Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Seminar in Japanese History

Taught by Professor Andrew Gordon in Spring 2017

Japanknowledge

JapanKnowledge+ ID 30 reference books, over 800 books, and more - Full Text.

Maps

Gaihozu: Japanese Imperial Maps Over 120 sets of Gaihozu maps held by the Stanford University are digitized and available via this site. The maps in the collection are best found by using an index to locate the region and specific map of interest. 

 

Gaihozu: Military Map of Manchuria 

 

外邦図(一覧)国会図書館蔵 Guide to Gaihozu maps, NDL 外邦図とは、戦前に旧陸軍参謀本部陸地測量部(現在の国土地理院)が主に軍事目的で作成した満州や中国、東南アジアなどの地図

Images

『亜細亜大観』大連に拠点を置いた亜細亜写真大観社が1926年から1940年頃まで発行した月刊の写真帳

『亜東印画輯』大連に拠点を置いた亜東印画協会が1924年から1944年頃まで月刊で発行していた、生写真を貼り付けた写真帳

East Asia Image Collections Open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan 台湾, Japan 日本, China 中国, Korea 朝鮮, Manchuria 満洲国, and Indonesia are included. Maintained by Lafayette College.

絵はがき、東北芸術工科大学東北文化研究センター Some 30,000 postcards are searchable and viewable.

 

Journals

『写真週報』創刊号ー352号(1938−1944)

「東洋経済新報」 「週刊東洋経済」 明治28年11月ー昭和20年12月 ( The Oriental Economist, weekly. 1895-1945)     「太陽」明治28年-昭和3年 (The Sun, 1895-1928)                        「文芸倶楽部」明治28年-大正1年(1895-1911)    「校友会雑誌」明治23年ー昭和15年(1890- 1940)

via JapanKnowledge

「中央公論」第16巻ー37巻(1901-1922)Full View via HathiTrust

 

Search tools: books, articles and more

HOLLIS+

FirstSearch ID Includes WorldCat, Ebooks and numerous other databases.

NDL Search

JAIRO - Japanese Institutional Repositories Online

CiNii Articles ID Japanese academic journal search portal with links to digital contents when available; Refworks compatible.

Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu 雑誌記事索引集成データベース ID Covers early Meiji to present, citation only. 

Web Oya-Bunko ID Index to the Oya Soichi magazine collection, with many popular titles dating back to the early Meji period. Over 5.8 million entries. 

東洋学文献類目 Bibliography of Oriental Studies Monographs and journal articles on East Asian studies in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Western-languages.

Bibliography of Asian Studies ID

JSTOR ID

Project MUSE ID

ProQuest ID Full texts of dissertations and theses.

Google Scholar ID 

Google Books Search (GBS)

Newspapers

Kikuzo Visual II for Libraries 聞蔵IIビジュアル for Libraries ID 朝日新聞 (1879-present). Includes 「アサヒカメラ」and over 10,000 photos in the early 20th century.

Yomidas Rekishikan 読売新聞 (1874-present) ID Including Daily Yomiuri (1989-present).

Nikkei Telecom 21 日経テレコン21 ID Nihon Keizai shinbun 日本経済新聞 (1876-present) and other three Nikkei papers.

Maisaku 毎日新聞 ID includes Public Opinion Surveys 1945-2016

新聞記事文庫 神戸大学経済経営研究所によって作成された新聞切抜資料「新聞記事文庫」のデジタル版。明治末から戦前期の新聞記事の画像・全文テキストが収録。

Japan Times (1897-2014) ID

Keijo nippo 京城日報 / Kyŏngsŏng ilbo 경성일보 (1915-1935) ID Online access to full image reproductions in pdf format of an official Japanese-language newspaper from colonial-period Korea. 

Taiwan jihō 臺灣時報 ID
Coverage: 1898-1945
Keyword searching and scanned full text in .pdf format for a Japanese-language journal published by the Japanese colonial government in Taiwan. Search terms may be entered using Chinese or Japanese. Includes the earlier Taiwan Kyōkai kaihō 臺灣協會會報 (note: the texts are in Japanese and the metadata may be searched in Japanese. The website, help files, etc., are in Chinese).

Taiwan nichinichi shinpō 臺灣日日新報 ID
Coverage: 1898-1944
Harvard-Yenching Microfilm FJ-50010 (includes the earlier Taiwan shinpō 臺灣新報)
Including both Japanese (1898.5 - 1944.3) and Chinese (1905.7 - 1911.11) editions. Search terms may be entered using Japanese or Chinese characters. Texts are in .pdf format; citations may be saved or emailed. Continues Taiwan shinpō 臺灣新報 (note: the texts are in Japanese and the metadata may be searched in Japanese. The website, help files, etc., are in Chinese).

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Japan Times (1897-2014) ID

Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902 – 1940) ID

The Trans-Pacific (Sep 1919 - 1921) Via Hathi Trust.

Illustrated London News Historical Archive

Japan Weekly Mail 1870 (Vol.1, #1-50)

The Anglo-Japanese Gazette (Vol. 1-2, July 1902-June 1903)

America's Historical Newspapers ID

Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes

Yenching Library Newspaper Search