Library Research Guides
If you want to dig deeper, there are two indispensible (and comprehensive) research guides maintained by Fred Burchsted:
Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes
Guide to Periodicals [i.e. magazines and other non-newspaper periodicals]
Library Resources for Historical Newspapers
- Access Newspaper Archive
This database of historical newspapers includes many titles from small town newspapers in the United States as well as some titles from other countries.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Full-text database of newspapers published in the United States. Includes titles from all 50 states, in separately searchable series: Early American Newspapers Series 1-9, 1690-1922; 20th-Century American Newspapers Series 1-3, 1690-1993; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971 and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
- Associated Press Online Archive
A vast archive of primarily 20th-Century news materials that provide original perspectives on historical events around the world from a distinguished news reporting organization.
US Cities Bureau collection includes access to records from the AP's Atlanta, Austin, Birmingham, Chicago, Dallas, Miami, New Orleans, Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh bureaus, dating from 1931 to 2004.
- Chronicling America
Search and view newspapers from 1880-1922 and find information about newspapers published from 1690-present.
- NewspaperCat - The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers
Provides access to historical newspapers through a searchable database.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers Online
Digital archives of major newspapers. Search specific newspapers or search them all at once. Coverage varies by newspaper beginning in the 1840's.
- World Newspaper Archive
Archive of newspapers dating from the 19th to the early 20th century. Coverage currently includes publications from Africa, Latin America, South Asia, and the United States.
Beyond the Basics
Search databases.hollis.harvard.edu for the terms newspapers AND historical to see a full list of multi-title searchable newspaper collections you can access with your Harvard Key.
There are also many free online portals for historical newspapers. Find the top ones listed on Fred Burchsted's Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes.
Newspaper Holdings at Harvard
Note: the library catalog uses "journals" to mean any kind of periodical publication---newspapers, magazines, academic journals, and even monograph series are all categorized as "journals."