This collection includes agendas, minutes, memoranda, program fliers, and questionnaires on women's issues at Harvard University and Radcliffe College, including hiring of minority and women faculty and staff, pay equity, health, staff development, and sexual harassment. Additionally there are letters protesting the closing of the Radcliffe Forum office in 1980.

The Alliance was an organization founded in Cambridge, Mass., in 1976 to help women who had been sexually harassed on the job. This collection includes brochures, fliers, a position paper, form letters, questionnaires, and clippings.

A management and human relations consultant and expert on sexual harassment in the workplace, Louise Bonar began offering workshops in the 1980s on establishing sexual harassment policies as well as education and training in liability prevention in public and private workplace settings. She and her associate Ron Rechnitz regularly gave presentations on male-female communication, defining sexual harassment, etc. Bonar was also president of the Women's Equity Action League of Massachusetts and active in Women Entrepreneurs Homebased. This collection includes training materials, research files, publicity, and clippings concerning sexual harassment.

The Boston Women's Fund was founded in 1984 by a group of women frustrated with the devaluation of women by mainstream charities and also with the feminist movement's focus on issues important to white middle class women. The purpose of the Boston Women's Fund was to help women by providing both grants and training in fundraising and organizational development to grassroots women's organizations working to improve women's lives. It was the first women's foundation in Massachusetts. Between 1984 and 2016 the Boston Women's Fund gave grants to a wide variety of organizations working on issues such as welfare reform, health care, child care, domestic violence, reproductive rights, homelessness, immigrant rights, sexual harassment, homophobia, teen empowerment, and racism.

Susan Brownmiller is a journalist and author perhaps best known for her book Against Our Will: Men, Women, and Rape (1975). She attended Cornell University (1952-1954) and worked for Coronet magazine, the Albany Report, and Newsweek before resigning to aid the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee in its voter registration drive in Mississippi in 1964. Brownmiller was active in the women's liberation movement in the late 1960s and 1970s; she was a co-founder of the New York Radical Feminists. Her continuing interest in women's issues led her to help found Women Against Pornography in 1979. The recipient of numerous awards, Brownmiller lectures widely on rape, sexual assault, and the history of the women's movement.

A member of the Clark University Sexual Harassment Task Force (1980-81), Enloe gathered these papers to document the issues and lawsuits arising from charges of sexual harassment made by sociology professor Ximena Bunster against a fellow faculty member, Sidney Peck. This collection consists of reports, memoranda, and correspondence generated by the Clark University administration and the principal figures in sexual harassment cases there, as well as court documents and clippings. There are also statements and publicity from the Boston peace movement, in which a rift had developed over the accusations against Peck, one of the movement's supporters. Also included are correspondence, press releases, and financial records of the Committee for Fairness to Ximena Bunster and letters and statements of the Committee to Support Sidney Peck.

Please note: Radcliffe College administrative records are closed for 50 years from date of creation except with the permission of the Dean of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study. Student records are closed for 80 years from the time of separation. Please contact the Library for further assistance.
This collection consists of Horner's correspondence, while she was president of Radcliffe (1972-1989), with Harvard and Radcliffe administrators and trustees, educational foundations, students, alumni/ae, parents, and Harvard faculty. There are university committee reports, surveys, and petitions from students that provide documentation of Harvard/Radcliffe institutional history, the evolving Harvard/Radcliffe relationship, and, more broadly, of U.S. women's higher education. The records illustrate women's issues of the 1970s and 1980s, such as the inequity and reform of women's athletics (crew, swimming, fencing, squash, etc.); discrimination against women in admissions; the changing status of women staff and faculty at Harvard; the development of women's studies; the participation of women in science; sexual harassment; women's experience of co-residence; and the attitudes and experiences of Radcliffe students, including African American and Native American students.

Feminist, lawyer, activist, and professor Catharine Alice MacKinnon earned her J.D. from Yale Law School in 1977 and her Ph.D. in political science from Yale University in 1987. While in law school, she organized the first course to be taught in the Yale women's studies program and conceived and worked to establish the legal argument that sexual harassment in the workplace is sex discrimination. This work grew into her first book, Sexual Harassment of Working Women (Yale, 1978). Her legal framework was adopted by the United States Supreme Court in 1986 in its first sexual harassment case, on which she was co-counsel and wrote the brief.

