American Indigenous Studies Resources

This section pulls together collections and projects across Harvard that either highlight Indigenous materials or contains a significant number of related materials.  Please feel free to contact the resource guide author to add any relevant projects. For additional Indigenous resources across campus and Boston, please look at the Office for Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging’s page on Native American and Indigenous Resources.

• American Indian Law Research Guide, Harvard Law School Library (Open Access)

This guide will help you get started with your research on legal issues relating to Native Americans, Alaska Natives and other peoples indigenous to North America.

• American Indigenous Music Research Guide (Open Access)

A curated selection of resources for appreciating and researching Native American music of North America.

• The Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development (Some open access)

The Harvard Project aims to understand and foster the conditions under which sustained, self-determined social and economic development is achieved among American Indian nations. Ran in collaboration with the Native Nations Institute for Leadership, Management, and Policy at the University of Arizona.

• The Harvard University Native American Program (HUNAP) 

The program at Harvard dedicated to the development, achievement, and impact of American Indian, Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian, and other Indigenous students at Harvard. Provides resources and community outreach to Indigenous peoples on campus.

• History of the Harvard Indian College (Open Access)

A brief history of the Harvard Indian College from Our Beloved Kin: A New History of King Philip’s War by Lisa Brooks.

• Indigenous Courses at Harvard

Each semester HUNAP puts together a listing of courses on Indigenous topics that are being taught by either HUNAP Faculty or other faculty across campus. This page is updated each semester to reflect current offerings.

• Library Research Guide for History, Missionary Records (Open Access)

A resource guide of missionary records available in Harvard and beyond. Includes links to databases and other libraries with extensive missionary records.

• Native American Experience in the Collections, Harvard Art Museum (Open Access)

A selection of objects from the Harvard Art Museums’ Collections that aims to elevate the voices and perspectives of Indigenous peoples in the modern United States.  Assembled by the Ho Family Student Guides and in collaboration with the Harvard University Native American Program (HUNAP).

• The Peabody Museum

Harvard’s anthropology museum, known for its extensive collections of archeological and ethnographic materials from around the world.

• The Peabody Museum’s Collection Access Request

An online form to request additional access to materials relating to your research interests.

• Race, Research, & Policy Portal, of the Institutional Antiracism and Accountability Project (Open Access)

Free online resource dedicated to summarizing and promoting research publications on diversity, racial equity, and antiracist organizational change in private, public, and non-profit firms and entities.

• Tozzer Library Zotero Catalog for Special Collections (Open Access)

Online Zotero catalog dedicated to cataloging materials in the Special Collections Library at Tozzer.

• Worlds of Change (Open Access with some copyright provisions)

Worlds of Change is a collection of more than 700,000 digitized pages of all known archival and manuscript materials in the Harvard Library that relate to 17th- and 18th-century North America. This material was digitized as part of a multi-year project, formerly known as Colonial North America at Harvard Library. Read about the project.