The Theodore Roosevelt Collection: A Guide for Researchers

Theodore Roosevelt Center at Dickinson State University

The Theodore Roosevelt Center has created a digital presidential library, which serves as a depository for Roosevelt-related documents and ephemera. Partnerships with Harvard, the Library of Congress, and many other institutions have enabled the collections of those institutions to be available and searchable online. Newly-cataloged items are available on a weekly basis. In many cases, this resource is much easier to use and navigate than Harvard's databases.

Speeches

Full text of many of TR's speeches can be found here.

Video

Surviving films of TR, in the Library of Congress's collection, can be found on YouTube.

TR in sculling gear while an undergraduate at Harvard, ca. 1877. Roosevelt 520.12-002. Theodore Roosevelt Collection

Sagamore Hill National Historic Site 
The Long Island home of Theodore Roosevelt from 1885 until his death in 1919, the Sagamore Hill Historic Site offers guided tours as well as special events and programs throughout the year.

Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace
The Manhattan childhood home of TR, reconstructed after his death, offers guided tours throughout the year. It has just reopened after a complete renovation.

Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural National Historical Site
Following the assassination of President McKinley in Buffalo, NY, Vice President Theodore Roosevelt took the oath of office at this house on September 14, 1901. The site is now available for tours.

Pine Knot 
Theodore and Edith Roosevelt purchased this small cabin in the Virginia woods in 1905 to use as a retreat from their busy lives in Washington. The house is now available by appointment for tours.

Theodore Roosevelt National Park
TR spent several years ranching in Dakota Territory; his experiences out west helped inspire his significant conservation efforts as President. The Theodore Roosevelt National Park preserves the land on which TR’s Elkhorn Ranch stood, as well as his first ranch cabin, and is open year-round.

Theodore Roosevelt Association
Founded in 1919 and chartered by Congress in 1920, the Theodore Roosevelt Association is a national historical society and public service organization that has perpetuated the memory and legacy of Theodore Roosevelt through an array of historical and cultural activities.

Society for the Gilded Age and Progressive Era (SHGAPE)
An organization of historians who study and promote knowledge of American history from the Reconstruction era through the aftermath of World War I. The society brings together academic, public, and independent historians, as well as scholars in other humanities and social-science disciplines interested in these decades and their issues.

If you'd like to spend more time exploring the Theodore Roosevelt Collection, or any of the thousands of other amazing collections at Houghton, consider applying for a Houghton Library Undergraduate Fellowship, which provides housing, some meals, and a stipend for ten weeks in the summer to explore a topic of your choice, with support from library staff.

Applications are due in February. For more information, visit the main program site.