Film Studies Bibliography
Film Studies Bibliography
Here is a brief list of some of best film studies reference books as well as the most handy books on major research topics. I've updated this list to include some recently published titles.
A New Trend?
A couple of new books on, of all things, Los Angeles studies:
Mex/L.A. : Mexican modernism(s) in Los Angeles, 1930-1985. Ostfildern : Cantz, 2011. HOLLIS record
Jones, Kellie. Now dig this! : art and Black Los Angeles, 1960-1980. L.A. : Hammer Museum, 2011. HOLLIS record
Genres
Aitken, Ian. Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film. New York: Routledge, 2006. HOLLIS record
Buscombe, Edward, Christopher Brookeman, and Film Institute British. The BFI Companion to the Western.
London: A. Deutsch :BFI Pub, 1988. HOLLIS record
Dussere, Erik. America is elsewhere : the noir tradition in the age of consumer culture. N.Y. : Oxford Univ. Press, 2014. HOLLIS record
Fagen, Herb. The Encyclopedia of Westerns. New York: Facts On File/Checkmark Books, 2003. HOLLIS record
Fischer, Dennis. Science Fiction Film Directors, 1895-1998. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2000. HOLLIS record
Hardy, Phil, and Film Institute British. The BFI Companion to Crime. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1997. HOLLIS record
Hoberman, J. Bridge of light : Yiddish film between two worlds. Hanover : Dartmouth College, 2010. HOLLIS record
Hollywood and the American historical film / edited by J.E. Smythe. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2012. HOLLIS record
Keaney, Michael F., 1947-. Film Noir Guide : 745 Films of the Classic Era, 1940-1959. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2003. HOLLIS record
Newman, Kim, and Film Institute British. The BFI Companion to Horror. London: Cassell, 1996. HOLLIS record
Osteen, Mark. Nightmare alley : film noir and the American dream. Baltimore : Johns Hopkins, 2013. HOLLIS record
Palmer, Bill, 1947-, Karen Palmer, and Richard Meyers 1953-. The Encyclopedia of Martial Arts Movies. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1995. HOLLIS record
Rovin, Jeff. The Encyclopedia of Superheroes. New York, NY: Facts on File, 1985. HOLLIS record
Warren, Bill, 1943-. Keep Watching the Skies! : American Science Fiction Movies of the Fifties. 21st century ed. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers, 2009. HOLLIS record
Wee, Valerie. Japanese horror films and their American remakes. N.Y. : Routledge, 2014. HOLLIS record
Criticism and Theory
Andrew, Dudley, ed. Opening Bazin : post-war film theory and its aftermath. N.Y. : Oxford Univ. Press, 2011. HOLLIS record
Coon, David. Look closer : suburban narratives and American values. New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers Univ. Press, 2014. HOLLIS record
Corrigan, Timothy. A short guide to writing about film. New York : Longman, 2010. HOLLIS record
Jean Epstein : critical essays and new translations. Amsterdam: Amsterdam Univ. Press, 2012. HOLLIS record
Fallaci, Oriana. Intervista con il mito. Milano : Rizzoli, 2010. HOLLIS record
Kellow, Brian. Pauline Kael : a life in the dark. N.Y. : Viking, 2011. HOLLIS record
Schiavi, Michael. Celluloid activist : the life and times of Vito Russo. Madison, Wis. : Univ. of Wisconsin Press, 2011. HOLLIS record
Directors
La peliculas de Almodovar. Madrid : Ediciones JC, 2010. HOLLIS record
Bernardo Bertolucci, il cinema e i film. Venezia : Marsilio, 2011. HOLLIS record
Pipolo, Tony. Robert Bresson, a passion for film. N.Y. : Oxford Univ. Press, 2010. HOLLIS record
Welsh, James Michael. The Francis Ford Coppola encyclopedia. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2010. HOLLIS record
