International Resources
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)Suite of global research services that including city and country data, country finance, country forecast, country profiles,and country risk service.
- UNDataCountry-wide statistics on topics including are crime, employment, energy, environment, industry, national accounts, population, trade and tourism.
- OECD: StatExtractsThe Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development's country-wide statistics on topics such as demography, development, environment, health, labour and transport.
- OECD: iLibrarySourceOECD provides online access to the many publications put out by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases.
- World Bank: World Development IndicatorsWDI (World Development Indicators) Online contains statistical data from the World Bank for over 1,100 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data can be exported in Excel
- World Bank: eLibraryA repository of all WB knowledge products since the 1990s
- IMF: eLibraryStatistical database from the International Monetary Fund. Includes the popular datasets: International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Balance of Payments Statistics and Government Finance Statistics.
- UN Atlas of the OceansThis online ocean atlas provides information relevant to the sustainable development of the oceans. It is a collaborative effort between the UN and a number of scientific institutions. Included are maps, links to related sites, and more than 2,000 documents on 900 relevant subjects.
- UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs (ESA): Population DivisionIncludes a link to the most recent World Urbanization Prospects document, link to excel tables showing statistics on urban and rural populations
- UN Development Programme (UNDP): Human Development ReportsProvides data from the Human Development Reports which are commissioned by the United Nations Development Programme. They show measurements of development, poverty, gender empowerment, etc.
- UN Environment Programme (UNEP): Knowledge RepositoryAll publications released by UNEP including landuse atlases by country and annual reports.
- UN International Labour Organization (ILO): LaborstaProvides data on employment, unemployment, wages, hours of work, occupational injuries and more. Also includes employment projections through 2020.
- World Bank: WB Data CatalogAccess to WB datasets and reports in a variety of formats, including WDI indicators and other indices.
Health Data (International)
World Health Organization (WHO)
The World Health Organization website publishes health data relating to burden of disease statistics, health personnel, mortality, population and much more. This site also provides excel files of the statistical annex to the World Health Report.
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
PAHO is the regional office for the America’s for the World Health Organization. The data available on this site includes the Atlas of Inequities, Basic Health Indicators, Core Health Data, Country Health Profiles and Trends and Situations.
World Bank
The World Bank produces many different publications relating to health and health care. A few of publications include:
- Health, Nutrition and Population
- Poverty (including poverty and health)
- World Development Indicators
- World Bank Data Catalog
Global Health
The US Department of Health and Human Services publishes this website. Data resources include country information, world health statistics, and fact sheets.
Incidence and Prevalence Database (Harvard E-resource)
Provides epidemiological and market research data related to healthcare products and services. Covers over 4,500 diagnoses and procedures, providing data on epidemiology (incidence, prevalence, morbidity, and mortality), census results, cost analysis, and concomitant diseases.
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) (HOLLIS E-resource)
The OECD publishes several health resources including annual and periodical titles that are country and/or subject specific, factbooks that are subject specific and working papers that all hold data. The Health Data resource provides data on health status, health care resources and utilization, expenditure and financing in the health care industry, as well as data on the pharmaceutical industry and non-medical determinants of health.
United Nations: Statistics Division
This United Nations (UN) website provides basic health data including life expectancy, infant mortality rates and child mortality rates for over 100 countries worldwide.
United Nations: UN Data Access System
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) has a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Topics included are agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, health, industry, national accounts, population, trade and tourism.
United Nations: Human Development Report
This website provides the full-text of these reports from 1990-present. These thematic reports focus on issues ranging from health to education to globalization to human rights. The site also provides a link to the Human Development Indicators database.
United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF)
The main UNICEF website publishes health-related data in the form of country tables. You may also search by indicator.
UNICEF: Monitoring the Situation of Children and Women
This UNICEF website publishes child health, nutrition and survival data, and maternal health data. They can be searched by subject, indicator or keyword search.
USAid
USAid is an independent federal government agency that collects and publishes data related to global health, economics, agriculture and trade. Global health topics include child survival, HIV/AIDS, Infectious diseases, nutrition and maternal health, and population. The information on this site is mainly text, with some health data available.
