Harvard Undergraduate Research Fellowship at Houghton Library – Summer 2015
Please mention to any undergraduates you work with: The Fellowship supports concentrated work with collection materials at Houghton. Fellows will have the opportunity to be in residence at Houghton Library working in the Reading Room with guidance from staff throughout the summer. A public program will showcase fellowship projects in the fall. There is a $3,500 stipend, and the application deadline is March 27th, 2015. More information about the fellowship.
New Borrow Direct Partners On-site Access
If you are planning a trip and need to do some research while away, take note! Beginning October 1, 2014, Harvard students, faculty, and staff are allowed on-site borrowing privileges to the libraries of our Borrow Direct partners, plus a few other places. This includes the following institutions:
- Brown University
- Columbia University
- Cornell University
- Dartmouth College
- Duke University
- John Hopkins University
- Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- Princeton University
- University of Chicago
- University of Pennsylvania
- Yale University
You will first need to register with the library of the institution you are visiting in order to verify your privileges.
Expanded Harvard Direct Lending Libraries
Remember you can use our “Harvard Direct” intra-campus delivery service to request (most) books from other Harvard libraries. The libraries which you can request books from are:
- Andover-Harvard Theological Library
- Countway Library of Medicine
- Ernst Mayr Library (Museum of Comparative Zoology)
- Fine Arts Library
- Harvard Kennedy School Library
- Harvard Law School Library
- Loeb Design Library
- Widener Library
Citation Management Tools Classes
Comparison Overview Classes
Wednesday, February 11th, 3-4 PM, CGIS Knafel Rm. 262
Thursday, February 12th, 3-4 PM, Lamont Library B30
In-Depth Classes on Individual Tools
Zotero: Tuesday, February 17th, 3-4 PM, Lamont Library B30
RefWorks: Wednesday, February 18th, 3-4 PM, Lamont Library B30
EndNote: Monday, February 23rd, 3-4:30 PM, Lamont Library B30
Registration: email Anna Esty (email@example.com)
I thank Emily Bell, Anna Esty and Susan Gilman for help with this newsletter.
CIDOC collection: the history of religiosity in Latin America, ca. 1830-1970. 4,119 titles on 46,870 microfiches + 12 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 6016
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1071
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Microfiche W 6016 (3 vols.)
HOLLIS Record with contents description
Women’s lives. Series 1, The papers of Elizabeth Gurley Flynn: from the holdings of Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives at New York University. 33 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) Film A 1320.1
Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film A 1320.1 = guide
Description in HOLLIS Record
--Elizabeth Gurley Flynn (1890-1964) was an agitator and organizer for the Industrial Workers of the World and a Communist party activist
Women’s lives. Series 2, Papers of Mary E. Gawthorpe, 1881-1973: filmed from the holdings of the Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives at New York University. 17 microfilm reels
Microforms (Lamont) Film A 1320.2
Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film A 1320.2 = guide
Description in HOLLIS Record
--Mary E. Gawthorpe was a British suffragist who was an organizer for the Women’s Social and Political Union (WSPU) from 1906 to 1912. Immigrated to the US in 1916. Includes cartoons, drawings, and other ephemera.
Women's lives. Series 3, American women missionaries and pioneers collection: filmed from the holdings of the manuscript collections documenting women in society, Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries. 93 microfilm reels
Andover-Harv. Theol | Mflm. | 3033 Index To find titles within this collection, do a series search for the title: Women's lives. Series 3, American women missionaries and pioneers collection
Description in HOLLIS Record
--Material on missionaries in Asia, South America, and the U.S., 1840-1980, and pioneers in Oregon, 1845-1920.
New Archival Collections
Hidden Collections Registry reports newly processed archival and special collections.
The British National Archives receives reports of new accessions to archives al over ttyhe UK and sorts them by subject.
New, newly available or underused archival material of interest to historians of medicine are listed monthly in REMEDIA
January, 2011 - June, 2012 - August, 2012 - December, 2012 - June, 2013 - 2013 - January 2014 - June 2014 - August 2014
Caution Using BorrowDirect
Searching a long title with subtitle and author, say, Philology forgotten origins of the modern humanities James Turner will yield fewer locations than searching just Philology James Turner.
In this case my search of the entire subtitle indicated that this book was nowhere available. Searching just Philology James Turner showed that it was available at one library.
This complication is due to the BorrowDirect crawler searching several differently structured catalogs.
Search for images
HOLLIS+ now includes images from VIA (Visual Information Access), the online catalog of visual materials from Harvard's Special Collections and Archives. Search VIA content from the HOLLIS or HOLLIS & Articles tabs. The HOLLIS & Articles tab provides access to images from databases such as Artstor in addition to content from VIA. Images display alongside other content in the results list. Narrow your search by clicking the Image option under “Resource Type” on the left-hand side. You can also search by VIA record ID straight from the main search box (e.g. olvwork20009211 or HUAM256843).
ANDs, ORs and NOTs in Boolean searches need to be in capital letters.
All HOLLIS+ records should contain a permalink on the Details tab, under “Link to this record.”
Search by location
You can now limit your search to a certain location (e.g., Widener, Tozzer, Charles Warren Center Library, etc.) using the Advanced Search screen.
New Harvard Library E-Resources
Historical Garden Design Online (16th-19th centuries) is a collection of 178 titles covering the theory and practice of gardening, horticulture and garden design.
American Consumer Culture, Market Research and American Business 1935-1965 offers the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, consumer analyst and market research pioneer.
