Google Book Search allows Harvard researchers to search the full text of scanned books (contributed by Harvard, other libraries, and publishers) via the Web, and to read selections or the full text of these digitized texts.
How to Access Google Book Search
Get the full benefits of Google Books by going through the Harvard library portal.
Access to the Harvard version of Google Book Search is provided through the E-Research @ Harvard Libraries site. Users can search Find E-Resources by title (entering Google Book Search in the field provided) or by selecting Google Book Search from the "Quick Jump to selected major resources " drop down menu. You can also bookmark GBS directly using the following URL: http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:hul.eresource:googlebk
Note: Researchers who connect to Google Book Search without going through a Harvard library web site or using the URL listed above will not have access to the full text materials licensed through Harvard libraries and will not see the Find at Harvard University link on the result screen.
Basic and Advanced Searching
Digging deeper with these useful search tips!
The Basic Search screen of Google Book Search is similar in design and functionality to Google's familiar Web search interface.
Simply enter keywords related to the book(s) you are searching for (such as author, title, subject, ISBN, etc.) and click on "Search Books." The same 10 Quick Search Tips listed in this guide for searching the Web with Google also apply to Google Book Search.
The Advanced Search screen for Google Book Search provides researchers with an easy way to expand or limit search terms, define the scope of a search, narrow a search to particular fields or select the number of results to be displayed.
Browsing Results
Deciphering a Google Books' results list.
A typical Google Book Search will yield a series of results. Here is an example of one result with a description of its features:
The record on the results screen will indicate how much of the book is available digitally: "No preview available," "Limited preview" or "Full view". By clicking on the book title link or the cover thumbnail image, users are taken directly to the "Preview this book" or "Read this Book" page. This is where, depending on copyright and availability, users can search the full text of a book and read selected passages or the entire book.
From the "About this book" section, researchers can read a summary of the book, browse the table of contents (TOC), view references from Web pages, find book reviews, explore other editions, see references to the book from other books and scholarly articles, discover related books, search related key terms, and locate places mentioned in the book via Google Maps. A "Search in this book" window is also featured on the "About this book" section.
MyLibrary in Google Book Search
How to create your own virtual library using Google Books.
If you have a Google account (to create one, go to: http://www.google.com/accounts), you can maintain a personalized library of your Google Book searches. This feature allows you to label, review, rate, and full-text search, a customized selection of books. These collections will live online and be accessible anywhere you can log in to your Google account. Once you've built a collection, you can share it with friends by sending them a link to your library in Google Book Search. You can even set up RSS feeds with friends so that they're alerted when you add new books to your collection. For step-by-step instructions on creating, organizing, and sharing your personal library of Google books, see the MyLibrary FAQ.
Downloading and Printing Books
When you want to turn a digital book back into paper.
Only selected books in the public domain (designated "Full view") can be downloaded and printed. On the results list, click the book title link or the cover thumbnail image to go directly to the “Read this book” page. Click
from the right menu to download and print selected pages or the entire book. It is not possible to print pages in the web view; you must download the PDF.
Linking to a Specific Titles
Creating persistent links to records in Google Books.
To link to a specific title, use the book’s International Standard Book Number (ISBN) and insert it in the following URL where indicated below:
http://books.google.com/books?vid=ISBN{insert ISBN Number here}
Here is an example with the ISBN integrated: http://books.google.com/books?vid=ISBN0262531372
Look for the ISBNs on the Google Book Search “About this Book” page. If there is no ISBN available, you may be able to use a Library of Congress Control Number (LCCN) or an Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) record number. Look for LCCN or OCLC numbers in the book’s HOLLIS Catalog or WorldCat record, or ask a librarian for assistance. For information about additional ways to link to a specific title In Google Book Search, see this page.