- LawfareA blog dedicated to national security issues, published by the Lawfare Institute in cooperation with the Brookings Institution.
- Politico Pro (Harvard Login)In depth news and analysis on current issues before Congress with extra subscriber-only content. Includes defense and cybersecurity news pages.
- Just SecurityNational security blog with numerous contributors.
- Foreign Policy (Harvard Login)Leading magazine for in-depth analysis of U.S. foreign policy, and relations with Russia, North Korea, the Middle East and Europe.Direct link to site's security channel.
- Oxford Handbook on International Security (Harvard Login)The 48 essays collected in this Handbook use such questions to provide a tour of the most innovative and exciting new areas of research as well as major developments in established lines of inquiry in international security studies.
- Oxford Handbook on US National Security (Harvard Login)Contributors include senior practitioners in US national security institutions and top academics in the field. Essays are geared toward both scholars within academia as well as graduate students in practitioner-oriented programs.
- Research Handbook on the EU’s Common Foreign and Security Policy (Harvard Login)Examines the law, policy and practice of the EU’s Common Foreign and Security Policy, including the Common Security and Defence, and gauges its interactions with the other external policies of the Union (including trade, development, energy), as well as the evolving political and economic challenges that face the European Union.
Articles & Reports
- DTIC OnlineA searchable database for the full-text of U.S Department of Defense research publications. Includes technical reports, dissertations and Congressional testimony.
- Military & Government Collection (Harvard Login)Provides full text access to more than 300 journals on military and government topics.
- ProQuest Military Database (Harvard Login)Includes scholarly and trade publications covering a wide range of topics, from military technology and armaments to defense policy, national and international security, counterterrorism, etc.
- Oxford Bibliographies (Harvard Login)Recent articles written by academic experts, with commentary and annotations on a variety of international and national security topics.
- US Department of State,Country Reports on TerrorismAnnual report on trends and events in international terrorism that occur in individual countries.
- National Academies PressPublished reports by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine. Includes large selection of security topics.
- East View Russia Military and Security PeriodicalsRussian defense and security journals from official and independent sources. Eastview also includes the leading English language Russian defense journal, Moscow Defense Brief
- U.S Declassified Documents (Harvard Login)The majority of these documents are presidential records and all of them were formerly classified. They provide a unique, behind-the-scenes view of the highest level of American policymaking on the most sensitive issues of national security and foreign policy.
- Digital National Security Archive (Harvard Login)Over 43,000 of the most important declassified documents that led to key policy decisions in the post-World War II era.
- Homeland Security Digital Library (Harvard Login)Access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents.
- US Department of Defense ArchivesIncludes speeches, press releases, stories, contracts and other publications dating back to the mid 1990s.
Statistics & Data
Arms & Expenditures
- DoD Budget Request MaterialsThe Under Secretary of Defense (Comptroller's) budget materials site provides detailed documentation for the current and past DoD budget requests, including the National Defense Budget Estimates from 1998 to present (the "Green Book").
- Global Firepower rankingsCommercial site that ranks countries by each nation's war-making capabilities.
- Military Balance (Harvard Login)Published by the IISS, the Military Balance is the annual assessment of the military capabilities and defense economics of 170 countries world-wide, produced annually by the IISS since 1961.
- SIPRI Military Expenditure DatabaseMilitary expenditure data based on open sources only, including a SIPRI questionnaire which is sent out annually to all participating countries.
- SIPRI Yearbook: World Armaments and Disarmament (Print Only)This annual yearbook is a compendium of data and analysis in the areas of: security and conflicts, military spending and armaments and non-proliferation, arms control and disarmament.
- Small Arms SurveyIncludes the following data on global violent deaths,global firearms holdings, peace operations data set, small arms trade transparency barometer and unplanned explosions at munitions sites
- United Nations Report on Military ExpendituresSearchable database of military expenditures by country.
