Reference Sources
Use reference sources (specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries, bibliographies, and handbooks) early in the research process to find topic overviews, the names of key figures, dates, locations, etc.
-
Encyclopedia of African American Education
by
Call Number: 251214568 (OCLC)ISBN: 9781412940504Publication Date: 2009This 2-volume encyclopedia provides a comprehensive overview of educational institutions at every level, from preschool through graduate and professional training, with special attention to historically and predominantly Black colleges and universities. An appendix, "The Complete Bibliography of the Journal of Negro Education, 1932-2008," includes listings of tables of contents and reprinted articles on segregation, desegregation, and equality. -
The SAGE Handbook of African American Education
by
ISBN: 9781452261836Publication Date: 2008-07-17The SAGE Handbook of African American Education is a unique, comprehensive collection of theoretical and empirical scholarship in six important areas: historical perspectives, teaching and learning, Pre-K-12 school leadership, higher education, current issues, and education policy. -
Encyclopedia of African-American Education
by
Call Number: 49569753 (OCLC)ISBN: 9780313289316Publication Date: 1996This reference is a comprehensive guide to significant issues, policies, historical events, laws, theories, and persons related to the education of African-Americans in the United States. Through several hundred alphabetically arranged entries, the volume chronicles the history of African-American education. -
Thinking about Black Education
by
ISBN: 9781975502546Publication Date: 2023-03-24In this pioneering interdisciplinary reader, Hilton Kelly and Heather Moore Roberson have curated essential readings for thinking about black education from slavery to the present day. The reading selections are timeless, with both historical and contemporary readings from educational anthropology, history, legal studies, literary studies, and sociology to document the foundations and development of Black education in the United States. In addition, the authors highlight scholarship offering historical, conceptual, and pedagogical gems that shine a light on Black people's enduring pursuit of liberatory education.
Dissertations
Doctoral and masters dissertations can be helpful sources of information on topics that are not yet well-covered in published monographs. Particularly for histories on the impact of Colored Teacher Associations, the earliest sources interpreting these organizations are dissertations.
-
DASHA central, open-access repository of research by members of the Harvard community, including dissertations.
-
ProQuest DissertationsDoctoral dissertations can be a valuable source of information, and bibliographies, related to your research topic. While ProQuest requires institutional access to view and download dissertations, you may be able to gain access through your local library, by searching the title in Google or Google Scholar, or by contacting the relevant university directly.
Scholarly Articles
With the exception of JSTOR (which requires institutional access) the databases below are open access sources for scholarly articles related to African American education history.
-
BTA Zotero DatabaseThis open-access Zotero collection houses scholarly articles curated by the Black Teacher Archive team relevant to Colored Teacher Associations.
-
JSTORJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Among many of the publications in this resource, the Negro History Bulletin and Journal of Negro Education.
Selected Books
-
The Education of Blacks in the South, 1860-1935
by
A history of African American education in the South from Reconstruction through the Great Depression. By placing black schooling within a political, cultural, and economic context, Anderson examines African Americans' commitment to education, the Tuskegee Institute, and the influence and conflicting goals of various philanthropic educational groups.
Call Number: 17297653 (OCLC)ISBN: 9780807842218Publication Date: 1988 -
Schooling the Movement: The Activism of Southern Black Educators from Reconstruction through the Civil Rights Era
by
A fresh examination of an underexplored aspect of the civil rights movement-teacher activism Drawing on oral history interviews and archival research, Schooling the Movement examines the pedagogical activism and vital contributions of Black teachers throughout the Black freedom struggle. By illuminating teachers' activism during the long civil rights movement, the editors and contributors connect the past with the present, contextualizing teachers longstanding role as advocates for social justice. Schooling the Movement moves beyond the prevailing understanding that activism was defined solely by litigation and direct-action forms of protest. The authors in this volume broaden our conceptions of what it meant to actively take part in or contribute to the civil rights movement.
