Announcements

On 26 June at 5:30pm, we’ll be celebrating the 200th birthday of the Harvard Map Collection!

200 years to the day of the official acceptance of the gift of Christoph Ebeling’s library, which formed the core of Harvard’s original map collection, we invite you to view the opening of “Follow the Map: The Harvard Map Collection at 200!” The exhibition traces the history of the Map Collection through the people, stories, and events—including, among others, a slave trading merchant’s purchase of a German library and the redrawing of Europe’s borders after World War One—that have created this phenomenal collection.

Starting at 5:30pm on 26 June, we will be serving light refreshments in the lobby of Pusey Library. At 6:15, the reception will move to the Lamont Forum Room where David Weimer will give a short talk on the exhibition and the history of Harvard’s cartographic treasures.

Please RSVP if you are interested in attending.

Even if you can’t make the event on the 26th, come visit “Follow the Map: The Harvard Map Collection at 200” at your convenience. It will be on view from 26 June to 27 October 2018, “Follow the Map” brings together everything from hand-drawn nineteenth-century surveys of Bavaria to captured Japanese World War 2 military maps to Early Modern atlases to aerial photographs taken with cameras attached to pigeons to trace the network of donors, collectors, and curators who have defined the size and scope of the Harvard Map Collection. The exhibition is free and will be open to the public Monday through Friday from 9 to 5 and Saturdays 10-2

HOLLIS

HOLLIS Classic is being retired and replaced by HOLLIS on July 1.  We have  a draft guide to HOLLIS.  We welcome suggestions on making this guide more useful.  We are happy to meet with you individually or in groups to introduce you to the new HOLLIS and answer questions.

HOLLIS does a full text search in Harvard's online archival finding aids.   The old finding aids database, OASIS, is being replaced by HOLLIS for Archival Discovery.  As with OASIS, only finding aids are searched.  To find the more abundant catalog records, you still need to search HOLLIS. There are two complications with searching finding aids in HOLLIS:

Finding aids do not allow phrase searching if the phrase includes stop words like "and."  The stop word must be removed for the search to work. For example, instead of "Thoughts and Figgerings", search "Thoughts Figgerings"

A limited number of very long finding aids are not entirely full text searchable. Only the first ~80K words are searched.  This affects ~ 115 finding aids, or 2%.  Example: Jared Sparks personal papers.

VIA has been replaced by HOLLIS Images, which searches the collections of images across Harvard’s various repositories. You can also search HOLLIS Images directly through HOLLIS. In HOLLIS Advanced Search, you can limit your search to particular Harvard image repositories. List of image repositories.  Example. HOLLIS Images Search Tips.

Urls for searches in the new HOLLIS are permanent and can be copied and used again, as in the Example above.

Searching HOLLIS for works that are published in languages with non-Roman scripts

Join Reference Librarian Ramona Islam on Tuesday, June 19th, from 11:30am-12pm, and learn how to search HOLLIS for works that are published in languages with non-Roman scripts by using:

  • words in the original non-Roman script,
  • official ALA-LC transliterations,
  • or variant Romanized spellings from an array of transcriptions. 

Please register here. 

A recording of the demonstration and Q&A will be made available upon request. 

Please email etoker@g.harvard.edu with any questions.

Perma cc.

Most sites don't provide permalinks for scholars' documentation. Perma.cc creates permanent, reliable, unalterable links to the online sources you cite. As students and scholars increasingly use less conventional forms of material, Chicago's 17th ed (in 14.15, Preserving a permanent record) recommends saving copies of anything you cite that hasn't been formally published, for instance "by means of a permanent link creation service such as Perma.cc."

Scholarly Context Not Found: One in Five Articles Suffers from Reference Rot 

E-Resource News

This blog entry from the St. Louis Public Library lists slave-related collections within AncestryLibrary.  To find these collections, open the menu under Search (upper left) and choose Card Catalog. Enter the title in the upper left Title box.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia (American History) is a growing collection of articles each of which has bibliographical essays on secondary and primary sources together with an extensive bibliography.

