South America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean
NOTE: These lists are intended to be representative only and to pique curiosity. These basic sources can help you narrow down a topic and find useful keyword search terms to try in HOLLIS+ and article databases.
Archival Collections at Harvard
- Rubén Blades Archives at Harvard University, [19--?]-2009Recordings and liner notes, concert and rehearsal audio and video recordings, sheet music and arrangements, lyrics and translations, magazine and newspaper interviews and clippings, photos and mementos
Reference Sources
The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music by Call Number: Loeb Music Seeger Room ML199 .G36 2008 [+ 2 compact discs]
Afro-Cuban Music: a bibliographic guide by Call Number: Loeb Music Spalding Room ML3565 .G733 2012Publication Date: 2012-02-15
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. Volume 2, South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean by Call Number: Loeb Music, Archive of World Music CD 13011 (2); Seeger Room ML100 .G16 1998 v. 2 (book)Also available in Lamont, Tozzer and Widener Libraries
Music in Brazil by Call Number: Loeb Music Library ML3487.B7 M85 2006 1 book + 1 CD
Internet Resources
- Diaz-Ayala Cuban and Latin American Popular Music CollectionThe world's largest collection of Cuban music, with online discographies, biographies, and recording samples. Located at Florida International University.
- Digital Library of Latin American HeritageA collection including scores and recordings of Latin American music genres drawn from the national libraries of Spain, Brazil, Colombia, Portugal, Panama, and Chile.