Location : Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film A 215 = Guide [Level B]
Online Guides  (Scroll down) pt. 1. Japan and its occupied territories during World War II
pt. 2. Postwar Japan, Korea, and Southeast Asia, 1945-1949
pt. 3. China and India, 1950-1961
pt. 4. Germany and its occupied territories during World War II
pt. 5. Postwar Europe
pt. 6. The Soviet Union, 1941-1961
pt. 7. The Middle East, 1941-1961
pt. 8. Japan, Korea, Southeast Asia and the Far East generally, 1950-1961
pt. 9. China and India, 1950-1961
pt. 10. Europe. 1950-1961 supplement
pt. 11. The Soviet Union. 1950-1961 supplement
pt. 12. The Middle East. 1950-1961 supplement.
pt. 13. Africa, 1941-1961
pt. 14. Latin America, 1941-1961

New Microfilm

Archivo General de Centroamérica, 1544–1821 offers over six million pages of original documents chronicling Spanish rule in Central America plus Yucatan and Chiapas.
Online guides
This material is housed at the Center for Research Libraries in Chicago (there is no HOLLIS record) and is available via Interlibrary Loan.

British intelligence and policy on Persia (Iran), c. 1900-1949: India Office political and secret files and confidential print. 515 microfiches
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche 6547
Online guide

Dutch trade in Asia. [Part 1], Papers of Hendrik Doeff on Japan and the East Indies, c. 1800-1835. 140 microfiches.
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Microfiche W 6465
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 64
Online guide.

Dutch trade in Asia. Part 2, Papers of Jan Cock Blomhoff on Japan, c. 1817-1829. 24 microfiches.
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 6465.2
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Microfiche W 6465.2
Online guide.

Women advising women. 7 pts. on 136 microfilm reels. Marlborough, Wiltshire, England : Adam Matthew, 1992-2005.
Location : Microforms (Lamont) Film A 799
Location : Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film A 799 [= guide]
Online guides (Scroll down)
--pt. 1. Early women’s journals, c[a]. 1700-1832, from the Bodleian Library, Oxford (17 reels)
--pt. 2. Advice books, manuals, almanacs and journals, c[a]. 1625-1837 from the Bodleian Library, Oxford (20 reels)
--pt. 3-4. The Lady’s magazine, 1770-[1830] (32 reels)
--pt. 5. Womens’ writing and advice, c. 1450-1720 (22 reels)
--pt. 6. Household management, domestic economy, c1600
--pt. 7. Advice Books, Manuals and Journals for Women, 1450-1837. Sources from The Women's Library at London Metropolitan University