- World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers (WMEAT)Annual publication from the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance that provides statistical information and in-depth analysis on military expenditures, arms transfers, armed forces, and related economic data for each country of the world.
Reports issued under previous administrations can be found in the "archived reports" section; most recently: 2017-2021, 2009-2017.
Armed Conflict & Terrorism
- Correlates of War ProjectIncludes datasets on international relations topics, including international conflict, militarized international disputes, bilateral trade, and diplomatic exchanges.
- CPOST Suicide Attack DatabaseComprises the most complete and comprehensive list of suicide attacks since 1980. Hosted by University of Chicago's Project on Security & Terrorism.
- Global Terrorism DatabaseHosted by University of Maryland, an open-source database that includes information on terrorist events around the world. Includes data on domestic, transnational and international terrorist incidents.
- Terrorism & Preparedness Data Resource CenterICPSR-hosted archive containing data about terrorism, homeland security and government preparedness issues. Includes Terrorism and Preparedness Survey Archive with data from relevant surveys conducted around the world.
- World Handbook of Political IndicatorsA set of country-level measures of contentious political events. Covers 231 countries and territories using 40 event forms to identify 263,912 events. Political events are identified by searching Reuters news wire stories.
- Center for Security Studies, ETH ZurichAn online library that specifically focuses on international relations and security studies. The library now includes approximately 75,000 open source books, chapters, articles, reports, transcripts, etc. Hosted by Center for Security Studies (CSS) at ETH Zurich
- Center for Strategic and Budgetary AssessmentsThink tank with detailed reports on national security strategy, defense planning and military investment options for the 21st century.
- Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)One of top US think tanks on national security and international relations.
- Federation of American ScientistsContains CRS reports, issue briefs and other publications on national and international security issues connected to applied science and technology.
- HKS Library Think Tank SearchA Google Custom Search of nearly 700 think tanks and research center websites.
- International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS)British research institute with a focus on international security and international relations.
- James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies (CNS)Largest non-governmental organization in the United States devoted exclusively to research and training on nonproliferation issues.
- National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to TerrorismA university-based research center committed to the scientific study of the causes and human consequences of terrorism in the United States and across the globe.
- Rand CorporationA non-profit research think tank that publishes over 17,000 reports dating from 1948. Topics include criminal justice, national security, terrorism and international affairs.
Hot Topic: Ukraine
Hot Topic: Ukraine
For context on the current crisis in Ukraine, here are a few resources:
Articles and Reports
- HKS Insights and Analysis on the Russia-Ukraine WarRead what Harvard Kennedy School faculty members and other experts are saying about the Russia-Ukraine war. From geopolitics to sanctions to the role of misinformation and cyberattacks, HKS scholars analyze the Russian invasion of Ukraine and what it means for the world.
- Harvard Ukrainian Research InstituteThe website of HURI features extensive information on Ukraine, both historical and contemporary, including MAPA: Digital Atlas of Ukraine and a dedicated page with background and updates on Russia's War on Ukraine.
- Congressional Research Service: Reports on UkraineThis links to a search for constantly updated research and analysis on Ukraine by CRS researchers.
- EastView Universal Databases (Harvard Login)This collection of databases covers news, scholarly periodicals, and a wealth of primary sources on Russia, Ukraine, and other former Soviet republics, including the Ukrainian National Bibliography.
- EMIS (Harvard Login)This database contains market research, company research, as well as economic information on emerging markets, including up-to-date information on Ukraine, Russia, and other parts of Eastern Europe.
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) (Harvard Login)This database indexes English-language humanities and social science scholarship on Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, starting in 1989.
- Historical Abstracts (Harvard Login)This database surveys scholarship on world history from 1450 to the present and has excellent coverage of the history of Eastern Europe in a variety of languages.
- Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliography (Harvard Login)This database indexes journal articles, books, etc., in the social sciences and humanities, mostly those published in Russia and other Eastern European or Eurasian countries.