The 48 essays collected in this Handbook use such questions to provide a tour of the most innovative and exciting new areas of research as well as major developments in established lines of inquiry in international security studies.
Contributors include senior practitioners in US national security institutions and top academics in the field. Essays are geared toward both scholars within academia as well as graduate students in practitioner-oriented programs.
Examines the law, policy and practice of the EU’s Common Foreign and Security Policy, including the Common Security and Defence, and gauges its interactions with the other external policies of the Union (including trade, development, energy), as well as the evolving political and economic challenges that face the European Union.
The majority of these documents are presidential records and all of them were formerly classified. They provide a unique, behind-the-scenes view of the highest level of American policymaking on the most sensitive issues of national security and foreign policy.
The Under Secretary of Defense (Comptroller's) budget materials site provides detailed documentation for the current and past DoD budget requests, including the National Defense Budget Estimates from 1998 to present (the "Green Book").
Annual publication from the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance that provides statistical information and in-depth analysis on military expenditures, arms transfers, armed forces, and related economic data for each country of the world.
Reports issued under previous administrations can be found in the "archived reports" section; most recently: 2017-2021, 2009-2017.
Hosted by University of Maryland, an open-source database that includes information on terrorist events around the world. Includes data on domestic, transnational and international terrorist incidents.
ICPSR-hosted archive containing data about terrorism, homeland security and government preparedness issues. Includes Terrorism and Preparedness Survey Archive with data from relevant surveys conducted around the world.
A set of country-level measures of contentious political events. Covers 231 countries and territories using 40 event forms to identify 263,912 events. Political events are identified by searching Reuters news wire stories.
An online library that specifically focuses on international relations and security studies. The library now includes approximately 75,000 open source books, chapters, articles, reports, transcripts, etc. Hosted by Center for Security Studies (CSS) at ETH Zurich
Read what Harvard Kennedy School faculty members and other experts are saying about the Russia-Ukraine war. From geopolitics to sanctions to the role of misinformation and cyberattacks, HKS scholars analyze the Russian invasion of Ukraine and what it means for the world.