Indigenous Research Journals and Publications
This section highlights Indigenous studies focused journals relating to research, writing, law, and more.
- American Indian Culture and Research Journal (Harvard Key required)
Published by the American Indian Studies Center at UCLA, this journal publishes books reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers related to Indigenous studies.
- American Indian Quarterly (Harvard Key required)
Quarterly published academic journal covering studies on Indigenous Peoples in North and South America. Published by the University of Nebraska Press.
- Canadian Journal of Native Studies (Harvard Key required)
A scholarly journal published by Brandon University with articles by and about Indigenous peoples in Canada.
- Cultural Survival Quarterly (Harvard Key required)
Cultural Survival advocates for Indigenous Peoples’ rights and supports Indigenous communities’ self-determination, cultures, and political resilience since 1972.
The Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index is a citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covers all subject areas and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. Coverage dates back to the 1890s; all titles indexed are held in the print collections of Hamilton Library's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections.
- International Indigenous Policy Journal (Open Access)
Covers research addressing issues pertaining to Indigenous peoples throughout the world. An editorial and advisory board made up of experts in Indigenous issues leads this peer-reviewed journal. Regionally, they represent North America, South America, Europe, Asia, and Australia.
- Journal of Global Indigeneity (Open Access)
A digital journal published by the Centre for Global Indigenous Futures focused on writings and research on the lives of Indigenous peoples and communities around the world.
- Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (Harvard Key required)
The journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association, committed to creating a dynamic intellectual space for the communication and dissemination of excellent scholarship related to Indigenous Studies.
- Journal of the Southwest (Harvard Key required)
Published through the University of Arizona’s Southwest Center, the Journal of the Southwest is a multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed quarterly dedicated to an integrated regional study of the American Southwest, northern Mexico, and the US-Mexico borderlands.
- Native American Rights Fund Legal Review (Open Access)
Semi-annually published review that provides updates on NARF cases and information relating to Indigenous Law.
- Settler Colonial Studies (Harvard Key required)
Publishes research on settler colonialism as a distinct social and historical formation, involving areas like history, law, indigenous and genocide studies.
- Studies in American Indian Literatures (Harvard Key required)
Published by the University of Nebraska Press, Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL) is the only journal in the United States that focuses exclusively on American Indian literatures. SAIL invites the submission of scholarly, critical pedagogical, and theoretical manuscripts focused on any aspect of American Indian literatures as well as the submission of poetry and short fiction, bibliographical essays, review essays, and interviews. SAIL defines "literatures" broadly to include all written, spoken, and visual texts created by Native peoples.
- Yellow Medicine Review (Harvard Key required)
A journal of Indigenous literature, art, and thought published by Southwest Minnesota State University.