ISBN: 1643363751Publication Date: 2023 -
Education of Negro Teachers by National Survey of the Education of Teachers, v. 4 containing assessments of the current state of teacher training, salaries, curricular development and resources, etc. in segregated Black schools.Call Number: 133849 (OCLC)Publication Date: 1933, reprinted in 1970
-
Fugitive Pedagogy: Carter G. Woodson and the Art of Black teaching
by
Fugitive Pedagogy chronicles Carter G. Woodson’s efforts to fight against the “mis-education of the Negro” by helping teachers and students to see themselves and their mission as set apart from an anti-Black world. Teachers, students, families, and communities worked together, using Woodson’s materials and methods as they fought for power in schools and continued the work of fugitive pedagogy.
Call Number: 1295242495 (OCLC)ISBN: 0674983688Publication Date: 2021 -
The Lost Education of Horace Tate: Uncovering the Hidden Heroes Who Fought for Justice in Schools
by
An ambitious and harrowing account of the devoted black educators who battled Southern school segregation and inequality.
Call Number: 1004596768 (OCLC)ISBN: 1620971054Publication Date: 2018 -
May We Forever Stand:A History of the Black National Anthem
by
Imani Perry tells the story of the black national anthem as it travelled from South to North, from civil rights to black power, and from countless family reunions to Carnegie Hall and the Oval Office.
Call Number: 1243305902 (OCLC)ISBN: 9781469638607Publication Date: 2021 -
New Perspectives on Black Educational History by Essays covering African American educational history from approximately 1850 - 1940.Call Number: 3705554 (OCLC)ISBN: 9780816181148Publication Date: 1978
-
Self-taught: African American Education in Slavery and Freedom
by
In this previously untold story of African American self-education, Heather Andrea Williams moves across time to examine African Americans' relationship to literacy during slavery, during the Civil War, and in the first decades of freedom. Self-Taught traces the historical antecedents to freedpeople's intense desire to become literate and demonstrates how the visions of enslaved African Americans emerged into plans and action once slavery ended. Also available online.
Call Number: 56794658 (OCLC)ISBN: 9780807858219Publication Date: 2005 -
Schoolhouse Activists: African American Educators and the Long Birmingham Civil Rights Movement
by
Schoolhouse Activists examines the role that African American educators played in the Birmingham, Alabama, civil rights movement from the late nineteenth century to the present day. Drawing on multiple perspectives from education, history, and sociology, Tondra L. Loder-Jackson revisits longstanding debates about whether these educators were friends or foes of the civil rights movement. She also uses Black feminist thought and the life course perspective to illuminate the unique and often clandestine brand of activism that these teachers cultivated. The book will serve as a resource for current educators and their students grappling with contemporary struggles for educational justice.
ISBN: 9781438458625Publication Date: 2015 -
Simple Justice: The History of Brown v. Board of Education and Black America's Struggle for Equality
by
Discusses impact on race relations of May 17, 1954 US Supreme Court decision against legally enforced separation of Black and White children in schools, ending the "separate but equal" doctrine in education.
Call Number: 53896601 (OCLC)ISBN: 9781400030613Publication Date: 2004 -
Using Past as Prologue: Contemporary Perspectives on African American Educational History
by
The volume covers both the North and South in the 19th and 20th centuries. Contributors explore how educators, administrators, students, and communities responded to educational policies in various settings including K-12 public and private schooling and higher education. A significant contribution of the book is showcasing the growing and concentrated work in the era immediately following the Brown decision.
Call Number: 921248939 (OCLC)ISBN: 9781681231716Publication Date: 2015 -
Teaching Equality
by
In Teaching Equality, Adam Fairclough provides an overview of the enormous contributions made by African American teachers to the black freedom movement in the United States. Beginning with the close of the Civil War, when "the efforts of the slave regime to prevent black literacy meant that blacks . . . associated education with liberation," Fairclough explores the development of educational ideals in the black community up through the years of the civil rights movement. He traces black educators' connection to the white community and examines the difficult compromises they had to make in order to secure schools and funding. Teachers did not, he argues, sell out the black community but instead instilled hope and commitment to equality in the minds of their pupils. Defining the term teacher broadly to include any person who taught students, whether in a backwoods cabin or the brick halls of a university, Fairclough illustrates the multifaceted responsibilities of individuals who were community leaders and frontline activists as well as conveyors of knowledge. He reveals the complicated lives of these educators who, in the face of a prejudice-based social order and a history of oppression, sustained and inspired the minds and hearts of generations of black Americans.
