HKS Research Guide
For a comprehensive guide on Federal Government Resources including the US Legislative Branch, please visit the U.S. Government Information Sources - Federal Guide.
Judicial Committee of the Senate
- CQ Press, Judicial Committee, SenateCQ Press description of history and politics of Judiciary Committee of the Senate.
- Oxford Handbook of the American CongressBroad overview of political science scholarship on the US Congress. Contains excellent article on the development of the Congressional Committee System.
- US Senate, Committee of the JudiciaryLink to the official Senate Judiciary Committee website.
- CQ Press Electronic LibraryA comprehensive reference resource for research in U.S. politics, elections, government, and public policy. Includes CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher Plus, the Congress Collection, Voting and Elections Collection, and more.
- National Journal Group's Policy Central (Harvard Login)A collection of resources on U.S. politics and policy, including the National Journal and the Hotline, a daily briefing on U.S. politics.
- ProQuest Congressional (Harvard Login)A major source of information about the members of Congress and their legislative activities and a primary resource for accessing the many publications of Congress.
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a division of the Library of Congress. They produce analytical, non-partisan reports on topics of interest to members of Congress. The CRS does not have a public website for dissemination of these reports. However, a number of free and subscription sites provide access to CRS reports. You can also request copies from your Congressional Representative.
CRS reports may be updated frequently. Some are published annually. Try to find the most recent version using the resources in this guide or a simple Google search using the report title. The CRS logo and a header from a typical CRS report are below.
- Archive-IT CRS ReportsSearch across CRS Collections. Some delays in obtaining most recent reports but collection includes CRS reports from WikiLeaks.
- Proquest Congressional, CRS ReportsPart of Harvard Library's Proquest Congressional subscription. Large collection of CRS Reports dating back to 1916.
- University of North Texas, CRS Reports CollectionComprehensive collection. Limit by date, such as 2010-2019 to limit your results to more recent reports.