Reference Sources
There are many helpful encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks in Widener and other libraries that can give you a general overview of a specific topic. You can try searching in HOLLIS for your subject (see the HOLLIS tab for finding the proper Subject terms) plus the words encyclopedias or dictionaries. Thus: “United States” AND “Intellectual life” AND (encyclopedias OR dictionaries) yields:
The Oxford encyclopedia of American cultural and intellectual history, ed. by Joan Shelley Rubin and Scott E. Casper. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2 v.
Widener | RR 3627.95
Encyclopedia of American cultural & intellectual history, ed. by Mary Kupiec Cayton, Peter W. Williams. NY: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001, 3 v.
Lamont | REFERENCE | E169.1 .E624 2001
Widener | RR 3627.93
World police encyclopedia, ed. by Dilip K. Das and Michael J. Palmiotto. New York : Routledge, 2006. 2 v. FindIt@Harvard http://id.lib.harvard.edu/aleph/011912210/catalog
World encyclopedia of police forces and correctional systems, ed. by George Thomas Kurian, 2nd ed. Detroit : Thomson Gale, 2006. 2 v. FindIt@Harvard http://id.lib.harvard.edu/aleph/010247068/catalog
Encyclopedia of law enforcement, ed. by Larry E. Sullivan and Marie Simonetti Rosen. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2005. 3 v. FindIt@Harvard http://id.lib.harvard.edu/aleph/009528115/catalog
Encyclopedia of American social movements, ed. by Immanuel Ness. Armonk, NY : Sharpe Reference, 2004. 4 v.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | HN57 .E594 2004
Kennedy Sch of Gov | Ref | HN57 .E594 2004
Widener | RR 4745.10
Oxford Companion to American Law Offers a comprehensive guide to the development and current status of American law through an alphabetical organization that comprises several broad categories of entries. Print version:
Lamont | REFERENCE | KF154 .O96 2002
Law School | Reference | KF154 .O96 2002 c.2
Law School | Special Coll Ref | KF154 .O96 2002
Widener | RR 4423.4
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government
The U.S. justice system : an encyclopedia, ed. by Steven Harmon Wilson. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2012. 3 v.
Cambridge Economic History of the United States
Cambridge History of Law in America
The Oxford Companion to United States History
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government
Cambridge Histories Online cover 14 subject areas including General History, Regional History, Literary Studies, Philosophy and Religion.
Contemporary Subject Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Contemporary subject encyclopedias and dictionaries are useful in interpreting primary sources. They can be found by an Expanded Search in the HOLLIS Catalog with, e.g., <Medicine dictionaries> [Keyword search], limited by year range.
Gould, George M. (George Milbry), 1848-1922.
An illustrated dictionary of medicine, biology and allied sciences ...
3d ed. rev.
Philadelphia, Blakiston, 1897, c1894.
Subject: Medicine--Dictionaries.
Natural history--Dictionaries.
These books are usually shelved toward the beginning of each subject class.
Biography
Criminological thought : pioneers past and present, by Randy Martin and Robert J. Mutchnick, W. Timothy Austin. New York : Macmillan, 1990. xxiii, 424 p.
FindIt@Harvard
Cops, crooks, and criminologitsts: an international biographical dictionary of law enforcement, by Alan Axelrod, Charles Phillips, with Kurt Kemper. New York : Facts On File, 2000. xiii, 322 p.
FindIt@Harvard
--Index by crime, by organization
General s