Announcements

In late January we launched the Widener Tumblr, Sprinkler Valve Through Door. Tumblr is a social media platform that allows for sharing text, images, and videos. This new tool enables us to showcase interesting and possibly overlooked items in our collections. Examples include: a French chemistry manuscript from the early 1800s, a newspaper from 1760 reporting the surrender of Montreal during the French and Indian War, and a book signed by Susan B. Anthony. The Houghton Library also has a very successful Tumblr, which showcases their own unique items.

The authentication problem with HathiTrust has been solved and now full text of whole books, rather than just individual pages, can now be downloaded with ID/PIN.  More on HathiTrust

Most printed maps in the Harvard Map Collection are not included in the HOLLIS catalog and have been accessible only through a card catalog in the Map Collection.  This card catalog has now been scanned and is available online.  This is a full text search of the cards; there are no search limits or other features as are available in HOLLIS.   You can also browse the cards.  The maps represented are from both the antiquarian (pre-1900) and modern collection.

The version of WorldCat available via the home page of the Harvard Library portal is the public version that lacks many features of the licensed version.  To get to the more complete version, choose All E-Resources, then What am I searching?: E-Resources. This gives you the Quick links list with WorldCat.

Special Collections in Widener

Widener has many collections of non-circulating material, sometimes represented by one HOLLIS record, sometimes by several.  This material is kept in the Harvard Depository, and is used in the Phillips Reading Room.  These collections will be highlighted in this and future issues of the newsletter.

Latino Comics Collection (1993-2012). 
Description :  approximately 100 items ; 
Summary :  A selection of some of the country’s best comics illustrated, written, inked and published by Latinos in the US.  Also includes two DVDs, several posters and other ephemera. Some of the artists represented in the collection include: Jaime Crespo, José Cabrera, Rafael Navarro, Brian Anderson, Javier Hernández and many others.
HOLLIS Record

History of Science, Medicine, Technology

CAB Abstracts Archive (1910- ) indexes research and development literature in agriculture, forestry, public health, human and animal nutrition, animal health, natural resource management and conservation. Scope is global with emphasis on Africa and Latin America.

Dioptrice: pre-1775 refracting telescopes contains information on surviving telescopes as well as depictions in early books, manuscripts, and art works.

Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing Archive [PEP]

Non-Harvard Library E-Resources

The Janet A. Ginsburg Chicago Tribune Collection (1880s-1940s) offers over 12,000 images.  The Tribune was known for its innovations in presenting visual material.

American Popular Entertainment collection (1853-1929) (Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections) contains newspapers and trade journals published for the entertainment industry. Titles Currently Available:

New York Clipper 7 May 1853 - 12 July 1924 (3605 issues)
Player 8 December 1911 - 21 November 1913 (102 issues)
Vaudeville News 16 April 1920 - 8 June 1929 (286 issues)

Annotated Newspapers of Harbottle Dorr, Jr.  Newspaper collection of Boston merchant Harbottle Dorr, Jr. (1730-1794).  Collction was begun in 1765 with the papers annotated and indexed by Dorr.  Includes the Boston Evening-Post, the Boston-Gazette, and the Boston Weekly News-Letter.

The AHA's online Directory of History Dissertations (1873- ) has been expanded to over 49,000 US and Canadian doctorates.  There are also about 4,000 in progress dissertations included. 

French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) 

A History of Social Welfare Digital Collection (Cornell University Library) includes manuscripts, early journals, narratives, reports, letters, photographs, prints, etc., documenting the history of social welfare in the US.  Emphasizes social welfare services in New York and social welfare provisions by and for African Americans.

Historic Newspapers project (Europeana Newspapers) includes, among other collections, over one million public domain newspaper articles from the Spanish aggregator Hispana.  Largely local newspapers from late 18th century on.  More information.

New News Sources

America's Historical Newspapers, Series 10, 1730-1900 adds over 440 titles.  Includes over 60 18th-century newspapers, over 160 published before 1825, and over 200 published between 1825 and 1900, including the first papers published in the newly formed states of Arizona, Montana, Nebraska, and North Dakota.

