Additional Sources
Book reviews in newspapers can be found in the sources listed in Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature: ABELL (1920- ) includes citations of book reviews of literary works.
American humanities index (1975-2004) is good for book reviews in the literary reviews.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI3.A278
American literary and drama reviews: an index to late nineteenth century periodicals covers 13 periodicals for 1880-1900.
LOCATION: Theatre Collection: TS 10. 13.1.4
LOCATION: Widener: RR 2952.18
Book review digest (1906- ) offers abstracts of book reviews from about 100 U.S., Canadian, and British periodicals. 1900-1904 book reviews are in Readers' Guide Retrospective.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 675.2
Book review index, 1965-
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Ref Index Z1035.A1 B6
LOCATION: Widener: RR 675.3
Book review index to social science periodicals, 1964-1974. 4 v.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC H91.Z99 B66x 1978
Combined retrospective index to book reviews in scholarly journals (1886-1974) is an author/title index to over a million book reviews appearing in 459 scholarly journals in history, political science, and sociology. Reviewer's names not given.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 675. 22 Library has: v. 1-15
Combined retrospective index to book reviews in humanities journals (1802-1974) is an author/title index to about 500,000 book reviews appearing in over 150 English and American journals. Reviewer's names given where known.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 675. 23 Library has: 10 v.
Guia a las reseñas de libros de y sobre Hispanoamérica (1972-90) provides annotations (in English or Spanish) that summarize the reviews. Includes Brazil and the Dutch, English, and French-speaking Caribbean.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 675.24 Latest; WID-LC Z1035.A1G84 Earlier
Humanities index (1974- ) groups book reviews at the back of each volume.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.2.3
Continues:
Social sciences & humanities index, 1965-1974.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.R49 (1955-74)
LOCATION: Cabot Science PER 4210 (1965-74)
LOCATION: Loeb Design: PER (1971-74)
LOCATION: Widener: RR663.2Continues:
International index: a guide to periodical literature in the social sciences and humanities (1907-65). Before World War II, several foreign periodicals (French, German, Italian, Dutch, Irish, Spanish and Far Eastern) were indexed. Coverage is now American and English. Book reviews listed under book author (1907-74).
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.R49 (1955-65)
LOCATION: Cabot Science PER 4210 (1907/15, 1924-65)
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.2
Index to book reviews in the humanities (1960-90) indexes book reviews in several hundred primarily English-language periodicals; some foreign-language titles were added in 1970. At first included history and some aspects of the social sciences. In 1970 coverage was restricted to art and architecture, autobiography and biography, drama and dance, folklore, language, literature, music, philosophy, and travel.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 675.5
IBR - Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen wissenschaftlicher Literatur (1971- ) is a valuable listing of book reviews in non-English-language, especially German, periodicals.
Continues:
Bibliographie der Rezensionen, 1900-1943
Separate volumes in this series cover German and non-German periodicals. Covers around 3000 German and 2000 non-German periodicals.
LOCATION: WID-LC AI9.B6
Literary writings in America: a bibliography (1850-1940) is a printed card file (about 250,000 cards) resulting from a WPA project attempting to list all U.S. creative literature, including books and periodical articles, published 1850-1940. Not always complete or accurate but a valuable source especially for little-known writers. Book reviews listed by authors of book and of review. 8 v.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.7
Periodicals Index Online indexes thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 2001. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Can limit search to book reviews.
Poole's index to periodical literature (1802-1906) indexes 479 American and English periodicals. Articles are indexed by subject, not author. Fiction, poetry, plays are listed by title. Book reviews are listed under subject; reviews of fiction, poetry, plays are listed under the author of the work. Available in Nineteenth Century Masterfile and in print:
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 5 Library has: 6 v. in 7
Also: Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature, 1890-1899: with supplementary indexing, 1900-1922. 2 vols. 51 periodicals indexed by author, subject, and illustrator. Over 13,000 poems indexed under "poems", author, and some under subject. Book reviews are listed under book author. Indexing of 14 of the journals is carried forward until it is picked up by one of the Wilson indexes.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.R496
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM AI3.R496
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 6
Social sciences index (June 1974- ) groups book reviews at the back of each volume.
LOCATION: Baker Business: Reading Room (1974-93)
LOCATION: Tozzer: REF AI 3.S62 (1974-2004)
LOCATION: Widener: RR663.2.4
Continues:
Social sciences & humanities index, 1965-1974.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.R49 (1955-74)
LOCATION: Loeb Design: PER (1971-74)
LOCATION: Widener: RR663.2Continues:
International index: a guide to periodical literature in the social sciences and humanities, 1907-65.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.R49 (1955-65)
LOCATION: Cabot Science PER 4210 (1907/15, 1924-65)
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.2
Technical book review index (1917-1928, 1935-1988) indexes book reviews on pure and applied sciences, including some French and German titles.
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository Tec 200.13 (1917-28)
LOCATION: Cabot Science: PER 8030(1935-85)