Set Up EndNote for Use at Harvard

This page covers how to set up various features and functions within EndNote for use at Harvard:

Register with EndNote Online

Register with EndNote Online in order to by able to sync your library across multiple devices and to share your library with collaborators.

EndNote Preferences Sync window

  1. Register at https://access.clarivate.com/register?app=endnote.
  2. Open the EndNote desktop application.
  3. Open EndNote Preferences (Mac: Endnote --> Preferences; PC: Edit --> Preferences)
  4. Under the Sync tab, enter your email address and password information.

Note: The information under "Sync this EndNote Library" will fill in automatically.

Set Up EndNote Find Full Text

The Find Full Text feature in EndNote works with your Harvard Key to access licensed articles. To enable EndNote to retrieve Harvard-licensed full-text documents, you’ll need to set up the Find Full Text options under the ‘Preferences’ menu. For best results, also set up the OpenURL features.

To set up Find Full Text:EndNote preferences window

  1. From the 'Edit’ Menu (Or EndNote menu with Mac OS), choose ’Preferences …'
  2. Choose 'Find Full Text' from the choices on the left.
  3. Check all four of the boxes for full text search options.
  4. For 'OpenURL Path,' enter: https://hollis.harvard.edu/openurl/01HVD/HVD_URL?
  5. For 'Authentication URL,' enter: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/library.harvard.edu?url=http://www.jstor.org 

 

NOTE: Unfortunately, EndNote's Find Full Text (FFT) feature is incompatible with the OpenAthens authentication system. This means it will not be able to use your HarvardKey to access full text to which you should have access through Harvard. EndNote FFT is also incompatible with EBSCO, Wiley, ScienceDirect, and JSTOR. Due to this incompatibility, you may find mixed results when you use EndNote FFT. 

Set Up OpenURL

EndNote Preferences Window

  1. Set this feature up in EndNote preferences. From the ‘Edit’ menu, choose ‘Preferences…’.
  2. Choose ‘URLs & Links’ from the choices on the left.
  3. Replace the text in the ‘ISI Base URL’ box with the following URL: https://hollis.harvard.edu/openurl/01HVD/HVD_URL?
  4. Leave the ‘Arguments’ unchanged.
  5. To use OpenURL, go to your library and open a reference. From the ‘References’ menu, choose ‘OpenURL Link’. A ‘Try Harvard Library’ window will open with Harvard access choices, if any exist.