ANNO AustriaN Newspapers Online (1568-1943) has been available for a while but is new to Harvard Library E-Resources.

Now available:
Associated Press Online Archive,

Part 1:  News Features & Internal Communications, 1848-2000. Description.
Part 2: Washington, D.C. Bureau Collection (1938-2009). Description.
Part 3: U.S. Cities Bureaus Collection (mainly post WWII). Description.

Proquest Historical Newspapers:  Globe and Mail (Toronto) (1844-2011)

Proquest Historical Newspapers:  Hartford Courant (1764-1988)

Proquest Historical Newspapers:  Toronto Star (1894-2012)

Selected New Harvard Library E-Resources

General

Gallup Analytics includes poll data:
--U.S. daily since 2008
--World Poll Data collected annually since 2005 in 160+ countries
--Gallup Brain - historical Gallup trends on thousands of topics, US and worldwide dating back to the 1930s.

Additions to:
Slavery and Antislavery: A Transnational Archive:

Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World charts the inception of slavery in Africa and its rise throughout the Atlantic world, with particular focus on the UK, France, and the US. Includes monographs, individual papers, company records, newspapers, and government documents.

Part III: Institution of Slavery (1492-1888) includes legal documents, plantation records, first-person accounts, newspapers, government records and other sources. Includes material on slavery as a legal and labor system; the relationship between slavery and religion; freed slaves; the Shong Massacre; the Dememara insurrection; and many others.

Part IV: Age of Emancipation includes documents related to emancipation in the US, Latin America, the Caribbean, and other parts of the world.

United States

Coming soon:
American Consumer Culture, 1935-1965 - Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965. Description.

American Indian Histories and Cultures: Sources From The Edward E. Ayer Collection At The Newberry Library, Chicago. Description.

China, America and the Pacific: Trade and Cultural Exchange. Description.

Dictionary of Regional American English (DARE)

Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926) searchable full text of European writings on America. Description. On Joseph Sabin.

Vox Gov (a few 1950s, but most 1980s- ) offers original source news, media and information direct from all branches of the U.S. Federal Government. Visits nearly 9,500 U.S. Government web locations multiple times daily with new sites being continually added. In addition to an archive of over 9 million U.S. data files, Voxgov adds an average of more than 13,000 files daily drawn from U.S. Government newsrooms (including: press releases, speeches, transcripts, stories, columns, etc.), Congressional Record, Federal Register and social media outlets (Twitter, Facebook, YouTube).

Europe (general and continental)

British Literary Manuscripts Online II offers manuscripts dating from roughly 1120 to 1660 – preceding and broadening the scope of the first series.  Includes letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings, and other materials.

L'Harmatheque offers ebooks, articles, videos, and audio recordings in the humanities and social sciences from a variety of French publishing imprints.  Contains over 26,000 ebooks, 17,000 articles, 400 films, and 600 audio files. At least 2,300 new titles are added to the collection annually.

Slavic Humanities Index indexes over 180 periodicals in 21 languages. Covers Slavic countries except Russia ; most Periodicals indexed 1994- (sometimes 1980s-).

Continuation of
State Papers Online: Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782. Part 1 includes State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Reigsters of the Privy Council, plus Military, Naval, Plantation Registers, Sheriffs Lists and State Papers Scotland and Ireland.

Africa

CODESRIA Publications Program (Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa) disseminates research from CODESRIA’s network of research institutions, seminars, and conferences throughout Africa and the diaspora. Books and journals in English, French, Arabic and Portuguese.

CSSR Working Papers (Centre for Social Science Research, University of Cape Town)  often include historical background

Digital Innovation South Africa includes biographies, interviews, reports, conference papers, full-text theses "focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994."

Giza Archives offers resources on the archeology of the Giza pyrimids region.

Asia

Bichitra Tagore Online Variorum includes all of Rabindranath Tagore's literary works in Bengali and English, but excludes most letters, speeches, textbooks and translations (except Tagore's translations from his own Bengali).

