Why use an organization's website?
The websites of international organizations working in the field of education can be useful sources of information on policies, reforms and research within their areas of interest.
Finding and Evaluating Gray Literature
What is Gray Literature?
Generally gray literature is a work that is either informally published, or published by a non-commercial enterprise, such as an association, academic institution, or government agency. Gray literature includes reports, conference proceedings, research papers, dissertations and more.
Where to find Gray Literature?
• Organization websites – Look for tabs or links to Reports, Research, Publications or Resources.
• Use Google (not Google Scholar) -- Advanced Google Search allows you to get more focused results. Use exact phrase searching, limits to geographic regions or website domain ("org" or "gov"), and more.
How to Evaluate Gray Literature?
• Is the information from a reputable source? If it is unfamiliar, read the “About Us” section, and review the institutional affiliation of any members.
• What is the purpose of the organization or agency? Do they have an agenda, bias or commercial interest? Look for a mission statement.
• Is the information or research accurate and valid? Does information from other sources that you have read support or confirm the research?
• Is the information current or out-of-date?
Not finding what you need? Ask Us!
Intergovernmental
Links to the Education sections of selected intergovernmental organizations:
- African Development Bank (AfDB)AfDB contributes to international efforts to provide a quality education to all children by supporting its regional member countries in building schools, training teachers and providing learning materials and equipment.
- Inter-Agency Network for Education in Emergencies (INEE)INEE is a global network working together to ensure all persons the right to quality and safe education in emergencies and post-crisis recovery.
- Asian Development Bank (ADB)The educational priorities of ADB, an international development finance institution, include: quality, access, and completion of education; teacher education; curriculum and education materials development; inclusive education; and public and private partnerships.
- Interamerican Development Bank (IDB)Through its Education Division, the IDB works together with 26 borrower countries in Latin America and the Caribbean to focus on three main areas: early childhood development, school-to-work transition, and teacher quality.
- OECD iLibraryOECD iLibrary contains all books and papers published by the OECD since 1998, as well as a vast collection of statistics, including data going back to the early 1960s. It covers more than 80 countries on a wide range of topics including economics, education, environment and health.
- Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)OECD provides a forum for governments world-wide to work together on economic issues and policies, including education.
- Organización de Estados IberoamericanosInformation about the education systems in Central and South American countries. (Spanish)
- UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)UNHCR leads and coordinates international action to protect refugees, displaced communities and stateless people.
- UNESCO Institutes and Centres for EducationA list of links to the International Bureau of Education (IBE), International Institute for Educational Planning (IIEP), UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS), regional centers (Africa, Europe and North America, Latin America and Caribbean), and more.
- UNICEFUNICEF works in 190 countries world-wide to promote the rights and welfare of children
- World Bank EducationThe World Bank provides financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world to fight poverty and improve lives. The Bank works with countries to integrate education into national economic strategies and develop holistic and balanced education systems.
International Non-Governmental
- Educational Development CenterAn international non-profit dedicated to enhancing learning and promoting health.
- IREXAn international nonprofit organization working to extend access to quality education for all.
- Save the Children (Publications)Save the Children works to ensure that children in need grow up protected and safe, educated, healthy and well-nourished, and able to thrive in economically secure households.
Governmental Bilateral Development Assistance
- Department for International Development (DFID)DFID is the part of the UK government that manages Britain's aid to poor countries and works to get rid of extreme poverty.
- Global Affairs CanadaGlobal Affairs Canada manages Canada's diplomatic and consular relations, promotes the country's international trade and leads Canada’s international development and humanitarian assistance.
- Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)JICA is working toward the goal of universal access to education by contributing to the spread of basic education in developing countries. It also helps developing countries to improve their higher education and technical education systems as part of efforts to reduce poverty and build up the human resources needed to support economic development.
- USAIDUSAID is an independent US government agency supporting economic growth, health, and democracy globally to advance U.S. foreign policy.
Directories of International Organizations
- International Documents Task Force Web Links (ALA/GODORT)Directory of foreign governments and non-profit organizations from the American Library Association
- Yearbook of International Organizations OnlineSearchable database of international organizations. Types of organizations include formal structures, informal networks, professional bodies and recreational clubs.
