Joshua Lupkin, formerly of the Tulane University Library, has joined the Harvard Library as Charles Warren Librarian for American History. He will take over from Greg Eow in purchasing materials supporting American history.
Harvard participates in Borrow Direct Plus. When visiting a Borrow Direct library, you may check out materials. Stanford recently joined.
Citation management workshops (Zotero, RefWorks, EndNote) for the Fall have not yet be scheduled. They will be added to Research Management and Citation Tools at Harvard as information becomes available.
The Bureau of Study Counsel offers academic study counseling and workshops to both undergraduates and graduate students. They offer workshops on senior thesis and dissertation writing, procrastination and other topics.
The statistical work of the national government, by Laurence F. Schmeckebier (1925), a very valuable index to statistical information in US Government publications, is now available in HathiTrust.
Finding books in HOLLIS+. Although searching in HOLLIS+ HOLLIS will simplify a search by excluding online articles and much other material, it will also exclude many online books. It is safer to search in HOLLIS+ Everything and using Refine My Results: Resource Type: Books to limit to books.
Retrieved records that bear a FindIt@Harvard rather than a Locations & Availability or a View Online tab are most often of three types:
- Books for which there is another HOLLIS+ record bearing the location. Hit Try this first: Check Locations & Availability for our copy in HOLLIS+ in the screen brought up by FindIt@Harvard.
- Books not owned by Harvard. These are often very new and not yet acquired. You can search them in WorldCat to get more information, then BorrowDirect or Interlibrary Loan.
- Chapters in books which may or may not be held by Harvard. Note the Is Part of: field in HOLLIS+ record. Search for the book title in HOLLIS+.
You may search HOLLIS+ without keywords, using only limits. Thus, you could search for all German-language archives/manuscripts dated 1701-1750.
In HOLLIS+ Advanced Search, put "hvd aleph" (present in all HOLLIS records) in a Keyword Anywhere field, then apply your limits. Refine further in the left-hand Refine My Results column.
New News Sources
Associated Press bureaus collections offer archival files and internal communications from Associated Press bureaus.
- Associated Press 4: Middle Eastern Bureaus Collection, 1967-2008
- Associated Press 5: European Bureaus Collection, 1937-2003
- Associated Press 6: Washington D.C. Bureaus Collection, 1915-1930
Eureka.cc offers over 5,000 newspapers, trade publications, corporate histories and profiles, news wires, radio and television transcripts, selected blogs, indexed websites and reports covering current events. Worldwide coverage. Strong on Canadian, European, especially French, and Latin American coverage. Includes Le Monde diplomatique (1980- ); other titles more recent. Source list.
Go to Advanced Search and choose “group of resources”, You can limit a search to particular languages or regions.
Japan Chronicle The English-language weekly (1902 – 1940) Kobe, Japan.
Japan Times Archives (1897- ) is the longest running English paper in Japan.
More post-1923 newspapers are being added to America’s Historical Newspapers These are
- Augusta Chronicle (Augusta, Georgia; 1923-1993)
- Dallas Morning News (Dallas, Texas; 1923-1984)
- Oregonian (Portland, Oregon; 1923-1987)
- Plain Dealer (Cleveland, Ohio; 1923-1991)
- Press-Register (Mobile, Alabama; 1970-1992)
- Seattle Times (Seattle, Washington; 1923-1984)
- Springfield Republican (Springfield, Massachusetts; 1923-1946)
- Springfield Union (Springfield, Massachusetts; 1947-1987)
- Times-Picayune (New Orleans, Louisiana; 1923-1988)
- Trenton Evening Times (Trenton, New Jersey; 1923-1993)
Antique Map Price Record (2000- ) records sales and price information for antique maps, atlases and globes compiled from dealer catalogs and auctions.
Christian Muslim Relations Online, 1500-1900 is a general history of relations between the two faiths as this is represented in works written by Christians and Muslims about the other and against the other. It covers all parts of the world in the period 1500-1914. Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History Online comprises thousands of comprehensive entries on individual works and their authors, together with introductory essays to the periods and areas covered, making it the fullest available source in this field.
Digital Transgender Archive is an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings worldwide.
