History Newsletter May 2022
- Harvard Digital Collections
- Non-Harvard Resources
- News Resources
- New E-Resources
- Historical US Government Documents
We issue this newsletter twice yearly. Old newsletter issues.
For graduating students
- If you use Zotero, take a look at our guide to Zotero for Graduating Students to be aware of things to take care of in order to keep using Zotero past your time at Harvard.
- Visit Using Libraries as a Harvard Alum to find out what library access is available to you after you graduate.
The appearance but not the functionality of HOLLIS has changed.
- Catalog + Articles searches the same material as Everything. Described in the HOLLIS User Guide
- At the top of an Advanced Search results page, you will see a statement of what you have searched. To get back to the Advanced Search form with your search, hit SEARCH OPTIONS
Harvard Digital Collections
- City Maps and Urban Environments (16th century- ) 719 maps
- Slavery, Abolition, Emancipation and Freedom: Primary Sources from Houghton Library
Harvard Digital Collections offers an item level search over Harvard digitized collections. CURIOSity Digital Collections lists digitized Harvard collections.
Photographing the Civil War: Mathew Brady at 200 (National Archives) offers over 6000 digitized photographs.
American Congress Digital Archives Portal offers digitized material from archives of members of Congress. It currently offers material from the West Virginia University Libraries, the Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics (University of Kansas), and the Robert C. Byrd Center for Congressional History and Education. It is still in its early stages.
The JSTOR Open Community Collections offers 1194 collections contributed by repositories in the US and UK on a wide variety of subjects and regions. Collections include numerous image collections (the ArtStor collections are included), but also periodicals, manuscripts, and personal papers. There are collection-level and item-level keyword searches.
- Catholic News Archive (1831-2022)
- Nashriyah: digital Iranian history (1950s-ealy 2000s): Newspapers and periodicals
- Many college newspapers
Newsweek Archive (1933-2012)
Although the bulk of America’s Historical Newspapers (1690-1993) consists of pre-1923 newspapers, there are several mid-late 20th century papers included:
- Mobile Register: Mobile, AL, 1833-10-22 - 1992-12-31
- Evening Star: Washington, DC, 1852-12-16 - 1981-08-07
- Augusta Chronicle: Augusta, GA, 1792-01-07 - 1993-12-31
- Times-Picayune: New Orleans, LA, 1837-01-25 - 1988-12-31
- Springfield Republican: Springfield, MA, 1877-01-01 - 1946-09-26
- Springfield Union: Springfield, MA, 1864-01-04 - 1988-12-25
- Trenton Evening Times: Trenton, NJ, 1883-01-07 - 1993-03-15
- Plain Dealer: Cleveland, OH, 1845-04-07 - 1991-05-31
- Oregonian: Portland, OR, 1861-02-04 - 1987-12-31
- Dallas Morning News: Dallas, TX, 1885-10-01 - 1984-12-31
- Seattle Daily Times: Seattle, WA, 1923-01-01 - 1984-12-31
General -- Africa -- Europe -- North America
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present. Largely on Covid but includes substantial material on AIDS/HIV and swine flu and other recent influenza epidemics. Largely 1970s to present. Mainly US government documents.
Global Financial and Economic Crisis includes papers and reports published by US and international agencies.
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 contains manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals. Covers Europe, North America, India, Australia, and New Zealand. Includes material in English, Spanish, French, Italian, and German.
International women's periodicals, 1786-1933 : social and political issues
The bibliography of Islam in Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa (1960-2005) offers references, many with abstracts to secondary literature in European languages
Apartheid Through the Eyes of South African Political Parties, 1948-1994
Ghana and Togo under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1843-1957
Nigeria and Cameroon under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1887-1960
The Cecil papers consist principally of the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley (1520-1598) and his son Robert, the 1st Earl of Salisbury (1563-1612), Lord High Treasurer and Secretary of State for Elizabeth I and James I.
Journaux de la Révolution de 1848
Verfasser-Datenbank : Autoren der deutschsprachigen Literatur und des deutschsprachigen Raums : von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart brings together the
- Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters, Deutscher Humanismus 1480-1520
- Frühe Neuzeit in Deutschland 1520-1620
- Killy-Literaturlexikon. Autoren und Werke des deutschsprachigen Kulturraums
Literary authors from Europe and Eurasia web archive Coverage focuses on the Russian Federation, Belarus, and Ukraine, but includes Germany, Israel, Lithuania, and Switzerland.
