Online Audio and Video
Harvard subscribes to a number of streaming audio and video collections, each holding thousands of recordings, including:
- Music OnlineA family of audio and video collections, including: Classical Music Library; Jazz Music Library; Opera in Video; Dance in Video; American Song and African American Music; Smithsonian Global Sound; Contemporary World Music; Popular Music Library
- Naxos Music LibraryClassical, world, jazz, and folk recordings, with biographical information, opera synopses and libretti, glossaries and pronunciation guides.
- Naxos Music Library: JazzJazz, blues, R&B, rock, and spoken word from Blue Note, Fantasy, Warner, Naxos Jazz and 150+ record labels.
- Naxos Music Library WorldWorld music from the catalogues of Smithsonian Folkways, ARC Music, Nonesuch, and other labels.
- DRAMA collection focused on independent label American recordings (including New World Records and CRI), with liner notes,essays, bibliographies, and discographies
- KanopyKanopy provides access to films, documentaries, and television shows from a variety of independent filmmakers and distributors, including the BBC, PBS and the Criterion Collection.
Notable Library Collections
African American Historic Sound Recordings Collection: 350 recordings of spoken word and music: interviews, radio programs, jazz, blues, gospel, and more. The recordings in this collection must be digitized by the library's Audio Preservation Studio before use; please allow at least one week to prepare user copies. Contact Public Services staff for help using this collection (email, 5-2794, or ask for a supervisor at the circulation desk).
National Jukebox from Historic Recordings, Library of Congress
Area Libraries
Local public libraries are good places to look for recordings of popular music. Harvard students are eligible for library cards at both the Cambridge Public Library and the Boston Public Library.