Health Data (US)
National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the nation’s principal health statistics agency. Data are collected from birth and death records, medical records, interviews, direct physical exams and laboratory testing. The site contains a link to “FASTATS A-Z” which allows the user to search for health statistics by topic. The site provides both summary-level and micro-level data. Data from the following studies and surveys is available on the NCHS website:
- Health, United States
- National Health Interview Survey
- National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
- National Health Care Survey
- National Vital Statistics System
- National Immunization Survey
- National Hospital Ambulatory Medical Care Survey
- National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey
- National Survey of Ambulatory Surgery
- National Hospital Discharge Survey
- National Nursing Home Survey
- National Home and Hospice Care Survey
- National Employer Health Insurance Survey
- National Health Provider Inventory
Centers for Disease Control
The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) is the federal agency that is responsible for developing and applying disease prevention and control, and preparing health promotion and education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States. Links to data and information on the following surveys and studies available on the CDC website include:
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
- Pediatric Nutrition Surveillance System
- Pregnancy Nutrition Surveillance System
- Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance
- WISQARS- (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System)
CDC Wonder
This site provides links to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data. Topics include chronic diseases, communicable diseases, environmental health, health practice and prevention, injury prevention, and occupational health.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) publishes evidence-based information on health care outcomes; quality; and cost, use, and access. Data available on this site include:
- Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
- Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
- HIV and AIDS Costs and Use (HIVnet)
Beneficiary/Non-Beneficiary Files
The CMS also publishes Beneficiary and Non-Beneficiary files and Cost Reports that are available for purchase. Some of these files are restricted and a Data User Agreement will have to be completed before the data is released. These files contain data relating to county and zip code enrollment, provider and hospital services, physician/supplier procedure and healthcare cost reports.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Although the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the federal agency that collects and disseminates data related mainly to labor economics, they do publish studies and surveys on their website that ask health, occupational illness, workplace injuries and health insurance related questions:
- National Longitudinal Survey of Youth
- National Longitudinal Surveys of Young Women and Mature Women
- National Longitudinal Survey of Young Men and Older Men
- Injuries, Illnesses and Fatalities
Center for Studying Health System Change (HSC)
The mission of this independent research organization is to “inform health care decision makers about changes in the health care system at both the local and national levels and the effects of such changes on people.” The center designs studies and collects and disseminates the data in the form of summary-level data (data bulletins) on their site. Recent Data Bulletin subjects have included physician income, tracking health care costs, and individuals most likely to change health care plans. The center also publishes the data in a micro-level format available through the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). These data sets are also available through the IQSS Dataverse.
Incidence and Prevalence Database (Harvard E-resource)
Provides epidemiological and market research data related to healthcare products and services. Covers over 4,500 diagnoses and procedures, providing data on epidemiology (incidence, prevalence, morbidity, and mortality), census results, cost analysis, and concomitant diseases.
Integrated Health Interview Series
The Integrated Health Interview Series (IHIS) from the Minnesota Population Center at the University of Minnesota is a harmonized set of data and documentation based on material originally included in the public use files of the U.S. National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) and distributed for free over the internet. NHIS is the principal source of information on the health of the U.S. population, covering such topics as general health status, the distribution of acute and chronic illness, functional limitation, access to and use of medical services, and insurance coverage. The IHIS facilitates cross-time comparisons of these invaluable survey data by coding variables identically across time.
Internet Crossroads in Social Science Data
The University of Wisconsin Data and Program Library Service publishes the Internet Crossroads in Social Science Data (Crossroads) webpage that contains over 875 links to worldwide data resources. Users may enter keywords in the search function or browse through the topic related links. The Health link provides over 50 health related data resources, both national and international in scope.
Kaiser Family Foundation
The Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF) is an independent organization that collects and publishes health care data. Three of its main research focuses are Health Policy, Media and Public Education, and Health and Development in South Africa. There is also a link for State Health Facts. The site provides both a “search” and a “browse by topic” option.
Medicare/Medicaid Data Compendium
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) publishes this annual compendium that contains data relating to Medicare enrollment and Medicaid recipients, expenditures, utilization, budget, and administrative and operating costs.
National Survey of America’s Families
The Urban Institute, an independent nonprofit policy research and educational organization, publishes this survey data. The National Survey of America’s Families collects data on the children, adults under 65 years of age and families in 13 states. Data relates to a variety of topics including education, economic status, health care, health insurance and family structure. These data sets are available through the IQSS Dataverse.
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program
SEER is a program of the National Cancer Institute. Statistics available from this site include tables, graphs and maps of cancer incidence, mortality, prevalence, and the probability of developing or dying from cancer.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
The US Department of Health and Human Services collects and publishes data related to health, disability, human services, and science.
US Statistical Abstracts
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThe single most comprehensive source of statistical data on the United States. Includes 2012 Statistical Abstract and links to earlier Statistical Abstracts (back to 1878). Ceased publication in 2012.
Federal Reserve System
- Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)Started by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, FRASER preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents. Includes economic indicators back to 1948, publications from the Federal Reserve system and speeches of Fed policymakers.
- Federal Research Economic Data (FRED)A database of more than 61,000 economic time series from 47 sources maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
- Federal Reserve System: Economic Research & DataFederal Reserve website that provides online access to statistics and historical data as well as surveys, reports, working papers and articles.
Other Federal Agencies
- Budget of the United StatesProvides the full-text of U.S. budgets from 1995 to the present.
- Economic IndicatorsThis monthly compilation provides economic data on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, and money.
- Economic Report of the PresidentAn annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
- FedStatsLinks to the statistics produced by more than 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government.
- U.S. Bureau of Economic AnalysisUS Department of Commerce site providing national and regional economic accounts data, including national industry data by GDP.
- U.S. Census BureauDemographic and economic data from the U.S. Census. The data is updated at regular intervals throughout the decade.
- U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)Independent agency under Congress that investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. Includes reports and testimony
- Global HealthThe US Department of Health and Human Services publishes this website. Data resources include country information, world health statistics, and fact sheets.
International Data Resources (NEW)
http://harvard.v1.libguides.com/content.php?pid=672844&sid=5577695#21215673