Research Guides: Mobile Resources for Medicine: Mobile Apps/Websites

Mobile Applications/Downloads

Dynamed
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care evidence-based information includes drug and disease information with 3000+ topics. Updated daily. References link to PubMed and fulltext. New evidence is integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed as appropriate representing a synthesis of the best available evidence.
Includes 500+ calculating tools. Annual renewal required. NEW APP APRIL 2015. To Install follow these steps:
To begin using the DynaMed iPhone app and Android applications, follow the instructions below.
Step 1: Download the app from the iTunes Store or Google Play.
Step 2: Access Dynamed through Countway's subscription:
http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:hul.eresource:dynamedl Click on Mobile link and request an email with your pass code.
Step 3: View the email on your device, then tap this authentication key
(Note: You must access the link in Step 2 from your device. The activation link will expire in 48 hours.)
Questions? Visit the support page or send an email to support@ebsco.com.
DynaMed is a point-of-care reference resource designed to provide doctors and medical researchers with the best available evidence to support clinical decision-making.

Micromedex
The gold standard in drug information -app is available through Countway. WEb access available. Device specific Drug Information apps available for iPhone and Android. Concise information on 4,500+ search terms, covering generic names, common trade names, dosages, indications, contraindications, adverse effects, and more.
To get the app:
1. Login to your online subscription to Micromedex (via MicromedexSolutions.com)
2. Click on the Download Mobile Apps link under Resources. A page will load with passwords for each of the mobile apps.
3. Write down your password; you'll need this later (the password is case sensitive).
4. If you haven't already, visit the appropriate app store for your device and download the apps you desire.
5. Launch the app on your mobile device, enter your password, and you're on your way!
Epocrates
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This drug and disease reference provides reliable clinical information at the point of care. Features include integrated disease database with conditions, plus over-the-counter medications and hundreds of diagnostic and laboratory tests. Drug database is free. Other content requires Epocrates Plus subscription.
more...less...
Once downloaded Internet is not required for access. Connect to update information.
Diagnosaurus 2.0
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Diagnosaurus 2.0® DDx Tool

1000+ differential diagnoses
Search by disease, symptom, or organ system
Derived from Quick Answers on AccessMedicine
Web access through HUL is free but requires login. Easiest access via web is advanced search for topic, then view DDx through multiline symbol. Does Not Require Internet Access if app is downloaded. Charges $1.99 for iOS and Android app. Other platforms are free
more...less...
.
EBSCOhost Online Research Databases
Access to EBSCOhost databases including CINAHL, Dentistry and Oral Health, PsycInfo, AltHealth. Access citations and abstracts, plus selected full-text articles.

Access: Institutional subscription paid for by Countway Library

To install, access databases listed from Library webpage. Scroll to the bottom of the database search page and click on link for 'EBSCOhost iPhone/iPod Touch Application'.
Eponyms (student version)
Tool that provides short descriptions of thousands of common and obscure eponyms.

Access: Free
ePrognosis
- This link opens in a new window
The free "ePrognosis: Cancer Screening" app aims to help trainees and practicing clinicians guide conversations with elderly patients of whether to start, stop, or continue breast cancer and/or colorectal cancer screening. The app is created around the idea that estimating prognosis is a critical aspect in the decision to recommend for or against cancer screening, as there is a long "lag-time to benefit" for these interventions. The objective is to focus cancer screening on those most likely to benefit from these medical interventions, and conversely, avoid screening in those who are unlikely to live long enough to see a benefit but will be exposed to immediate harms.
ePSS
Tool developed by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to assist primary care clinicians to identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. Based on current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF).

Access: Free
iRadiology
- This link opens in a new window
Lieberman's iRadiology Classics (HMS)- 500+ images, classic radiological findings of a multitude of abnormalities. Unlabeled images can be chosen from topics organized by organ system and pathological entity. Also keyword search. Users can zoom and scroll around the image in order to identify the relevant findings.
more...less...
Free
Medscape: WebMD
Drug reference that includes a drug interaction checker, medical news across 30 specialties, multimedia images and video, and access to continuing medication education activities.

Access: Free
Mobile MerckMedicus
Downloads available for The Merck Manual, Professional Edition, PDR Drug Information and 3D Anatomy.
You must be a licensed healthcare professional to download these apps.
Access: Free
NCBI Bookshelf
Selected texts from the NCBI Bookshelf can be freely downloaded. Titles include Clinical Methods, Genes and Disease, and Medical Microbiology.

