- Politico Pro (Harvard Login)A comprehensive database providing legislative and regulatory insights, data tools and resources for policy research. On-demand, graphic visualization library translates complex policy issues and data sets into infographics. The Document Drawer repository offers primary source documentation.
- National Journal (Harvard Login)Collection of resources on U.S. politics and policy. Includes the National Journal Magazine, the Almanac of American Politics; and Hotline. Individual subscriptions, including alerts, are available by contacting an HKS Librarian.
- CQ Researcher (Harvard Login)Weekly reports written by experienced journalists on current social issues published by CQ (Congressional Quarterly).
- Journalist's ResourceA free resource produced by the Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy that examines news topics through a research lens.
- ProPublicaIndependent, nonprofit news organization that conducts investigative journalism on "abuses of power and betrayals of public trust." It also collects data on a variety of policy topics, especially concerning issues of social justice.
- Center for Public IntegrityNonprofit news organizations that seeks to investigate "how policies and laws emanating from the nation’s capital affect people across the country and how issues at a state and local level affect national decision making."
General News & Commentary
Sign up for individual accounts for the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times with your HKS e-mail address and Harvard Key! Check our Top News Sources and Magazines page for detailed instructions.
For other newspapers, try our news aggregator databases:
- Factiva (Harvard Login)Database of business and news publications, including the Boston Globe.*
To browse recent issues of a specific publication, select "News Pages" at the top of the screen, "Factiva Pages," and then browse titles by date and section.
* Access to the Boston Globe may also be available via the Massachusetts Library System.
- Nexis Uni (Harvard Login)Provides access to thousands of newspapers from around the world.
- ProQuest Central (Harvard Login)Database with a vast array of U.S. and international publications, including a substantial coverage of news outlets from around the world. Excellent coverage of Latin American and regional U.S. newspapers, as well as good coverage of primarily English-language newspapers in other parts of the world.
To limit to limit to news sources only, go to the Advanced Search and select newspapers (and/or additional types of news outlets) under "Source type."Other popular news sources available include:
- The Economist (Harvard Login)Full access to current and past issues of The Economist. Disregard prompts to register or subscribe (doing so may limit your access).
If you experience any difficulty with access you can also get articles in ABI/Inform or by using the unproxied Economist website while on the Harvard VPN.
- Project Syndicate (Harvard Login)Billed as "the world's opinion page," publishes commentary and op-eds from major international scholars and intellectuals on a vast array of topics in international politics, economics, etc.
- The Atlantic (Harvard Login)Features long-form journalism, much of it relevant to public policy issues. Note: Contains PDFs of the print version only; online-only content from the magazine's website is not included.
Podcasts from the Harvard Kennedy School
HKS and its centers and faculty produce a variety of policy-focused podcasts, including the HKS PolicyCast. The latest episodes of all HKS podcasts are featured on the HKS Research page on this research guide.
The CurrentShort commentary and explainers on the policy implications of current events from affiliates of the Brookings Institution.
Policy CurrentsWeekly podcast from the RAND Corporation.
Gov Innovator: Insights for Results-Focused Public LeadersInterviews and conversations with policy scholars and public administration leaders on a wide range of policy topics, hosted by HKS alumnus Andy Feldman.
The WeedsFrom Vox Media, The Weeds podcast features in-depth discussions about contemporary politics and policy with Vox journalists and select guests.
Left, Right & CenterWeekly podcast from Los Angeles-based KCRW radio that bills itself as a "civilized yet provocative confrontation over politics, policy, and pop culture. Host Josh Barro brings together policymakers and experts representing views from both sides of the political spectrum to discuss the issues of the day.
Pod Save AmericaSemi-weekly conversations on American politics and policy hosted by Jon Favreau, Jon Lovett, Dan Pfeiffer, and Tommy Vietor, all alumni of the Obama administration
Brookings CafeteriaBrookings Institution editor Fred Drews speaks with experts and policymakers about current affairs and ideas. This podcast ceased publication in March 2022.