African American newspapers, 1827-1998 (Harvard login)
Caribbean newspapers, 1718-1876 (Harvard login)
African American newspapers: the 19th century (Harvard login)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers include illustrations, editorials, and advertising. African-American papers are listed below.
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) (Harvard login)
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) (Harvard login)
Chicago Defender (1910-1975) (Harvard login)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991) (Harvard login)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) (Harvard login)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) (Harvard login)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003) (Harvard login)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) (Harvard login)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) (Harvard login)
All or several of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers can be searched at once from the ProQuest Databases page: from any of the individual ProQuest Historical Newspapers pages, hit the "Searching; 1 database" link, scroll down to the ProQuest Historical Newspapers section and select the ones you want.
Ethnic NewsWatch (1960- ) is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. (Harvard login)
African-American Periodicals, 1825-1995; (Harvard login) Includes some 170 periodicals by and about African Americans: academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports, and other genres, including African Repository (Washington, DC, 1825-1892), The Black Warrior (Fort Parapet, LA, 1864), El Mulato (New York, NY, 1954), Pennsylvania Freedmen's Bulletin (Philadelphia, PA, 1865), Southern Workman (Hampton, VA, 1865-1939), Bay Area Report (Oakland, CA, 1982).
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (1900- present; full text 1998-present) indexes over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the US, Africa and the Caribbean. (Harvard login)
Ethnic NewsWatch (1960- ; some content back to late 1950s) is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. (Harvard login)
The Crisis (1910- ), the official publication of the NAACP