Newsletter August 2017
- News from the Center for the History of Medicine, Countway
- New Heinonline Collections
- Finding Digitized Primary Sources II
- Finding Images in WorldCat
- Research Guide
- Non-Harvard E-Resources
- New E-Resources
- Harvard Collections
We issue this newsletter thrice yearly: early January, late May, mid August.
Library Exhibitions & Events with link to Library Calendar
VIA, Harvard's images-only catalog, is being replaced with HOLLIS Images. As before, the visual catalog's contents are included in HOLLIS+ results. If you have VIA bookmarked or linked, you may wish to update it, but there is no need to add it if HOLLIS+ is working for you. In HOLLIS+, under the HOLLIS tab, search your keyword, and choose Image under Resource type in Refine my Results. Or choose Resource Type Images in Advanced Search. Your results will include the HOLLIS Images records (marked Details & Gallery (View Online)) plus some other images and image collections.
The loan period for Borrow Direct material is now a full 16 week semester.
The Fall schedule for Zotero and other citation management program classes is posted on Research Management and Citation Tools at Harvard.
Harvard is implementing a new Library Management System (software which contains acquisitions, cataloging, circulation, serials and the public catalog) to keep up with current technologies. Unfortunately, HOLLIS Classic is not compatible with the new system, so it will be discontinued sometime after this academic year. Library staff is working to ensure that all functionality in both HOLLIS+ and HOLLIS Classic will be available in the new system.
News from the Center for the History of Medicine, Countway
Harvard Medical School in the First World War
History of Legal Medicine at Harvard
Manuscript and archival collections recently opened for research:
- Francine M. Benes papers
- Marie C. McCormick papers
- Harvard Prevention Research records and Steven L. Gortmaker papers
- Harvard School of Public Health Longitudinal Studies of Child Health and Development records
Upcoming events on the History of Medicine
Thanks to Jack Eckert for this information.
New Heinonline Collections
Several new Heinonline databases are available but not as yet listed in E-Resources. Listed under Browse Databases by Category.
Animal Studies follows the evolution of animal law. It includes philosophical books dating back to the 1800’s, videos, periodicals, brochures, and more. Includes titles from the Animal Legal Defense Fund and Animal Welfare Institute.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies contains bibliographic citations of over 6,000 reports and other documents from Andrew Jackson to Barack Obama together with over 1,200 full text reports.
Pentagon Papers Online offers full text of Vietnam Relations, 1945-1967: A Study Prepared by the Department of Defense.
History of Capital Punishment includes both database and PDF versions of the Eugene G. Wanger and Marilyn M. Wanger Death Penalty Collection: A Descriptive Bibliography. Also included are hundreds of additional related publications, such as hearings, trials, periodicals, and more.
Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection of books, biographies and periodicals on the role of women in society and the law. Also included are over 70 titles from Emory University Law School's Feminism and Legal Theory Project.
Finding Digital Collections II
When your question has a US geographical focus, these websites list hundreds of local, state, and regional resources. Some of the databases listed search the full text of included sources.
- State Digital Resources: Memory Projects, Online Encyclopedias, Historical & Cultural Materials Collections
- Digital Libraries by State or Region
- 250+ Killer Digital Libraries and Archives
- 71 Digital Portals to State History
For European digital collections see the newly revised Digital Libraries and Collections page of this guide.
Several general and US sources for digital collections are described in the June History newsletter.
Finding Images in WorldCat
WorldCat is a rich source of images, including digitized images and images clipped from periodicals (with usable citations), as well as collections and individual images available on onsite. Limiting your WorldCat search to Documents Type: Visual in Advanced Search results in a variety of search results including films, DVDs, etc. A search for particular types of visual materials can be done using Material Types. In Advanced Search, first select Limit type to: Visual, then adjust a search box to Material Type or Material Type Phrase (for multiple word Material types). Choose the appropriate Material types from this list (Scroll down to Visual Material).
The Colonial Society of Massachusetts, which publishes documents related to the early history of Massachusetts, now offers free access to its 87 volumes of publications.
The United Nations has a new digital library. "the Digital Library includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979."
UK Medical Heritage Library offers full text of many 19th century medical publicationsl.
CENDARI Transnational Archive Directory is a large database of archival descriptions from over 1,000 institutions, European and worldwide. It is focused on medieval and World War I resources.
Film Platform offers numerous documentary films on a wide variety of subjects. There are collections on several topics. Searches can be filtered by topic, country of production, and language.
Classic Sermon Index catalogs over 40,000 English language sermons.
Frontier Life: Borderlands and Colonial Encounters includes archival documents, maps, and photographs from several archives pertaining to the lives and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. Geographic scope includes North America as well as Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
Lexikon des gesamten Buchwesens Online covers a broad range of topics related to the history of the book. Includes persons, institutions, topics pertaining to production, distribution and reception of the book. This online edition contains about 21,000 entries. Based on the second edition of the LGB.
Oxford bibliographies. Art History, like the other Oxford Bibliographies offers annotated bibliographies of secondary sources.
Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Nationalism
American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 contains over 3,500 works -- books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera -- pertaining to transatlantic slavery, movements for its abolition, and memories of slavery published after the Civil War. Materials are drawn from American Antiquarian Society, and derive from different regions of the United States as well as some imprints from the Caribbean region and Europe.
Encyclopaedia of the Middle Ages Online
Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959- (Part 1)
Brockelmann in English: The History of the Arabic Written Tradition Online
LLMC Digital has digitized additional legal sources from Africa (1698- ) which are available in LLMC Digital Open Search Collections and browse by country. More information.
LGBT Danmark collection of newspaper and magazine clippings on LGBT topics. Film : film reviews and publicity. [between 1968 and 2002?] 26 binders : illustrations, some color
Charlie Archive Collection at the Harvard Library. 1 linear foot (1 box)
Digital images, digital videos, archived websites (210 GB)
Arranged into the following series: I. Ephemera; II. Publications; III. Digital images; IV. Digital Videos; V. Archived Web Sites; VI. Audiovisual materials
Charlie Hebdo is a weekly French satirical magazine that features cartoons, reports, controversial debates, and jokes that are strongly non-conformist. It was originally a companion publication to Hara-Kiri in the 1970s and then ceased publication in 1981. Charlie Hebdo was resurrected in 1992 and is currently in publication.