US Elections
Voting Statistics
Elections and Voting Data Guide: United States (U.S.) and International (Princeton guide)
U.S. Election Statistics: A Resource Guide (Library of Congress guide)
CQ Voting and Elections Collection (1789 – present) offers historical data on elections (presidential, congressional and gubernatorial), campaign finances, voter demographics, voter turnout, political parties.
United States Elections Web Archive, 2000-
Clerk of the House Election Statistics offers biennial election data from 1920 to present. Vote counts for congressional and presidential elections.
American National Election Studies offers data from presidential and congressional elections, 1948-present.
Historical Presidential Election Information by State
Pennsylvania Election Statistics: 1789-2006 offers county level voting returns for statewide elections for President, Governor, and Senator, 1789-2004.
US Electoral College. Historical Election Results
Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008.
American National Election Studies offers public opinion surveys on voting
Voting and Registration Data (Census Bureau) (1964- ) offers age, sex, race, employment, and education of voters.
State-level information typically can be found on state Secretary of State websites
Platforms
Political Party Platforms of Parties Receiving Electoral Votes: 1840 – 2012
Voting Law
Of the people, by the people, for the people : a documentary record of voting rights and electoral reform / Thomas J. Baldino and Kyle L. Kreider.. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2010. 2 v.
Law School | JK1846 .B35 2010
Widener | WID-LC | JK1846 .B35 2010
Political Speeches
American Rhetoric: the Power of Oratory in the United States
Images and Objects
Presidential Campaign Memorabilia from the Duke University Special Collections Library
Background and Context
CQ Encyclopedia of American Government
Online in CQ Press Electronic Library includes:
Encyclopedia of the First Amendment, ed. by John R. Vile, David L. Hudson Jr., David Schultz. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2009. 2 v.
Law School | KF4770 .E53 2009
Widener | WID-LC | KF4770 .E53 2009
Encyclopedia of U.S. political history. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2010. 7 v.
Harvard Kennedy School | Ref Pillars | E183 .E53 2010
Widener | RR 3627.13.1
Encyclopedia of United States Indian policy and law, ed. by Paul Finkelman, Tim Alan Garrison. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2009. 2 v.
Lamont | REFERENCE | KF8205 .E525 2009
Law School | Reference | KF8205 .E525 2009
Guide to interest groups and lobbying in the United States, ed. by Burdett A. Loomis, Peter L. Francia & Dara Z. Strolovitch,. Washington, DC : CQ Press, 2012, 490 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository | JK1118 .G85 2012
Guide to political campaigns in America / Paul S. Herrnson, editor-in-chief ; Colton Campbell, Marni Ezra, Stephen K. Medvic, associated editors. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2005, 457 p.
Harvard Kennedy School | Harvard Depository | JK2265 .G84 2005
Widener | WID-LC | JK2265 .G84 2005
Guide to the presidency and the executive branch, ed. by Michael Nelson. 5th ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: CQ Press, 2013. 2 v.
Widener | RR 4218.5.2
Guide to U.S. elections. 6th ed. Washington, DC : CQ Press, 2010. 2 v.
Harvard Kennedy School | Ref | JK1967 .C662 2010
Law School | Reference | JK1967 .C662 2010
Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court / David G. Savage. 5th ed. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2010. 2 v.
Law School | Reference | KF8742 .W567 2010
Vital statistics on American politics / Harold W. Stanley, Richard G. Niemi. 5th ed. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c1995. xviii, 440 p.
Widener | WID-LC | JK274 .S74 1995
Vital statistics on the presidency : George Washington to George W. Bush, by Lyn Ragsdale. 3rd ed. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2009. xviii, 580 p.
Lamont | REFERENCE | JK518 .R34 2009x
Widener | WID-LC | JK518 .R34 2009x