ProQuest Executive Branch Documents 1789-1932 includes all of the 200,000+ executive branch titles listed in the Checklist of United States public documents 1789-1909 (1911) that were not included in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, as well as an additional 200,000 titles from 1910-1932. The Checklist is the only systematic effort to provide a complete listing of all documents published by the U.S. Government through 1909. The entire collection consists of approximately 11M pages
Women's Wear Daily Archive (1939- ). Full text searchable. Not listed among the E-Rresources. Go to a ProQuest database and open Searching:1 database, Scroll down to Women's Wear Daily Archive.
Europe (general and continental)
Swiss Law Bibliography (1990- ) indexes books, book chapters, and journal articles discussing Swiss law.
Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902 – 1940) was an English-language newspaper founded (in 1891) by Robert Young, a member of the British expatriate and mercantile community in Kobe. Complements the North-China Herald (1850-1941), available in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers,
Urban History Documentation Archive of the Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Calcutta (CSSSC) includes:
a) printed literature in the vernaculars relating to social and cultural history, mostly periodicals from Eastern India printed from the inception of printing until the 1950s and in Bengali and Assamese.
b) visual documents, mainly early popular visual forms of productions in Bengal, modern academic art forms and photographs
c) advertisement and commercial art in Bengali from 1800 to –1950.
Defining Gender Online: Five Centuries of Advice Literature for Men and Women (1450-1910)
Twentieth Century Advice Literature
Women advising women. 7 pts. on 136 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) Film A 799
Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film A 799 [= guide]
-- pt. 1. Early women’s journals, c[a]. 1700-1832, from the Bodleian Library, Oxford (17 reels)
-- pt. 2. Advice books, manuals, almanacs and journals, c[a]. 1625-1837 from the Bodleian Library, Oxford (20 reels)
-- pt. 3-4. The Lady’s magazine, 1770- (32 reels)
-- pt. 5. Womens’ writing and advice, c. 1450-1720 (22 reels)
-- pt. 6. Household management, domestic economy, c1600-1800 (25 reels)
-- pt. 7. Sources from the Women’s Library (20 reels).
Women and Victorian values, c1837-1910: advice books, manuals and journals for women. 7 pts. on 144 microfilm reels
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 959
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 959 = guide
-- pts. 1-4. Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford (85 reels)
-- pt. 5. Sarah & Samuel Adams, Isabella Mary Beeton (20 reels)
-- pt. 6-7. Household management & domestic economy (39 reels)
Home Economics Archive (1850-1950 ) (Cornell University) is a collection of books and journals in home economics and related disciplines.
Learning to behave: a guide to American conduct books before 1900, by Sarah E. Newton. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994, 225 p.
Widener | WID-LC | BJ1547 .N48 1994
How to do it: guides to good living for Renaissance Italians, by Rudolph M. Bell. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1999, 375 p.
Lamont | HQ629 .B45 1999
Widener | WID-LC | HQ629 .B45 1999
Chaste, silent & obedient: English books for women, 1475-1640, by Suzanne W. Hull. San Marino: Huntington Library, 1982, 247 p.
Widener | WID-LC | PR429.W64 H8 1982
Subject terms for HOLLIS and WorldCat:
Conduct of life
Finding Archives & Manuscripts
My colleague Anna Esty and I have written a draft of a paper on finding American archival and manuscript collections using a variety of digital resources. Any comments and suggestions welcome. The section on finding material on the free Web will be further developed.
Major New E-Resource
Nineteenth Century Collection Online is an enormous collection of digitized microfilm collections and newly digitized material. It consists of 12 segments. Links below lead to segment overviews with a list of included collections at the bottom of the page.
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
- British Politics and Society
- British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
- Children's Literature and Childhood
- Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
- Corvey Collection of European Literature: 1790-1840
- Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
- Photography: The World Through the Lens
- Religion, Spirituality, Reform and Society
- Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780 - 1925 (More information below)
- Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925 Part II
- Women: Transnational Networks (More information below)
HOLLIS records for items in this collection of which Harvard holds print or microfilm versions are NOT linked to the online version.
Science, Technology and Medicine
This massive collection includes some 3.5 million journals, books, reports and personal documents covering “every aspect of 19th Century science” and representing theoretical as well as practical and popular science. It’s based in large part on the holdings of the Huntington Library (including the Burndy Library), the Library of Congress, National Library of Medicine, Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia (now at Drexel University), and other libraries.
The two Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925 segments are composed of 14 parts, largely discipline focused, containing full text searchable digitized monographs and periodicals. American Medical Periodicals (1.2 million pages) contains over 1200 periodicals from the National Library of Medicine. There is archival material in:
Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia: Minutes and Correspondence (in Part 1) This is the only published version of these documents, which include minutes, correspondence, archival collection summaries, membership lists, and donation ledgers from the Academy's founding in 1812 until 1925.
The Rise of Public Health in England And Wales (1805-1900) (in Part II) includes governmental public health records of various public health boards. Individual records also. All information from the National Archives.
History of Women
The History of Women section is a digitization of a vast microfilm collection (held at Schlesinger). There are lists of the included titles under Collection Facts.
Includes three focused subsets as well as the bulk of more general material:
- History of Science, Health, and Women
- Social and Cultural Construction of Girls
- Women and World War I
These subject-based subsets can be browsed and interesting items looked up in the online version.
Items in the microfilm collection have HOLLIS records which are NOT linked to the online version. Example:
George, Henry, 1839-1897.
On woman suffrage. Microform
London : London Colour Printing Co., ltd., n.d., 4 p.
Schlesinger | Microfilm no. 9204