History Newsletter August 2018

We issue this newsletter thrice yearly: early January, late May (or early June), mid August.

Announcements

There is a new guide for the Library's new Reserves system.

A new guide: Streaming Video @ Harvard

Get your PDFs Under Control

Organize your Research Materials

Make a Bibliography in Seconds

 

Zotero Basics

 

Tuesday, September 18th, 10:30 AM – 12 PM

Cabot Library Instruction Room (lower level)

 

Monday, September 24th, 1:30-3:00 PM

Lamont Library B30

 

Wednesday, September 26th, 1:30-3:00 PM

Cabot Library Instruction Room (lower level)

 

 

EndNote Basics

 

Monday, September 17th, 10:30 AM – 12:00 PM

Lamont Library B30

 

Thursday, September 20th, 3:00-4:30 PM

Cabot Library Instruction Room (lower level)

 

Thursday, September 27th, 10:30-12:00 PM

Lamont Library B30

HOLLIS

Some features of the new HOLLIS

  • All urls in HOLLIS are permanent.  Searches can be saved in My Favorites, or you can copy a url and use it in other documents. See Examples below.
  • Library Catalog offers the most straightforward search for books, but HOLLIS Everything includes more tables of contents and individual book chapters and so offers a deeper book search. See Book chapters and Reference Entries under Resource types.  Example
  • When How to Get It returns instructions for requesting via Interlibrary Loan, first go back to the catalog record and look for: Is part of:  Search the title following Is part of: in Library Catalog.  There may be a print version. Example (record no. 1)
  • Library Catalog does full text searches of online finding aids, displaying the corresponding catalog records with link to the finding aids.  OASIS has been replaced by HOLLIS for Archival Discovery (research guide) which also does full text searches of finding aids, displaying full finding aids and series or sometimes item level descriptions.  Searches can be limited to collections with digitized material. Note that HfAD only searches digitized finding aids, not the many catalog records with only onsite paper finding aids.  Thus, HOLLIS offers the most comprehensive search for archival collections.
  • Print and online versions of journals generally have separate records. Example. Note that the print record is number 17 in the Results list.
  • In the Library Catalog Advanced Search, there is now a Microforms limit under Form/Genre in the Refine Your Results column on the right. Example.
  • Refining your search.  Hover your cursor over a limit, say English under Language. If you check the boxes in front of English and another language you will limit to books in either English or French.  If you click the red box after, say, German, you will exclude German Works.  If you search Author: Hesiod, the Greek poet, and you click the words English and Greek, you will get books in English AND Greek: Loebs, etc.

Will you find…

…in the Library Catalog?

..in Everything?

Descriptions & locations for Harvard’s books, journals, newspapers, maps, DVDs, manuscripts, images, etc.

Yes

Yes

Periodical articles

No

Yes

Harvard’s digitized archival finding aids (Full text searching)

Yes

Yes

Material published in a particular language or country/US state, or held in a particular Harvard library without using keywords.  Example

Yes: Advanced Search Code search*

No

E-books

Some

More

Reliable filters for authors, subjects, etc.

Yes

No**

Streaming media

Yes

More

Book chapters

Some

More

Encyclopedia entries  Example

No

Yes

Items Harvard doesn’t own

No (excepting CRL)

Yes***

All possible research materials

No

No****

 

*Links to codes are given on the Advanced Search page of the HOLLIS Help guide. Linked from the HOLLIS start page.

**Subject terms in the Library Catalog are drawn from Library of Congress and National Library of Medicine subject headings.  Subject terms displayed in Everything results are drawn from the systems of numerous sources and so do not constitute a controlled vocabulary. They are merely suggestions for additional keywords to use., 

***Even if Harvard doesn’t currently own an item, we can usually borrow a copy for you. “How to Get It” will take you through the steps. Or you can suggest we buy a copy for our collection.

****"Everything" is NOT actually everything. "Everything" searches the Library Catalog as well as a huge range of other resources, including book chapters, articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines, encyclopedia entries, streaming video, digitized documents, and much more,  drawn from from a wide variety of data sources

There is a guide to the new HOLLISWe are happy to do group sessions or individual consultations to explain the new HOLLIS.

New News Resources

Proquest historical newspapers. Communist historical newspaper collection  -- People's weekly world (1990-2013) -- Sunday worker (1936-1958) -- The toiler (1919-1922) -- The worker (1922-1924) -- The worker (1958-1968).