Food Studies Online (1700- ) includes monographs, documentary and other films, cookbooks, marketing material, posters and other ephemera. Includes material on Federal food programs.
Index to Hebrew Periodicals (1977- ) More Information.
Publishers Weekly Digital Archive (1872-2013) offers a rich source of book and publishing news and book reviews.
University Press Scholarship Online offers full text searchable university press books. Books are findable in HOLLIS+ Everything.
TRISOnline (Transportation Research Information Services Online) (1960s- , with some earlier coverage) contains records of technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Many have links to electronic copies of the full-text.
OpenEdition is a French language humanities/social sciences portal offering: OpenEdition Books, Revues.org (scholarly journals), Calenda, (academic announcements), and Hypotheses (research blogs). Included e-books are not currently represented in HOLLIS.
Victorian Popular Culture: Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema offers sources for Victorian and Edwardian optics, magic lantern shows, panoramas, dioramas, early photography, and early motion pictures. Includes objects, ephemera, books and journals. Material is from the collections of the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum, University of Exeter.
Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography. NY : Oxford University Press, 2016, 6 v.
Online Version -
Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Sources is a link collection of open access resources.
Early Arabic Printed Books From the British Library: Religion & Law
Background and Orientation of Periodicals
It is often useful to have information on the circulation figures and on the political or other orientation of a magazine or newspaper in which you find an article of interest. The following works contain such information.
For newspapers the best source is
N.W. Ayer & Son's directory of newspapers and periodicals [title varies], 1880-1982.
LOCATION: Widener: AL 6.3 (1880-1881, 1903, 1905, 1907, 1910, 1912, 1914, 1917, 1919-1923, 1926-1929, 1931-1932, 1934-1935, 1938-1969, 1970-1982))
Includes circulation statistics. In a section (usually called Lists, Classifications or Subject Indexes) after the main geographical sequence are lists of agricultural, college, foreign language, Black (early called colored, then Negro), religious, fraternal (early called secret societies), trade and technical (including scientific and medical), and labor publications which carry advertising. The foregoing categories may have their own headings or may be included, with many others, within the Trade, Technical and Class section.
Gale directory of publications [title varies], 1983- .
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository WID-LC PN4855.Z99 I47x
HOLLIS record for 1983-85, 1987-89
HOLLIS record for 1990-
For magazines there are several sources
The political orientation of several news and opinion magazines is given in the News and Opinion section of the biennial Magazines for Libraries (1969- ).
This book has essays on many magazines originating during the date spans indicated:
A history of American magazines, by Frank Luther Mott. Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1938-1968, 5 v.
--V. 1. 1741-1850 -- v. 2. 1850-1865 -- v. 3. 1865-1885 -- v. 4. 1885-1905 -- v. 5. Sketches of 21 magazines, 1905-1930, with a cumulative index to the five volumes.
There are several books available that give information on various types of magazines.
For circulation figures consult the N.W. Ayer & Son's directory, above.
Consumer magazines of the British Isles, ed. by Sam G. Riley. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993, 300 p
La presse périodique en France, by Michel Jamet. Paris : A. Colin, 1983. 207 p.
Mapping American Social Movements offers visualizations geographical aspects of 20th century American social movements. Includes radical movements, labor movements, women's movements, civil rights movements, environmentalist movements, etc.
The Casebooks Project offers the medical records of the 16th/17th century astrologers Simon Forman and Richard Napier.
Harvard Library Collections
Former Pentecostal televangelist Carlton Pearson has donated his personal archives to the Andover-Harvard Theological Library, including thousands of hours of unedited and produced broadcast footage starting in 1977. More information.
The Harvard Library has been collecting election ephemera. In HOLLIS+ search Elections, with your country of interest, and limit to Material Type: Archives / Manuscripts.
Nineteenth Century Collection Online contains a large collection on colonialism in Africa: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
Pinkerton's National Detective Agency. 64 microfilm reels
Online Guide (Search in box for Pinkerton's National Detective Agency)
British intelligence and policy on Persia (Iran), c. 1900-1949: India Office political and secret files and confidential print. 515 microfiches.