China, America and the Pacific: Trade and Cultural Exchange. Description.

Online Annotation Tool

Annotation Studio is an open source, web-based collaborative annotation tool under development at MIT and already in use by several courses at MIT and other universities. It allows you to upload texts in the form of plain text or Word documents and annotate the texts for use in discussion or work with others.

Once the text is “published,” it can be highlighted and annotated with a WYSIWYG editor and tags. Images, videos, and links to web sources can be used in annotations. You can share annotations with groups, and you can filter amongst the various types of annotations viewable on the document (your own, ones from other class members, or ones from other members of a subgroup within the class). As with Google Drive, there are two sections: “assigned” - what people have shared with you, and “created” - what you have uploaded yourself. In the future, the developers hope to expand to image and video annotation. More information on the technology used in developing the tool.

Instructors using Annotation Studio commented that the tool helped students retain a better memory of the text, increased student participation, improved student note-taking skills, and made literary analysis easier for the students. It also helped the instructors understand what level of understanding of the text students had, and it was an easy way for students to go back and review their notes once paper-writing time came.

Thanks to Anna Esty for this section, to whom questions may be addressed (aesty@fas.harvard.edu).

Women's Magazines

Online

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900. Open Publications, then Look up Publication Subjects, then Women

Everyday Life and Women in America, c.1800-1920

Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 has numerous periodicals. See Browse Periodicals on home screen.  More info.rmation.

Godey’s Lady’s Book (1830-1880)

HEARTH: Home Economics Archive

Spanish Periodicals and Newspapers: Women's Magazines Digital Collection

 

19th Century UK Periodicals Online, 1800-1900  List of periodicals: Adjust “by subject category” to women. Research guide.

Vogue Archive

Working Mother (1979-2008) in Google Magazines 

Microfilm

Social and political status of women. Series one, Rare political, reforming, and professional journals for and by women. microform.

Social and political status of women in Britain. Series Two, Popular women's magazines microform.

Women advising women (microfilm from the Bodleian Library)
Online guide

Women's journals of the nineteenth century 
Online guide.

Women's periodicals: 18th century to the great Depression.
Online guide linked from HOLLIS record.

Nineteenth-century women's journals from Brazil

European women's periodicals

Online Guides:
Unit 1: Austrian and Belgian Women’s Periodicals
Unit 2: French Women’s Periodicals
Unit 3: German Women’s Periodicals
Unit 4: Dutch Women’s Periodicals

Herstory Microfilm Collection. (Women's History Library, Berkeley, Calif. International Women's History Periodical Archive). 90 reels.
Online guide
Printed guide 

Paper and Indexes to Paper

Schlesinger Guide on Women’s Magazines

Women's newsletter and periodical collection, 1923-2011 (inclusive), 1970-1995 (bulk) (Schlesinger)

The following magazines are indexed in Readers' Guide Retrospective 

Glamour (1978-1982) - Good Housekeeping (1909-1982) - Ladies' Home Journal (1900-1982) - Mademoiselle (1953-1982) - McCall's (1952-1982) - National Business Woman (1956-1961) - Parents Magazine [title varies] (1929-1978) - Redbook (1961-1982) - Vogue (1953-1982) - Woman Citizen (1924-1927) - Woman's Journal (1928-1931) - Womans Home Companion (1904-1957)

Access (1975-1999) indexes periodicals not included in the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, including the Harvard Magazine (1981- ). Book reviews are included.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.14
Indexes: American Girl - Cosmopolitan - Family Circle - Modern Bride - Viva - Woman’s Day - WomenSports

Feminism and the periodical press, 1900-1918, ed. by Lucy Delap, Maria DiCenzo and Leila Ryan. London ; NY: Routledge, 2006.  3 v.
--Offers periodical articles related to feminism from British women’s magazines grouped under broad subject headings, e.g., Motherhood and the Family, Women’s Health and Bodies, Redinging Public and Domestic Space.

Several reference books on women’s periodicals are available.

Women’s Studies: Guide to Microform Research Collections in the University of Chicago Library

I thank Susan Gilman for help with this section.