This collection includes correspondence, financial and legal documents, research notes and drafts of writings, teaching notes, organizational records, photographs, audiovisual material, and memorabilia. Most of the material dates from the 1950s to the 1970s.

This collection includes personal and professional correspondence, photographs, clippings by and about Friedan, drafts of The Second Stage (1981), The Fountain of Age (1993), and It Changed My Life (1985), revisions for the 20th anniversary edition of The Feminine Mystique (1983), speeches, lectures, teaching material, research notes, and records from Friedan's involvement with a number of organizations.

This collection includes personal and business correspondence, drafts of books and articles, financial and legal documents, research and teaching notes, and organizational records of Men, Women and Media, an organization Friedan co-founded in 1988 to analyze gender parity and representation in different forms of media. Responses from friends and readers to Friedan’s books The Second Stage (1981) and The Fountain of Age (1993) are included, as are reviews, clippings, and lecture material, much of it about aging. Some material documents Friedan’s involvement with feminist and Jewish organizations, as well as with New York City, Long Island, and national politics.

This collection consists of audiotapes of radio broadcasts, speeches, and lectures by Friedan.

This collection consists of video recordings of interviews with, speeches and lectures by, and symposia led by Friedan.

The National Organization for Women (NOW) was formed on June 30, 1966, during the Third National Conference of Commissions on the Status of Women in Washington, D.C. NOW was incorporated in 1967, and local chapters were formed; by 1975 there were over 600 chapters. As membership increased, the organization addressed more issues, including a "war on poverty," the Equal Rights Amendment, child care, abortion rights, sexual harassment, women in government, women and religion, and violence against women. Friedan was among the founders of NOW and was its first president.

The Tully-Crenshaw Feminist Oral History Project was initiated and funded in 1990 by Mary Jean Tully in honor of her mother, Maude Gresham Crenshaw, in conjunction with the Schlesinger Library. Its goal was to document the founding and development of the National Organization for Women (NOW) and the NOW Legal Defense & Education Fund, as well as the role of Betty Friedan in NOW and Friedan's legacy in the women's movement. The collection includes interviews with Betty Friedan.