American Indigenous Studies Resources

These databases highlight primary source materials relating to Indigenous and Native American Studies. Please be aware that some of these databases have not consistently involved the source communities of their digitized materials.  Please use the research materials provided on these sites cautiously and respectfully if it is not stated whether they were digitized in collaboration with their source communities.

• Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America (Harvard Key required)

 An online collection of materials relating to Early American colonial interactions between Indigenous communities and European settlers. The collections spans to the mid- to late-twentieth century and contains materials from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer collection.

• Indigenous Newspapers in North America (Harvard Key required)

Digitized Indigenous print journalism covering nearly 200 years of published tribal newspapers throughout the US and Canada.

• Archives Library Information Center- Indian/Native Americans, National Archives (Open Access)

A collection of National Archive resources and more concerning US Native materials. Contains links on tribal documents, genealogical documents, tribal resources, and more.

• Archives Unbound Native American Studies Collection (Gale Primary Sources) (Harvard Key required)

Digitized primary sources on Indigenous materials ranging from Early Colonial interactions to documents on the American Indian Movement.

• Bibliografía Mesoamericana (Open Access)

A bibliographic database of published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Includes books, edited volumes, audio and video, journal articles, essays and more.

• Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (Harvard Key required)

Searchable bibliography of materials related to Indigenous Peoples of North America.

• Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center (Open Access)

This project aims to develop a comprehensive searchable database of Carlisle Indian School resources. Beginning with the school records housed at the U.S. National Archives as part of the Bureau of Indian Affairs papers, materials that tell the story of the school and the many thousands of students who were sent there are being digitized.

• Early Encounters in North America (Harvard Key required)

Hundreds of sources that document the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850.

• Ethnic Newswatch (Harvard Key required)

Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.

• The Genoa Indian School Digital Reconciliation Project (Open Access)

“The Genoa Indian School Digital Reconciliation Project is a space for telling the stories of the American Indian children who attended Genoa, the stories of their communities, and the stories of their descendants. To help in telling these stories, we are first digitizing government records of Genoa from various federal and state archives, materials which are often difficult to locate and access.”

• Google Arts and Culture Indigenous Americas (Open Access)

Google Arts and Culture’s collection of Indigenous art and culture from over 40 collections. Includes lesson plans, online exhibits, and more.

• Indian Claims Insight (ProQuest) (Harvard Key required)

Database dedicated to claims filed by Native persons and tribes within the U.S. Includes an overview of the Indian Claims Commission and starting points for claims filed by specific tribal communities.

• Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale Primary Sources Advanced Search) (Harvard Key required)

Searchable database of primary sources relating to Indigenous Peoples of North America.

• Nation Building Toolboxes (Open Access)

Online and mixed media tools that assist exploring, developing, and managing the understanding of key functions of tribal, First Nation, and other Indigenous governance structures and strategies. Hosted and curated by the Native Nations Institute at the University of Arizona and the Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development at Harvard University.

• The National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition Resource Database Center (Open Access)

The NABS Archive is a living project that will continue to grow and collect items related to the Indian boarding schools. Advisory: The content contained herein may trigger secondary trauma or PTSD; we encourage individuals to seek counseling or healing if you experience any stress related to boarding school history. Indigenous peoples are warned that this database contains images, names, and references to deceased persons.

• Native Land Digital (Open Access)

A scrollable, digital map that allows users to find what tribal lands exist in their region.

• Native Northeast Portal (Open Access)

Contains primary source materials by, on, or about Northeast Natives from repositories around the world.

• North American Thought and Culture (Harvard Key required)

This database contains autobiographies, Native publications, oral histories, photos and more of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations peoples.

• ProQuest History Vault, American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 (Harvard Key required)

Searchable history database of materials relating to Native Americans and the American West from 1809-1971.

• Tribal Treaties Database, Oklahoma State University Libraries (Open Access)

Database of tribal treaties between tribal nations and the U.S. from 1778-1886. Includes digitized treaty text and links to digitized treaties at the National Archive.

• U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library (HeinOnline) (Harvard Key required)

Database for searching the U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library.