Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Expos 20 | Civil and Uncivil Disobedience

RESOURCES AND RESEARCH STRATEGIES FOR ESSAY 3

Some Sources For Exploring

 

DATABASES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND RESEARCH COMPANIONS

Global Nonviolent Action Database (Swarthmore College)

GNAD provides free access to information about hundreds of cases of nonviolent action, from all continents and most countries. You can search by keywords, browse by country or tags, or by geography (including wave campaigns). It also has extensive information on nonviolent action methods.

International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest 

An authoritative source, authored by scholars, it covers every major revolution that has altered societies or changed the course of history on a local, regional, national, and international scale. It presents major uprisings and protest movements, and the ideas, ideologies and activists that propelled them, chronicles the manner in which they unfolded, traces their roots, goals, tactics, and influence, and evaluates their successes and failures. Each entry includes references and a "further reading" list.

The Cambridge Companion to Civil Disobedience (2021)

An interdisciplinary collection of essays that addresses all aspects of civil disobedience, including its stakes, effectiveness, and measures of success. 


NEWSPAPERS 

Nexis Uni 

A full-text collection of U.S. and international news sources, keyword searchable. Great for topics that emerged in the news from about 1980 forward. 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers 

An archive of  major U.S. dailies (NYT, Washington Post, LA Times, e.g..), a set of historically important African American newspapers (like the Chicago Defender), and a growing number of international news titles. NOTE: select "historical newspapers" post-search from the left-side filters and use the date limiters when necessary.

World Protest and Reform Movements: Global Perspectives, 1945-1996

Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global reaction to major protest and reform movements. Keyword searchable, and also provides a set of suggested searches from the home page.