IBN : index bio-bibliographicus notorum hominum
--The most comprehensive biographical index, worldwide but especially for pre-1970 Europeans. Indexes 2000 biographical dictionaries and related works, including non-European publications, published through the 1960s. Gives names, dates, nationalities, and occupations in addition to references to the indexed biographical works.  There are no FindIt@Harvard links, so you must look the sources up in HOLLIS. Currently extends only to Palheta. Print version at ​Widener: RR 1501.15n

New News Resources

American underworld : the flash press offers crime, scandal, and blackmail papers of the nineteenth century. 

Communist historical newspaper collection (Proquest historical newspapers) contains American and British newspapers: The daily worker (1924-1958) -- The Ohio socialist (1917-1919) -- People's daily world (1986-1990) -- People's weekly world (1990-2013) -- Sunday worker (1936-1958) -- The toiler (1919-1922) -- The worker (1922-1924) -- The worker (1958-1968).

ProQuest Historical Newspapers now includes

  • Louisville Courier Journal‎  (1830 - 2000) 
  • Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922)‎  (1812 - 1922)
  • St. Louis Post Dispatch‎  (1874 - 2003)

ProQuest Digital Microfilm -  reproduction of the microfilm allows browsing of the newspaper, seeing articles with neighboring articles, advertisements, etc.

  • New York Times (2008 - Recent)
  • Washington Post Final Edition  (2008- )

S.A. media (1978- ) is a news service that covers mainstream South African publications.

North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists (1850~1951) includes: The North-China Herald (1850~1941); The North-China Daily News (1865~1951) The North-China Desk Hong List (1872~1941);The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser (1862~1872) Hu Bao (1882~1908)Xiao Xian Bao (1898~1906)\7

English language option in the up-right corner of the webpage. Use Advanced Search to search a particular newspaper. for a search. Use Literature Navigation browse any issues of the newspapers.

AncestryLibrary includes  

  • Mississippi, Wilkinson County Newspaper Slave Ads, 1823-1849
  • Stars and Stripes Newspaper, Europe, Mediterranean, and North Africa Editions, 1942-1964
  • Stars and Stripes Newspaper, Pacific Editions, 1945-1963
  • Stars and Stripes Newspaper, WWI Edition, 1918-1919
  • U.S., 'Happy Days' Newspaper of the Civilian Conservation Corps, 1933-1940
  • U.S., African American Newspapers, 1829-1947 which is an online version of the Library of Congress microfilm, Miscellaneous Negro Newspapers.  To browse the included newspaper titles, go to the Center for Research Libraries Catalog advanced search, Newspapers tab put African American in the top box, adjust the next box to Note: and enter "Miscellaneous Negro" (in "").

To find these collections, open the menu under Search (upper left) and choose Card Catalog. Enter the title in the upper left Title box.

New E-Resources

General

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive 1952-1995

Global Health (EBSCO) 1973-  covers public health and related biomedical and life science fields. Includes periodical articles, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other resources.  Global Health Archive (EBSCO) 1910-1983

Blouin Art Sales Index BASI is an art price database with auction records dating from 1922 to the present. BASI covers 6.7 million lots of paintings, prints, photographs, sculptures, works on papers, miniatures, decorative arts, wines, spirits and jewellery, offering access to data for over 1,500 auction houses, 330,000 artists, and 100,000 auctions.

USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive contains the visual testimonies  from Holocaust survivors (1939-1945) together with survivor testimony from the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda (1994), the Armenian Genocide (1915-23) the Cambodian Genocide, the Guatemalan Genocide (1978-96) and the Nanjing Massacre (1937). User guide

History of Feminism, covering 1776-1928, contains primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles published by Routledge. Primary source material is from the Rouledge series History of feminism. Harvard holds many, but not all, books of this series in print.

Nineteenth-century short title catalogue : NSTC Online: A union catalog of all books in English in: British Library, Bodleian Library, Cambridge University Library, National Library of Scotland, Trinity College (Dublin), Newcastle University Library, Harvard University Library, and the Library of Congress. Indexed by author, title, subject, series, publisher, place of publication, country, date, language, location, classification and reference number.

