Online Full Text
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online is a unified search platform for cross-searching the following databases:
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries includes published and archival memoirs, letters, and diaries, plus supplementary chronologies, biographies, bibliographies, etc.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (1500-1950) includes letters and diaries of 430 women from Colonial times to 1950. Biographical information on the writers is included.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories (IMLD) (1800-1950.) includes 342 authors and approximately 37,500 pages of information, illustrating what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from more than 600 women writing from Colonial times to 1950. Some 7,000 pages of previously unpublished materials are included in addition to biographical information.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960-1974 includes letters, diaries, and oral histories, together with posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and audio and video materials.
Blogs: Capturing Women's Voices includes samples of some 20 blogs selected and archived by the Schlesinger Library. a sample of approximately 20 blogs. These blogs illuminate the lives of African-American and Latina women, lesbians, and women grappling with health and reproductive issues, and typically reflect their engagement with politics, their personal lives and philosophies, and their work lives.
In the HOLLIS Catalog and WorldCat several Subject terms refer to personal writings, for example:
- Autobiography French authors
- English diaries
- Adams, John, 1735-1826 -- Diaries.
- Adams, John, 1735-1826 -- Correspondence
- Women politicians -- Italy -- Diaries.
- United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Personal narratives
- “--Personal narratives” is attached to accounts of wars and diseases
Bibliographies of Printed Diaries and Autobiographies
American diaries: an annotated bibliography of published American diaries and journals, by Laura Arksey. 2 v. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, 1 983, 1987.
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM CT214.Z99 A74x 1983
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3623.18.15
--This is a valuable source because it includes a detailed subject index and includes diaries published as periodical articles.
Black Americans in autobiography: an annotated bibliography of autobiographies and autobiographical books written since the Civil War, by Russell C. Brignano. Rev. ed. Durham, N.C.: Duke University Press, 1984.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC E185.96.Z99 B74 x, 1984
--Lists in two sections full autobiographies and other life writings (diaries, personal narratives, etc.) with occupation, organization, geographic, chronological, and title indexes.
Autobiographies by Americans of color 1980-1994: an annotated bibliography, by Rebecca Stuhr-Rommereim. Troy, NY: Whitston, 1997.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CT220.Z99 S78 1997x
--Lists 499 autobiographies of persons of African, Asian, Mexican, Puerto Rican, and Native American heritage with brief summaries. Reprints of pre1980 works are included but usually not annotated. Index includes countries of origin, topics, occupations and names, but not titles.
--Continued by Autobiographies by Americans of color, 1995-2000: an annotated bibliography, by Deborah Stuhr Iwabuchi & Rebecca Stuhr. Albany, NY: Whitston Pub. Co., 2003.
LOCATION: Widener Harvard Depository CT220.Z99
--Lists 674 autobiographies including items missed in the earlier volume. Includes some persons of Middle Eastern heritage.
Primary sources in European diplomacy, 1914-1945: a bibliography of published memoirs and diaries, by Frederic M. Messick. NY: Greenwood Press, 1987, 221 p.
Widener | WID-LC | D443.Z99 M47 x, 1987 (In-Library Use only)
A guide to finding additional diaries and autobiographies is available in Finding Biographical Information.
American Presidency Project (includes many speeches of US Presidents, including State of the Union addresses and Inaugural Addresses)