Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Expos 20 | Civil and Uncivil Disobedience

RESOURCES AND RESEARCH STRATEGIES FOR ESSAY 3

Other Vistas Beyond HOLLIS

Academic Search Premier:  an excellent database to rummage around in after you've sampled what articles are available in a HOLLIS "everything" search.

Academic Search Premier is, like HOLLIS, multidisciplinary in its coverage, also provides you with a range of article types (some scholarly, some not).

But while still broad, it's a smaller universe than HOLLIS: you'll search across books, articles, and book reviews. Depending on your topic, searching in ASP may seem more manageable. 

 


Google Scholar

Familiar and current, it also searches full-text, which makes it different from the other databases (including HOLLIS) on this guide. 

Full-text searching can be an advantage when you've got a very narrow topic or are seeking a "nugget" that traditional database searching can't surface easily. 

Google Scholar is perfectly acceptable for most general forays into scholarship; its algorithms are excellent and do return relevant results. 

 

NOTE: One simple change can turn Google Scholar into what's effectively a Harvard database -- with links to the full-text of articles that the library can provide. Here's what to do: 

  • Look to the left of the GS screen and click on the "hamburger" (); then click on 
  • Look at the new menu that now displays on the left side of the screen. Choose LIBRARY LINKS.
  • Then type Harvard University into the search box and save your choice.  As long as you allow cookies, the settings will keep.