ISBN: 9780820322728Publication Date: 2001 -
Jim Crow's Pink Slip: The Untold Story of Black Principal and Teacher Leadership
by
Jim Crow's Pink Slip exposes the decades-long repercussions of a too-little-known result of resistance to the Brown v. Board of Education decision: the systematic dismissal of Black educators from public schools. In 1954, the Supreme Court's Brown decision ended segregated schooling in the United States, but regrettably, as documented in congressional testimony and transcripts, it also ended the careers of a generation of highly qualified and credentialed Black teachers and principals. In the Deep South and northern border states over the decades following Brown, Black schools were illegally closed and Black educators were displaced en masse. As educational policy and leadership expert Leslie T. Fenwick deftly demonstrates, the effects of these changes stand contrary to the democratic ideals of an integrated society and equal educational opportunity for all students. Jim Crow's Pink Slip provides a trenchant account of how tremendous the loss to the US educational system was and continues to be. Despite efforts of the NAACP and other civil rights organizations, congressional hearings during the Nixon administration, and antiracist activism of the 21st century, the problems fomented after Brown persist. The book draws the line from the past injustices to problems that the educational system grapples with today: not simply the underrepresentation of Black teachers and principals, but also salary reductions, teacher shortages, and systemic inequality. By engaging with the complicated legacy of the Brown decision, Fenwick illuminates a crucial chapter in education history. She also offers policy prescriptions aimed at correcting the course of US education, supporting educators, and improving workforce quality and diversity.
Call Number: 1288138390 (OCLC)ISBN: 9781682537190Publication Date: 2022 -
A New Kind of Youth: Historically Black High Schools and Southern Student Activism, 1920–1975
by
The story of activist youth in America is usually framed around the Vietnam War, the counterculture, and college campuses, focusing primarily on college students in the 1960s and 1970s. But a remarkably effective tradition of Black high school student activism in the civil rights era has gone understudied. In 1951, students at R. R. Moton High School in rural Virginia led a student walkout and contacted the law firm of Hill, Martin, and Robinson in Richmond, Virginia, to file one of the five pivotal court cases that comprised the Brown v. Board of Education decision. In 1960, twenty-four Burke High School students in Charleston, South Carolina, organized the first direct action, nonviolent protest in the city at the downtown S. H. Kress department store. Months later in the small town of McComb, Mississippi, an entire high school walked out in protest of the conviction of a student who sat-in on a local Woolworth lunch counter in 1961, guiding the agenda for the historic Freedom Summer campaign of 1964. A New Kind of Youth brings high school activism into greater focus, illustrating how Black youth supported liberatory social and political movements and inspired their elders across the South.
Call Number: 1352969003 (OCLC)ISBN: 9781469671390Publication Date: 2022-12-06 -
A Visible Company of Professionals
by
African American educators shaped a role for themselves in the larger civil rights movement by striving for inclusion, on equal footing, in the National Education Association (NEA). This book explores the relationship between the NEA, the nation's largest teacher organization, and the predominately black American Teachers Association, and illustrates how African American educators helped to redefine the NEA's core ideology to include the support of policies, practice, and politics that promoted educational equity for children and educators who have been historically marginalized. Examining heated debates in African American communities and in the NEA, and the immediate and long-term effects of inclusion on educators and public school children, this book reveals teacher associations as something more than labor unions and educators as activists for educational equity, while it documents the perils, disappointments, and advantages of professional cohesion. The book's documentation of leadership in particularly challenging settings fills a void in literature for teacher preparation and educational leadership programs.
ISBN: 9780820488486Publication Date: 2008