Wilson, Scott. Politics of insects : David Cronenberg's cinema of confrontation. N.Y. : Continuum, 2011. HOLLIS record
Eyman, Scott. Empire of dreams : the epic life of Cecil B. DeMille. N.Y. : Simon & Schuster, 2010. HOLLIS record
Atom Egoyan: interviews / ed. by T.J. Morris. Jackson, Miss.: Univ. Press of Mississippi, 2010. HOLLIS record
Biondi, Mario. Fellini : il sogno italiano. Cesena : Il ponte vecchio, 2010. HOLLIS record
Gance, Abel. Prisme. Paris : EST-Samuel Tastet, 2010. HOLLIS record
Douin, Jean-Luc. Jean-Luc Godard: dictionnaire des passions. Paris : Stock, 2010. HOLLIS record
Serrut, Louis-Albert. Jean-Luc Godard, cineaste acousticien.Paris : Harmattan, 2010. HOLLIS record
Bouzereau, Laurent. Hitchcock, piece by piece. N.Y. : Abrams, 2010. HOLLIS record
A companion to Alfred Hitchcock / edited by Thomas Leitch and Leland Poague. Chichester : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011. HOLLIS record
Meyers, Jeffrey. John Huston : courage and art.N.Y. : Crown, 2011. HOLLIS record
Logan, Philip C. Humphrey Jennings and British documentary film : a re-assessment. Burlington, VT : Ashgate, 2011. HOLLIS record
Lanzmann, Claude. La tombe du divin plongeur. Paris : Gallimard, 2012. HOLLIS record
Hill, John. Ken Loach : the politics of film and television. Basingstroke : Palgrave Macmillan, 2011. HOLLIS record
The philosophy of David Lynch. Lexington, Ky. : Univ. Press of Kentucky, 2011. HOLLIS record
Michael Moore, filmmaker, newsmaker, cultural icon. Ann Arbor : Univ. of Michigan Press, 2010. HOLLIS record
McGilligan, Patrick. Nicholas Ray: the glorious failure of an American film director. N.Y. : It Books, 2011. HOLLIS record
Phillips, John. Alain Robbe-Grillet. N.Y. : Palgrave MacMillan, 2011. HOLLIS record
Robert Rodriguez : interviews. Jackson, Miss. : Univ. of Mississippi Press, 2012. HOLLIS record
Goerge A. Romero : interviews. Jackson, Miss. : Univ. of Mississippi Press, 2011. HOLLIS record
El cine de Raul Ruiz : fantasmas, simulacros y artificios. Santiago : Uqbar, 2010. HOLLIS record
Moeller, Hans-Bernhard. Volker Schlondorff's Filme. Berlin : Vorwerk 8, 2011. HOLLIS record
Moos, David. Julian Schnabel : art and film. Toronto : Art Gallery of Ontario, 2010. HOLLIS record
Schickel, Richard. Conversations with Scorsese. N.Y. : Knopf, 2011. HOLLIS record
Walker, Brent. Mack Sennett's fun factory. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 2010. HOLLIS record
The philosophy of Steven Soderbergh. Lexington, Ky. : Univ. of Kentucky Press, 2011. HOLLIS record
Redwood, Thomas. Andrei Tarkovsky's poetics of cinema. Newcastle-upon-Tyne : Cambridge Scholars, 2010. HOLLIS record
Baxter, John. Von Sternberg. Lexington, Ky. : Univ. of Kentucky Press, 2010. HOLLIS record
Moss, Marilyn Ann. Raoul Walsh : the true adventures of Hollywood's legendary director. Lexington, Ky. : Univ. of Kentucky Press, 2011. HOLLIS record
Franco Zeffirelli : complete works, theatre, opera, film. N.Y. : Abrams, 2010. HOLLIS record
Subjects
Abrams, Nathan. The new Jew in films. New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, 2012. HOLLIS record
Bean Jennifer, ed. Flickers of desire : movie stars of the 1910's. New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers Univ. Press, 2011. (See also other volumes in the "Star decades" series) HOLLIS record
Blizek, William L. The Continuum Companion to Religion and Film. London ;New York: Continuum, 2009. HOLLIS record
The British Film Institute, the goverment, and film culture, 1933-2000.Manchester : Manchester University Press, 2012. HOLLIS record
