Selected Sites
This is a short list of sites, most of which will lead to others hosting material of interest for literary studies and related fields. The first two are especially useful, in that respect.
A useful meta-guide to and collection of online resources across the humanities disciplines, from UCSB.
Making of America (U. Michigan)
"Drawing on the depth of primary materials at the Michigan and Cornell libraries, these two institutions are developing a thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. At the University of Michigan, approximately 1,600 books and ten journals with imprints primarily between 1850 - 1877 were selected, scanned, and made available through the present system. "
Making of America (Cornell)
Cornell's contributions to MOA, a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875
19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.
Founded at Carneige Mellon in 1990, as The English Server, and now at Iowa State University, includes collections of classic texts, bibliographies, critical commentary, and original publications of its contributors. It attempts to provide an alternative venue for scholarly work, particularly writings in the arts and humanities.
The site is devoted to literature, history, and culture in the age of Victoria. In addition to information on authors and their works, you can explore such related topics: genre, philosophy and religion, social history, and the arts. Includes books, a bibliography, guide to periodical research, and links to other websites of interest.
The ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
A very useful site: " The ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students. All articles have been judged by at least two peer reviewers. Authors are held to high standards of accuracy, currency, and relevance to the field of medieval studies. NOTE: ORB'S OCLC number is 35987956. Quick connect to other major medieval studies sites: Labyrinth | Internet Medieval Sourcebook | Netserf | World Wide Web Virtual Library/Medieval "
A collection of literary and other texts, reference tools (including Roget's Thesaurus, Columbia Encyclopedia, Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, The Harvard Classics Shelf of Fiction, and many other texts). There is advertising on the site, but the content can be very useful.
poetry@harvard is a resource for Harvard students and instructors, supporting the practice, study, and teaching of poetry at the University. It aims to create a portal to Harvard's varied collections, publications, and organizations, to provide curricular resources, and to serve as a venue for collaboration.
Profile
Widener Library
Harvard University