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: The New York Times Recent‎ (2008-3 months ago)

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: The Washington Post (2008-3 months ago)

Detroit free press  (1831 - 1999) now to 1999 (formerly to 1922)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Louisville Courier Journal‎  (1830 - 2000)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922)‎

"News on the Margins: Surfacing Marginalized Voices in the Newspaper Collections of Libraries, Archives, and Museums" Appendix E: Open Digital and Digitized Newspapers offers lists of open access African American and LGBT newspapers

New E-Resources

General

Brill's digital library of World War I contains over 700 encyclopedia entries plus 250 scholarly articles on World War 

Gender : identity and social change (19th century-present) offers sources for women's suffrage, the feminist movement, themen's movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. Largely US, Great Britain, Canada, and Australia. Includes digitized archival documents, images and videos.

Historic Literary Criticism (17th - early 20th century) includes reviews, essays and commentary on over 500 authors.

Slavery in America and the world : history, culture & law (HeinOnline) offers legal materials on slavery in the English-speaking world 

Socialism on film: the Cold War and international propaganda offers films from the communist world. Includes USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), includes documentary, newsreel and feature films. Early 20th century to the 1980s,

United States

American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 offers news articles, radio transcripts, and television transcripts worldwide.  This material also available in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports

Dave Leip U.S. Presidential Primary Election Results includes U.S. Presidential Democrat and Republican county-level primary election results for 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016.

The Indian trade in the southeastern Spanish borderlands : papers of Panton, Leslie and Company    Comprising the papers of the Panton, Leslie & Co., a trading firm, this collection is the most complete ethnographic collection available for the study of the American Indians of the Southeast. Offers over 8,000 legal, political and diplomatic documents recording this trading company's operations for over half a century have been selected and organized for this collection.

The Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S  (Archives unbound.) offers full text The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report, together with the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans. Covers: 1928-1943. Reproduction of originals from the Library of Congress.

Reports of U.S. presidential commissions and other advisory bodies (Hein) offers citations of over 6,000 reports, Jackson to Obama, with links to over 1,200 full text reports. Includes related congressional hearings, scholarly articles, and a bibliography. 

The War Department and Indian affairs, 1800-1824  From 1789 until the Bureau of Indian Affairs was established in 1824, Indian affairs were under the direct control of the Secretary of War. This collection consists of correspondence and other records of the War Department relating to Native Americans.  Reproduction of the originals from the U.S. National Archives.

ProQuest history vault now includes:

  • FBI Confidential Files and Radical Politics in the U.S., 1945-1972
  • Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961
  • Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990

Europe

The Chernobyl Files : declassified documents of the Ukrainian KGB

Eighteenth century drama : censorship, society and the stage offers almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824. Includes personal papers of theatrical figures of the period. Includes the reference books: The London Stage 1729-1800 and A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers & Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800. Largely drawn from the John Larpent Collection from the Huntington Library.

La France pendant la guerre 1939-1945 : résistance et journaux de Vichy = Voices from wartime France 1939-1945 : clandestine resistance and Vichy (Archives unbound.) constitutes the sum of the French press that reached Britain during the Occupation of 1940-44. Reproduction of the originals from the British Library.

Mercure de France, 1672-1810

The Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20 reproduces letters, reports, memoranda, cablegrams, maps, charts, and other kinds of records.

Latin America

Cuban culture and cultural relations, 1959- offers ca. 45,000 documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. 

Asia

East India Company. Module 1, Trade, governance and Empire, 1600-1947 offers documents from the India Office Records at the British Library. 

SEApapers : Archive of Southeast Asia Serial Publications offers newspapers and journals largely 1990- .

Non-Harvard E-Resources

Akkasah Photographic Archive at NYU Abu Dhabi offers over 9000 photographs of hte Middle East and North Africa 

Europeana Photography offers over 2,259,000 items from European collections

OurLagosHistory.com offers pamphlets, newspaper articles amd other material on the history of Lagos.

The Liberated Africans Project contains information on Africans liberated by international efforts, 1808-1896, to abolish the Atlantic slave trade. Includes material in the British National Archives and the Sierra Leone National Archives

Bibliotheque Diplomatique Numerique (Ministère de l'Europe et des Affaires étrangères) offers digitized diplomatic documents