Booker, M. K. Film and the American Left : A Research Guide. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999. HOLLIS record
Coates, Paul. Cinema and colour : the saturated image.Basingstroke : Palgrave Macmillan, 2010. HOLLIS record
Crowdus, Gary, 1945-. The Political Companion to American Film. Chicago, Ill.: Lakeview Press, 1994. HOLLIS record
Erickson, Hal, 1950-. The Baseball Filmography, 1915 through 2001. 2nd ed. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2002. HOLLIS record
Gevinson, Alan. Within our Gates : Ethnicity in American Feature Films, 1911-1960. Berkeley, Ca.: University of California Press, 1997. HOLLIS record
Jewell, Richard B. RKO Radio Pictures : a titan is born. Berkeley : Univ. of California Press, 2012. HOLLIS record
Laporte, Nicole. The men who would be king : an almost epic tale of moguls, movies, and a company called Dreamworks. Boston : Houghton, Mifflin, Harcourt, 2010. HOLLIS record
Livingston, Paisley, 1951-, and Carl R. Plantinga. The Routledge Companion to Philosophy and Film. London ;New York: Routledge, 2009. HOLLIS record
Lyden, John, 1959-. The Routledge Companion to Religion and Film. London ;New York: Routledge, 2009. HOLLIS record
Perren, Alisa. Indie, Inc. : Miramax and the transformation of Hollywood in the 1990's. Austin : Univ. of Texas Press, 2012. HOLLIS record
Pickowicz, Paul. China on film. Lanham, Md. : Rowan & Littlefield, 2012. HOLLIS record
Rabkin, Leslie Y., 1935-. The Celluloid Couch : An Annotated International Filmography... Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1998. HOLLIS record
Reyes, Luis, 1953-, and Peter Rubie. Hispanics in Hollywood : A Celebration of 100 Years in Film and Television. Hollywood, Calif.: Lone Eagle Pub, 2000. HOLLIS record
Rockett, Kevin. The Irish Filmography : Fiction Films, 1896-1996. Dublin: Red Mountain Media, 1996. HOLLIS record
Rollins, Peter C. The Columbia Companion to American History on Film : How the Movies have Portrayed the American Past. New York: Columbia University Press, 2003. HOLLIS record
Sloan, Jane, 1946-. Reel Women : An International Directory of Contemporary Feature Films about Women. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2007. HOLLIS record
Vieira, Mark A. Irving Thalberg : boy wonder to producer prince. Berkeley : Univ. of California Press, 2010. HOLLIS record
Reference
Coates, Paul. Cinema and colour. New York : Macmillan, 2010. HOLLIS record
Conversations at the American Film Institute : the next generation. N.Y. : Knopf, 2012. HOLLIS record
Decherney, Peter. Hollywood's copyright wars. N.Y. : Columbia University Press, 2012. HOLLIS record
Kolker, Robert Phillip. The Oxford Handbook of Film and Media Studies. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. HOLLIS record
Kuhn, Annette. A dictionary of film studies / Annette Kuhn, Guy Westwell. New York : Oxford University Press, 2012. HOLLIS record
Manchel, Frank. Film Study : An Analytical Bibliography. Rutherford N.J., London: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press ;Associated University Presses, 1990. HOLLIS record
Nash, Jay Robert, and Stanley Ralph Ross. The Motion Picture Guide. Chicago: Cinebooks, 1999. HOLLIS record
Schatz, Thomas, 1948-. Hollywood : Critical Concepts in Media and Cultural Studies. London ;New York: Routledge, 2004. HOLLIS record
Siegel, Scott, et al. The Encyclopedia of Hollywood. 2nd ed. New York: Checkmark Books/Facts on File, 2004. HOLLIS record
Silvester, Christopher. The Penguin Book of Hollywood. 1st ed. London, England ;New York, N.Y., USA: Viking, 1998. HOLLIS record
Variety Film Reviews, 1907-1980. New York : Garland, 1983-1985. HOLLIS record