Women organizing transnationally : the Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969 The records of this anti-communist organization include official correspondence and records, oral history transcripts, 1988-89, with related biographical material; and card files on individual participants, filed by country. The country files also contain published materials pertaining to the status and problems of the world's women. 

United States

Fortune Magazine (1930-2002) includes front and back covers as well as advertisements and all articles

The SHAFR Guide: An Annotated Bibliography of U.S. Foreign Relations since 1600.

The papers of Dwight David Eisenhower

Europe

Anarchist periodicals (Russian anarchist periodicals of the early 20th century)

Regesta Imperii offers a chronological index of source documents, with brief summaries and genealogical charts. Also includes online historical monographs and an exhaustive bibliography of journals and periodical articles on European medieval history.  In German, French, Latin. Digital ed. of the revision (issued in printed form, 1877-, by the Kommission für die Neubearbeitung der Regesta Imperii of the Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften, and other bodies) of J.F. Böhmer's Regesta Imperii, the first part of which he originally published in 1829. 

Women, war and society, 1914-1918 documents women’s contribution to the war. Includes charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations. Reproduction of originals from the Imperial War Museum, London.

Africa

African blue books of statistics, 1821-1953

Asia

Party and Government Documents in English (PGDiE) includes official documents in English, covering various levels of Chinese government, Communist Party of China (CPC) and National People's Congress (NPC), 1921 onwards.

Non-Harvard E-Resources

Bibliothèque Diplomatiques Numérique offers documents, images, and maps produced since the Middle Ages.

Latin American Journals Project (Cornell University Library) provides access to 19th and early 20th century Latin American journals and newspapers.

See also Centro de Documentación e Investigación de la Cultura de Izquierdas (CeDInCI) Digital Portal for Latin American Publications of the 20th Century.

More information in Latin American Cultural & Political Journals: a Digital Selection

Anti-Slavery Manuscripts The Boston Public Library (BPL) (1830s-1870s)  includes thousands of letters, pamphlets, newspapers, and other materials.  BPL has enlisted citizen historians to transcribe these documents on the Zooniverse platform.

Finding Foreign Government Documents on Lamont Level D

Lamont Level D which contains the ​government documents and microfilm is now closed.  Anyone wanting material must fill out a paper form at the Lamont Circulation Desk.  Material will be delivered within 2 hours.  Faculty and their RAs can be admitted to Level D by a librarian and left to browse on their own.  Anyone else who needs physical access can be there in the presence of a librarian by appointment.  In any case the request form needs to be filled out for anything leaving Level D.  More information.

How to browse the Government Documents collection for a specific country

Do an Author search (adjust from any field to author) on your country in HOLLIS Advanced Search and then refining to Location: Documents (Lamont) should put you in the proper call number range.  Most foreign government documents are in a series of Widener call numbers (this material was transferred from Widener).  Some recent documents have Library of Congress numbers (Doc-LC) and a few have been sent to storage without call numbers.

You can browse the foreign government document Widener call numbers. Example for Russia-

In HOLLIS, use the “Starts with/Browse…” link on the basic search screen and browse Other Call Number: Slav Doc 7.10.

The call numbers will sort strangely. After July 1, there will be a Widener Call Number browse, and the numbers should sort better.

Each country has its sequence of numbers. Russia is Slav Doc 7.10-Slav Doc 2500.85.  

You can do a search for everything in a Widener root call number, and then limit by language, format, date.  Go to Advanced Search, then Code: Local call number. For example Afrdoc*.  You must eliminate spaces and add the *.

Example: Material in Swahili in the African government documents collection in Lamont

Country names can be searched in HOLLIS and WorldCat as Author keyword, but this usually retrieves too many publications of NGOs, learned societies and other entities.  You can do a keyword search on country plus government department name, by searching likely department name terms and finding the proper name.

Or you can browse the country name as Author in Starts with/Browse...  A general and mixed group under just the country name will appear first, then the government departments. 

