K-12 Toolkit for Teachers: Open Educational Resources, Open and Free Resources/Tools

All bibliographies compiled after April 2005 are annotated and include only titles identified as Recommended (R or R*) by the Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books within the past five years of publication. Storytelling bibliographies follow a different set of criteria, privileging the oldest available version of a tale.

This is a collection of picture book abstracts searchable by topics, concepts, and skills for building content area reading across all academic subjects. The collection contains abstracts of over 5800 picture books for children, preschool to grade three.

This special collection presents children’s books selected from the General and Rare Book Collections at the Library of Congress. The collection includes classic works that are still read by children today, and lesser-known treasures drawn from the Library’s extensive collection of historically significant children’s books. The books in this collection were published in the United States and England before 1924, are no longer under copyright, and free to read, share, and reuse however you’d like.

The Hunt Collection is comprised of approximately 7,000 American and European books for children, dating primarily from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Among its many rarities are first editions of several books by E. Boyd Smith (1860-1943), the preeminent American picture-book artist of the generation before the Caldecott Medal was created to honor artists in his field.

The Gordon W. Prange Collection contains nearly 8,000 children's book titles published in Japan between 1945 and 1949, including 1,608 picture book (ehon) titles, 2,069 comic book (manga) titles and 4,275 story book (yomimono) titles. All of the picture books and a majority of the comic books are available here. The remaining comic books, all of the story books and other resources for children have been scanned and are being added to this collection systematically. A list of censored children's books from this period is also available.