National & International Security

A blog dedicated to national security issues, published by the Lawfare Institute in cooperation with the Brookings Institution.

In depth news and analysis on current issues before Congress with extra subscriber-only content. Includes defense and cybersecurity news pages.

National security blog with numerous contributors.

Leading magazine for in-depth analysis of U.S. foreign policy, and relations with Russia, North Korea, the Middle East and Europe.Direct link to site's security channel.

The 48 essays collected in this Handbook use such questions to provide a tour of the most innovative and exciting new areas of research as well as major developments in established lines of inquiry in international security studies.

Contributors include senior practitioners in US national security institutions and top academics in the field. Essays are geared toward both scholars within academia as well as graduate students in practitioner-oriented programs.

Examines the law, policy and practice of the EU’s Common Foreign and Security Policy, including the Common Security and Defence, and gauges its interactions with the other external policies of the Union (including trade, development, energy), as well as the evolving political and economic challenges that face the European Union.

A searchable database for the full-text of U.S Department of Defense research publications. Includes technical reports, dissertations and Congressional testimony.

Provides full text access to more than 300 journals on military and government topics.

Includes scholarly and trade publications covering a wide range of topics, from military technology and armaments to defense policy, national and international security, counterterrorism, etc.

Recent articles written by academic experts, with commentary and annotations on a variety of international and national security topics.

Annual report on trends and events in international terrorism that occur in individual countries.

Published reports by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine. Includes large selection of security topics.

Russian defense and security journals from official and independent sources. Eastview also includes the leading English language Russian defense journal, Moscow Defense Brief

The majority of these documents are presidential records and all of them were formerly classified. They provide a unique, behind-the-scenes view of the highest level of American policymaking on the most sensitive issues of national security and foreign policy.

Over 43,000 of the most important declassified documents that led to key policy decisions in the post-World War II era.

Access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents.

Includes speeches, press releases, stories, contracts and other publications dating back to the mid 1990s.

The Under Secretary of Defense (Comptroller's) budget materials site provides detailed documentation for the current and past DoD budget requests, including the National Defense Budget Estimates from 1998 to present (the "Green Book").

Commercial site that ranks countries by each nation's war-making capabilities.

Published by the IISS, the Military Balance is the annual assessment of the military capabilities and defense economics of 170 countries world-wide, produced annually by the IISS since 1961.

Military expenditure data based on open sources only, including a SIPRI questionnaire which is sent out annually to all participating countries.

This annual yearbook is a compendium of data and analysis in the areas of: security and conflicts, military spending and armaments and non-proliferation, arms control and disarmament.

Includes the following data on global violent deaths,global firearms holdings, peace operations data set, small arms trade transparency barometer and unplanned explosions at munitions sites

Searchable database of military expenditures by country.

Annual publication from the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance that provides statistical information and in-depth analysis on military expenditures, arms transfers, armed forces, and related economic data for each country of the world.
Reports issued under previous administrations can be found in the "archived reports" section; most recently: 2017-2021, 2009-2017.

Includes datasets on international relations topics, including international conflict, militarized international disputes, bilateral trade, and diplomatic exchanges.

Comprises the most complete and comprehensive list of suicide attacks since 1980. Hosted by University of Chicago's Project on Security & Terrorism.

Hosted by University of Maryland, an open-source database that includes information on terrorist events around the world. Includes data on domestic, transnational and international terrorist incidents.

ICPSR-hosted archive containing data about terrorism, homeland security and government preparedness issues. Includes Terrorism and Preparedness Survey Archive with data from relevant surveys conducted around the world.

A set of country-level measures of contentious political events. Covers 231 countries and territories using 40 event forms to identify 263,912 events. Political events are identified by searching Reuters news wire stories.

An online library that specifically focuses on international relations and security studies. The library now includes approximately 75,000 open source books, chapters, articles, reports, transcripts, etc. Hosted by Center for Security Studies (CSS) at ETH Zurich

Think tank with detailed reports on national security strategy, defense planning and military investment options for the 21st century.

One of top US think tanks on national security and international relations.

Contains CRS reports, issue briefs and other publications on national and international security issues connected to applied science and technology.

A Google Custom Search of nearly 700 think tanks and research center websites.

British research institute with a focus on international security and international relations.

Largest non-governmental organization in the United States devoted exclusively to research and training on nonproliferation issues.

A university-based research center committed to the scientific study of the causes and human consequences of terrorism in the United States and across the globe.

A non-profit research think tank that publishes over 17,000 reports dating from 1948. Topics include criminal justice, national security, terrorism and international affairs.