Access: Free
Quick Answers Surgery
From the Access Surgery collection. Outlines on 360 surgery topics. DDx support. Some references. Registration with publisher required but access is free for HMS (AccessSurgery subscribers).
Radiation Emergency Medical Management
Selected, key files from the online, full version of REMM including management algorithms, dose estimator, triage information for adults and children, isotopes of interest, countermeasures, and emergency contacts.

Access: Free
Shots 2010
Contains childhood, adolescent, catch-up, and adult 2010 immunization schedules and references.

Access: Free
WISER
WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders) is a mobile application designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents.

Access: Free

New Mobile Resources

TRIP
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TRIP Database- a meta-search engine for evidence based medicine now has an adaptive mobile Interface. Just go to the usual www.tripdatabase.com from your smartphone and start finding evidence more easily on the move. On the simplified mobile screen, a “Refine” tab, lets you see the levels of evidence available for you topic and go directly to the one you want.
Red Cross First Aid App
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Expert advice for everyday emergencies in your hand. Available for iPhone and Android devices, the official American Red Cross First Aid app gives you instant access to the information you need to know to handle the most common first aid emergencies. With videos, interactive quizzes and simple step-by-step advice it’s never been easier to know first aid.
more...less...
Preloaded content means you have instant access to all safety information at anytime, even without reception or an Internet connection.

Mobile-Optimized Websites

AccessMedicine Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SCUT MONKEY- Clinician Pocket Reference Plus full-text clinical textbooks including Harrison's Online, CuRRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 201, Picture Galleries from Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology,
Clinician's Pocket Reference: The Scut Monkey, 11e, Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2009, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Quick Answers, Diagnosaurus, Drug monographs. You Must Create a Personal Account IN Access Medicine first!
more...less...
You Must Create a Personal Account IN Access Medicine first! Go through link from Countway or HOLLIS and create a personal login. Then use this from your phone to access all the Access Medicine collection.
Access Surgery
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A huge collection of famous surgical textbooks and atlases. Also includes shelf exam study books, sign up to receive a question/answer every day. Videos of procedures.
more...less...
You Must Create a Personal Account IN Access Medicine or Access Surgery first! Go through link from Countway or HOLLIS and create a personal login. Then use this from your phone to access all the Access Medicine collection.
Stat-Ref Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of online texts now available for mobile.
To download app you must first create a "temporary login account" at the regular Stat-Ref interface on your computer. Then go to the iTunes or Playstore and download the app. Use your temporary login account to authenticate as being from Harvard. This gives you a much better interface and access to titles like ACP Medicine and MedCalc easier to navigate. You will need to periodically "renew" your account.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Available for iPhone or iPad. Click on the link at the bottom of the page, enter your Harvard email, and you will receive instructions. Authoritative coverage of nursing and allied health literature. Coverage: 1981 - Present. Produced by Ebsco Publishing. Nursing literature often has excellent educational reviews of procedures, and techniques.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL.

MedlinePlus Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A consumer health site developed by the National Library of Medicine with links to health topics, prescription and over-the-counter drug information, a dictionary of medical words, and current health news.
PubGet Mobile
Searches PubMed content and provides immediate access to available PDFs. Select Harvard as your institution. Harvard ID and PIN login will be required to view pdfs.
PubMed for Handhelds
Search PubMed via a mobile-optimized website. PICO search available.
Shots 2010
Contains childhood, adolescent, catch-up, and adult 2010 immunization schedules and references.
more...less...
Inexpensive purchase
TOXNET Mobile
Toxicology and hazardous chemicals databases including HSDB, IRIS, ITER, GENE-TOX, CCRIS, TOXLINE, DART/ETIC, TRI, and ChemIDPlus. Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, through the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program of its Specialized Information Services Division.

Anatomy

Anatomical Flap App
- This link opens in a new window
A patron just recommended this Anatomical Flap App. You can move around the organs of this 16th century anatomical print and lift up layers. It looks best on an IPAD.

more...less...
Harvard Art Museums Anatomical Flap App
View and use a 16th-century anatomical flap print from the Harvard Art Museums exhibition Prints and the Pursuit of Knowledge in Early Modern Europe.

Language Resources

Audio Spanish
- This link opens in a new window
Free. From Mavro. Available from the iTunes store.
Canopy Medical Translator
- This link opens in a new window
Translated medical phrases covering history, physical exam, procedures, and reassessment in Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, Bengali, Filipino, Hindi, Korean, Malay, Portuguese, Russian, Vietnamese, and more. And when needed, call medical interpreters with one click right from the app. Free.
more...less...
Funding from and award recipient of the NIH. Request an access code (this may take a day or more) and then use it to access the app.
Medical Spanish
- This link opens in a new window
App provides review of system questions, medical and social history questions and vocabulary words, physical exam instructions and common phrases and expressions in Spanish.

Access: Purchase from iTunes Store