To find foreign government documents beyond Harvard Library:

LLMC Digital
Go to Online Services, then Browse Collections.  A rich source of legislative and judicial documents

WorldCat does not offer an Author browse.  The Library of Congress catalog can be browsed (AUTHORs/CREATORS beginning with)  to find material not held by Harvard.  The Department names can then be searched in WorldCat to obtain the OCLC number for an Interlibrary Loan request.

A British Library research guide offers useful overviews of the government publications of many countries. 

Other guides are available on national library websites. Also try an Advanced Google search:

all these words: ‘your country’ Library
this exact word or phrase: Government documents
any of these words: Guide research resources

In another search replace Government documents with Government publications

Books describing government documents can be useful. In HOLLIS/WorldCat Advanced Search, search as Subject:
"Government publications"  "Africa, French-speaking Equatorial"  Bibliography.

Highlighted E-Resource: Women and Social Movements, Modern Empires Since 1840

Women and Social Movements, Modern Empires Since 1820 focuses on womens' voices of the colonized.

  • Asian Empires, 1842-2001:
    • Anti-Imperialist Activism of Indonesian Women, 1951-1965
    • The Japanese Empire in East Asia, 1842-2001
    • Western Women in China, 1928-1980
    • Women's Activism during the Rise of the Soviet Empire in Uzbekistan, 1920-1929
    • Women's Movements in Postcolonial and Colonial India, 1914-2012
  • French Empire in North Africa, 1935-2005
  • French Feminists and Empire, 1880-1900
  • Habsburg Empire, 1820-1918
  • Italians Consider the International Problem of Trafficking in Women, 1928-1936
  • Native Women in North America, 1915-2010:
    • Women's Leadership in Pow Wow Ritual, 2008-2014,
    • Salish, Blackfeet and Urban Idaho Falls Native Women in North America, 1915-2010: Finding Mourning Dove's Authentic Voice, Colville Federated Tribes, 1915-1935
    • Selma Sully Walker and Native Women's Leadership in Ohio, 1975-2011
    • Women's Leadership in the Choctaw of Oklahoma, 1917-1963
    • Women's Leadership in the Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina, 1954-1986
    • Women's Leadership in the Lummi Nation, 1880-1942
    • Women's Leadership in the Quapaw Tribe of Oklahoma
    • Women's Leadership through the Women's Basket Cooperative in Pokagon Band of Potawatomi, 1983-2000
    • Women’s Leadership in Wendat/Wyandot/Wyandotte Tribes in Canada, 1985-1992
  • Ottoman and Post-Ottoman Empires in the Balkans, 1820-1990: Albania, Bulgaria, Greece, Romania
  • Ottoman and Post-Ottoman Empires in the Eastern Mediterranean, 1860-2015
  • Settler Society in North America:
    • A Missionary among the Cherokee before Removal, 1805-1835
    • Emma Willard's 1828 Maps of North America
    • Women's National Indian Association, 1880-1940
  • South Africa, 1899-1994:
    • African American and Black African Women Build Civil Society in South Africa, 1920-1960
    • Dutch and British Women in Warring Empires in South Africa, 1899-1903
    • Indigenous Women and Anti-Imperialist Activism in South Africa, 1929-1960
    • Women in the Anti-Apartheid Movement in South Africa, 1960-1987
  • United States Empire, 1820-2004:
    • American Women Missionaries in India, 1910-1953
    • Anti-Imperialist Writings of Cuban Feminists, 1896-1985
    • Filipino Women and American Empire, 1904-2004
    • Korean Women in Hawai'i, 1916-1961
    • Medical Missionaries in China Interact with Chinese Women Physicians, 1894-1991
    • Native Women Oppose Colonialism in Guatemala, 1960-2016
    • U.S. Women Aid Workers in Indochina, 1955 to 1970
    • United States Women Shape Political Culture in the Panama Canal Zone, 1907-1975
  • Women Unionists in Northern Ireland, 1892-1960 Women’s Global Networks in Colonial and Post-Colonial Worlds, 1883-2007