The Dublin Castle Records 1798-1926: Dublin Castle administration in Ireland was the government of Ireland under English and later British rule
Papers of Joseph Chamberlain (1836-1914), British politician and Secretary of State for the Colonies
The Papers of Neville Chamberlain (1869-1940) document his policies as Chancellor of the Exchequer and Prime Minister
The Papers of Sir Austen Chamberlain (1863-1937): Foreign Secretary of the interwar period
African America, Communists, and the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947
The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy
Country Intelligence Reports/State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports USSR (1941-1961)
Documentary history of the First Federal Congress of the United States of America, March 4, 1789-March 3, 1791
Ethnic Diversity Source offers full text searching of journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents on culture, traditions, social treatment and experiences of American ethnic groups. Largely post1990 but some much earlier.
The international women's movement: the Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women's Association of the USA, 1950-1985
Latino civil rights during the Carter administration
Public housing, racial policies, and civil rights: the Intergroup Relations Branch of the Federal Public Housing Administration, 1936-1963
Queer Pasts offers historical essays and primary sources on sexual minorities.
Reconstruction, Jim Crow, and the Enforcement of Federal Law in the South, 1871-1884
Spiro T. Agnew Case: The Investigative and Legal Documents
Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977
Historical US Government Documents
Hathitrust includes numerous government documents.
- In Catalog Advanced Search, you can use a government department or agency name as author.
- In Full Text Advanced Search, you can use a government department or agency name as author, "Add another group of search fields", and add a Subject.
HathiTrust also offers:
- Separate full text search for HathiTrust government documents. Narrow the results in the left hand column by Author: agency name, date, etc.
- United States Federal Government Documents Registry, a catalog type search. Not all included documents are full text in HathiTrust, try Internet Archive as well.
There are also many government documents in the Internet Archive. There are two Internet Archive collections GovDocs Government Documents and FEDLINK - United States Federal Collection which are full text searchable and which contain foreign, US, state and local documents. These may not include all government documents in the Internet Archive.
The following sources include overviews of government publications by department for particular times. They offer a different perspective than that gained by database searches in HathiTrust and Internet Archive (above) or in government databases such as: GovInfo and the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
- Government publications: a guide to bibliographic tools, incorporating Government organization manuals: a bibliography. 1975
- HOLLIS Record -- HathiTrust -- Internet Archive Full Text 1977
- --Lists bibliographies by US government department and by foreign country.
- A handbook of United States public documents, by Elfrida Everhart. 1910.
- Guide to United States government publications, by Walter I. Swanton. 1918.
- United States government publications as sources of information for libraries, by Anne Morris Boyd. 1931,
- Guide to the official publications of the new deal administrations (mimeographed and printed), by Jerome K. Wilcox. 1934 + 2 suppl.
- HOLLIS Record (1934) -- HOLLIS Record (Supplement 1 & 2) -- HathiTrust Version (with Suppl. 1, (1934-1935), 1936, 184 pp.) -- HathiTrust ( Suppl 2 (December 1, 1935 - January 1, 1937))
- Government publications and their use, by Laurence F. Schmeckebier. 1936.
- Government publications and their use, by Laurence F. Schmeckebier. 1939.
- United States government publications, sources of information for libraries (Revised to June 1, 1940, including references to organization changes resulting from the President's reorganization plans no. III, IV and V), by Anne Morris Boyd. 2d ed. 1941.
- Subject guide to United States government publications, by Herbert S. Hirshberg and Carl Herman Melinat. 1947.
- HOLLIS Record -- HathiTrust -- HeinOnline Full Text
- --Largely documents published in the previous 20 years. Emphasis on serials, directories, handbooks, bibliographies.
- United States Government publications, by Anne Morris Boyd. 3rd ed. rev. by Rae Elizabeth Rips.
- HOLLIS Record -- Internet Archive Full Text 1952 (repr 1949)
- Government publications and their use, by Laurence F. Schmeckebier and Roy B. Eastin. 1961
- Government publications and their use, by Laurence F. Schmeckebier and Roy B. Eastin. 1969