The National Organization for Women Legal Defense & Education Fund (NOW LDEF; known as Legal Momentum since 2004), was one of the first legal organizations in the United States devoted solely to working for gender equality. It was established in 1970 to further women's rights through litigation and to raise funds to support legal and educational projects relating to women. NOW LDEF has focused its efforts on gaining legal rights for women in education, employment, and cases of physical abuse and sexual harassment, and changing marriage and divorce laws. It also runs larger programs, such as the Project on Equal Education Rights (PEER, 1974-1992), and the National Judicial Education Project (NJEP, 1980-ongoing). During the 1970s, it campaigned for passage of the Equal Rights Amendment. In the early 1990s NOW LDEF began lobbying in Washington, D.C., for the Violence Against Women Act (passed in 1994) and also worked to pass effective legislation on topics ranging from sexual harassment to welfare.

The Project on the Status and Education of Women (PSEW) was the first national project concerned with achieving equity for women students, faculty, and administrators in colleges and universities. PSEW staff worked in conjunction with Congressional staff and other interested organizations and coalitions on the development and passage of Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, mandating that educational institutions that received federal funding could not discriminate on the basis of sex. Topics addressed in this collection include sex equity in education, Title IX, women's participation in college sports, sexual harassment and assault, campus rape, affirmative action, "chilly climate" for women on campus, employment issues, and government laws and regulations regarding gender equity.

Sandler was director of the Project on the Status and Education of Women (PSEW) of the Association of American Colleges from 1971 to 1991. She has worked with the Center for Women Policy Studies, the National Association for Women in Education, and the Women's Research and Education Institute. She pioneered research into campus sexual harassment, gang rape, and a "chilly climate" for women on campus. She was an active member of the Women's Equity Action League (WEAL) and the WEAL Fund in the 1970s, and from 1975 to 1982 was a member of the National Advisory Council on Women's Educational Programs. Materials in this collection relate to the Congressional passage of the Equal Rights Amendment, Title IX, WEAL and the WEAL Fund, and the National Advisory Council on Women's Educational Programs, among other issues relevant to sex equity in higher education.

Jean Tepperman was a poet, teacher, writer, and secretary and the author of Not Servants Not Machines: Office Workers Speak Out (1975). This collection consists of 51 transcripts of interviews Tepperman conducted with clerical workers for her book, notes on the interviews, transcripts, questionnaires, and leaflets. Most of the interviewees are women who were employed in offices in the Boston area; they range in age from their twenties to their eighties. The interviews contain descriptions of working conditions, pay inequities, race discrimination, sexual harassment and discrimination, and union organizing efforts.

Founded in 1978 in response to the needs and concerns of the unprecedented numbers of women entering the legal profession, the Women's Bar Association of Massachusetts (WBA) is committed to the advancement of women in the profession and to the interests of women in society. It offers educational programs, mentoring, and networking opportunities, supports pro bono activities and candidates for all levels of appointments, writes amicus curiae (friend of the court) briefs, and lobbies the legislature. Through its Legislative Policy Committee, the WBA has taken an active role in advocating for issues of concern to women, including domestic violence, reproductive rights, child custody, legal services, family medical leave, same-sex marriage, health care, and probate. In addition, the WBA files amicus curiae briefs in cases affecting women and their children, including cases concerning alimony, child support, domestic violence, employment, sexual harassment, gender equality, reproductive rights, and reproductive technology.

Coordinated by the Women's Anti-Rape Coalition, the second annual Women's Walk Against Rape took place Aug. 4, 1976, in New York City. The coalition organized the event in an effort to "raise public awareness about the crime of rape and how the fear or rape has constricted women's lives." After a three-hour program at the Ethical Culture Society meeting house, which included skits, martial arts demonstrations, and testimonials, over 700 women walked through Central Park.

From 1980 to 1981, Yount taught "Deviance and Sex Role" courses at the University of Colorado. That same year, Yount began research for her dissertation, titled Women and Men Coal Miners: Coping with Gender Integration Underground, by conducting oral history interviews with male and female coal miners in Colorado and Utah. This collection contains audiocassettes, transcripts, conference materials, and related articles by Yount documenting the integration of women workers into three coal mines in Colorado and five coal mines in Utah during the 1970s and early 1980s. Yount's focus was the integration of women into traditionally male jobs, and her research emphasized the multiple challenges faced by the female coal miners, including sexual harassment, gender discrimination, lack of seniority in the coal mining unions, lack of appropriately-sized protective clothing, and hostility from the male miners’ wives.