Suffragists Maud Wood Park, Pauline Agassiz Shaw, and Mary Hutcheson Page were among those who founded the Boston Equal Suffrage Association for Good Government (BESAGG) in 1901. Its purpose was "...to promote a better civic life, the true development of the home and the welfare of the family, through the exercise of suffrage on the part of the women citizens of Boston..." (1918 by-laws). BESAGG was symptomatic of both the widening of suffragists' interests and their desire to expand their constituency by attaching themselves to other social reforms. In addition, BESAGG educated women about the functions of government so as to prepare them to be responsible, well-informed, voting citizens. After 1920, BESAGG became the Boston League of Women Voters.
[Digital content can be found in ProQuest's History Vault. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]

The Cambridge Political Equality Association (CPEA) was founded in 1896 "to extend study and discussion with a view to securing political equality for American citizens." Although the main focus was suffrage for women, CPEA also studied African-American suffrage and proportional representation. In addition to sponsoring meetings and lectures, CPEA helped organize suffrage rallies and parades and raised money for woman suffrage through bazaars and rummage sales. It also worked with the Cambridge Woman Suffrage Party and other organizations, encouraging women to register and to vote in school committee elections. CPEA later became part of the Massachusetts Woman Suffrage Association.
[Digital content can be found in ProQuest's History Vault. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]

In 1900, suffragists Maud Wood Park and Inez Haynes (later Irwin) founded the first College Equal Suffrage League (CESL) in Boston. During the following decade, Park traveled across the United States founding additional branches. Park believed that college women belonged in the suffrage movement because they were indebted to early woman's rights advocates, whose activities enabled many more women to attend college. The CESL counted a number of prominent Boston suffragists among its members and devoted a large part of its time to educating high school and college students about women’s suffrage and involving them in suffrage work.
[Digital content can be found in ProQuest's History Vault. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]

This collection consists of a printed leaflet entitled "Hartford's City Council and Commercialized Vice." The leaflet contains a photograph of an alleged "house of ill-fame," points to City Council members who refused to support efforts to close down such houses, and contrasts the plight of Hartford women unable to vote against these members with women in Seattle who were able to elect pro-reform candidates.

Carrie Chapman Catt, president of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA), invited representatives of suffrage societies from other countries to NAWSA’s 1902 annual convention in Washington. Representatives from ten countries decided to form a loose international union, which formally became the International Woman Suffrage Alliance at the second meeting, held in Berlin two years later. The Alliance, which later became the International Alliance of Women, held its First Quinquennial IWSA Meeting in London in 1909. Representatives from twenty countries attended; Catt presided.
[Digital content can be found in ProQuest's History Vault. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]

The Cambridge League of Women Voters evolved from the Cambridge Political Equality Association (CPEA), organized in February 1896 by women who believed "that the exercise of the suffrage on the part of the women citizens is not only just but will promote a better civic life, the true development of the home, and the welfare of the family...." In 1916 the CPEA was reorganized as the Third Middlesex Representative District Organization of the Massachusetts Woman Suffrage Association. In 1920 it became the League of Women Voters of Cambridge, and held its first meeting as such on December 1, 1920. The organization's activities were taken over by the Boston area League of Women Voters after the 1980s.

In 1870, within a year of forming the American Woman Suffrage Association, Lucy Stone, Henry Blackwell, Julia Ward Howe, and others founded the Massachusetts Woman Suffrage Association (MWSA). It lobbied legislatures, educated people about the benefits of woman suffrage, promoted school and later municipal woman suffrage, founded local leagues, sought male support, and worked with associations in other states. Alice Stone Blackwell and Ellen Batelle Dietrick wrote a new constitution in April 1892 designed to enable MWSA to become a truly state-wide organization, developing grassroots work and donations and increasing membership. MWSA officially incorporated in December 1892 and became the Massachusetts League of Women Voters in 1920.
[Digital content can be found in ProQuest's History Vault. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]

Lucy Stone and her husband, Henry Browne Blackwell, founded the Woman's Journal, a weekly newspaper, in 1870. In addition to sales and subscriptions, the Woman's Journal relied on contributions to produce a newspaper national in both scope and readership. Between 1908 and 1915 circulation jumped from 2,400 to 27,600. In the early 1910s, suffragists sold the newspaper on Boston Common. The Woman's Journal hired Margaret Foley, a popular suffrage speaker, to travel throughout the South and Midwest promoting the journal. At its founding, the Woman's Journal absorbed the Woman's Advocate and until 1912 the journal was subtitled "official organ of the National American Woman Suffrage Association." In 1917, after years of financial problems, Woman's Journal stockholders sold the newspaper to the Leslie Woman Suffrage Commission, which merged the Woman's Journal, Woman Voter, and National Suffrage News to form The Woman Citizen.
[All issues have been digitized and are accessible without a Harvard affiliation .]

Armenia S. White and her husband Nathaniel, of Concord, were among those who founded the New Hampshire Woman Suffrage Association in December 1868, following the founding of the New England Woman Suffrage Association earlier that year. Affiliated with the American Woman Suffrage Association, the New Hampshire Woman Suffrage Association campaigned for woman suffrage on a variety of fronts. In 1871 it secured the right for women to serve on school committees, and in 1878, school suffrage for women. In 1903 a state Constitutional Convention passed an amendment to strike the word "male" from the clause on voter qualifications; however, it was voted down by the male electorate. A later attempt (1907) to grant women municipal suffrage was also unsuccessful.
[Digital content can be found in ProQuest's History Vault. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]

The Ohio Woman Suffrage Association was formed in 1885 when a number of smaller, like-minded Ohio organizations merged. This collection includes the minutes of an Executive Committee meeting held in 1899 in Akron, Ohio, as well as reports on speeches by Carrie Chapman Catt.

The Woman Suffrage Party (WSP) covered 26 wards of Boston, the town of Brookline, and the cities of Cambridge, Newton, and Somerville. Organized for the sole purpose of obtaining votes for women, the otherwise non-partisan WSP attempted to reach people at the ward and precinct levels by holding rallies on street corners and possibly through door-to-door canvassing. There were no membership dues; the WSP of Cambridge raised money through rummage and chocolate sales. The WSP cooperated with such organizations as the Cambridge Political Equality Association, the Massachusetts Woman Suffrage Association, and the College Equal Suffrage League.
[Digital content can be found in ProQuest's History Vault. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]

The Woman's Suffrage Bazaar Association (WSBA) was organized by members of the New England Woman Suffrage Association (NEWSA) to raise money for NEWSA's activities. Julia Ward Howe was WSBA's president during planning for the second bazaar, held December 11-22, 1871, at the music hall in Boston (Massachusetts). The bazaar consisted of three days of entertainment and a week-long fair. Various suffrage organizations sponsored tables with information and publications; there were also tables where such items as clothes, confections, books, and stationery were sold. The 1871 bazaar raised between eight and nine thousand dollars for NEWSA's work.
[Digital content can be found in ProQuest's History Vault. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]

The Woman Suffrage Study Club was formed by Gertrude Foster Brown in New York in 1909 to study topics relating to women's suffrage and women's rights.

The Women's Social and Political Union was founded in 1903 in London by Mrs. Emmeline Pankhurst with the goal of achieving woman suffrage. At first it used peaceful means but later turned to deliberate violence in an effort to embarrass party leaders and force them to do something about the vote for women. The collection includes 210 exhibits entered as evidence in the 1913 trial of British suffragettes and a scrapbook (1911-1913) kept by the editor of The Suffragette, L. Geraldine Lennox.