Using Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a special version of Google specially designed for searching scholarly literature. It covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
A Harvard ID and PIN are required for Google Scholar in order to access the full text of books, journal articles, etc. provided by licensed resources to which Harvard subscribes. Indviduals outside of Harvard may access Google Scholar directly at http://scholar.google.com/, but they will not have access to the full text of articles provided by Harvard Library E-Resources.
The following screenshots illustrate some of the features that accompany individual records in Google Scholar's results lists.
Find It@Harvard – Locates an electronic version of the work (when available) through Harvard's subscription library resources. If no electronic full text is available, a link to the appropriate HOLLIS Catalog record is provided for alternative formats.
Group of – Finds other articles included in this group of scholarly works, possibly preliminary, which you may be able to access. Examples include preprints, abstracts, conference papers or other adaptations.
Cited By – Identifies other papers that have cited articles in the group.
Related Articles - The list of related articles is ranked primarily by how similar these articles are to the original result, but also takes into account the relevance of each paper. Finding sets of related papers and books is often a great way for novices to get acquainted with a topic.
Cached - The "Cached" link is the snapshot that Google took of the page when they crawled the web.
The page may have changed since that time and the cached page may reference images which are no longer available.
Web Search – Searches for information on the Web about this work using the Google search engine.
BL Direct – Purchase the full text of the article through the British Library. Once transferred into BL Direct, users can also link to the full collection of The British Library document supply content. Prices for the service are expressed in British pounds. Abstracts for some documents are provided.
The Advanced Search feature in Google Scholar allows researchers to limit their query to particular authors, publications, dates, and subject areas.
Page Last Reviewed: February 25, 2008