United States and Canada
NOTE: These lists are intended to be representative only and to pique curiosity. These basic sources can help you narrow down a topic and find useful keyword search terms to try in Hollis and article databases.
Archival Collections at Harvard
- African American Historic Sound Recordings CollectionRecordings of spoken word and music: interviews, radio programs, jazz, blues, gospel, etc. The recordings in this collection must be digitized by the library's Audio Preservation Studio before use; please allow at least one week to prepare user copies. Contact Public Services for help using this collection
- Lou Church and Jack Fields contracts for Blue Note (Philadelphia) performances by jazz musicians, and other materials, 1949, 1955-1957This collection consists of contracts between various jazz artists and club owners or producers supplying the terms of agreement for the artists' performance engagements. Artists represented include Cannonball Adderley, Louis Armstong, The Australian Jazz Quintet, Count Basie, Miles Davis, Charles Mingus, The Modern Jazz Quartet and several others.
- Duke Ellington Recordings CollectionRecordings of Duke Ellington, American pianist, band leader, and composer, collected by Joseph Jeffers Dodge, jazz aficionado, artist, museum director, and Harvard University Class of 1940.
- Tom Everett Collection of Jazz ScoresScores and memorabilia documenting 40 years of jazz at Harvard.
Reference Sources
- African American Music ReferenceBrings together text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music.
- Encyclopedia of Music In CanadaThe Encyclopedia of Music in Canada, comprising over 3100 articles and 500 illustrations. Entries include biographies of Canadian musicians, and histories of organizations involved with any facet of music in Canada.
The Garland encyclopedia of world music. Volume 3, The United States and Canada by Call Number: Also available in print: Loeb Music: ML100.G16 1990 Seeger RoomISBN: 0824049446
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Call Number: Also available in print: Loeb Music ML102.P66 G84 2006 Aldrich Room
Native American Music in Eastern North America by Call Number: Loeb Music Library, Seeger Room ML3550 .D53 2008 [+ compact disc ]
Music in America by Call Number: Loeb Music Library ML200 .R48 2005 [+ compact disc ]
