This list is a brief list of some of the international data resources available. In the Tutorial & Guides section are guides that link to many, many more international datasets for a variety of specialties.
AidData AidData aggregates information from multiple sources to provide a searchable database of global development assistance flows and projects.
Comparative Welfare States Dataset: The dataset is compiled by David Brady, Evelyne Huber, and John D. Stephens. Most variables now have data up to 2016 or 2017. The data cover earnings and income distribution, social spending and welfare state institutions, labor force and labor market institutions, demographic data, macroeconomic data, research and development spending, product market regulation, and political variables like voter turnout and partisan distribution of votes, seats, and cabinet share. They are available for 22 post-industrial countries and go back to 1960 when possible.
- International Historical Statistics Series (Harvard Login) Provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years. This resource collects data sets from hundreds of disparate primary sources, including both official national and international abstracts.
- International Labour Organization (ILOSTAT): The only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 the ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States , to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.
Minorities at Risk (MAR) Data Updated 1945 through 2006, MAR tracks 284 politically-active ethnic groups throughout the world.
OECD Data: The Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development has datasets in the general areas of agriculture, development, economy, education, economy, environment, and many others,
- Proquest Statistical Insight (Harvard Login) Statistical tables from selected United States government publications, state government publications, business and association publications, and international inter-governmental sources. Tables are in PDF and/or comma-separated variable (CSV) format.
- Statista (Harvard Login) A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- UN Data Access System/United Nations A web-based data service for the global user community from the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD). It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Topics included are agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, industry, national accounts, population, trade and tourism.
Woman Stats 'The WomanStats Project is a team of approximately twelve undergraduate research assistants, seven graduate research assistants, thirteen principal investigators, and over 120 former student assistants. We are dedicated to the continual expansion of the WomanStats Database, as well as the pursuit of our research agenda assessing the relationship between the situation and security of women, and the dynamics between security, stability, and the behavior of the state." "We track over 350 variables in 175 countries, including issues such as rape, sex trafficking, maternal and child mortality, family law, women in government and the military, and many others. All these variables are listed and explained in our codebook."
- World Development Indicators / The World Bank
Contains statistical data from the World Bank and other organizations for over 1,400 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 260 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Other World Bank Databases can be accessed from their Data Catalog.
- World Health Organization Data Collections: The World Health Organization manages and maintains a wide range of data collections related to global health and well-being as mandated by our Member States.